DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN109280976)
The see D1, figures 1, 4; 0084]) a sublimation system for growing a SiC single crystal by means of a sublimation growing process, note entre reference. The sublimation system comprising a crucible having a longitudinal axis and comprising a fixing means for at least one seed crystal, note fig 1.There is at least one source material compartment for containing a source material. A heating system generating an irregular temperature field around a circumference of the crucible at one or more heights along the longitudinal axis of the crucible. A rotary drive that is operable to cause a rotational movement of the fixing means around the longitudinal axis relative to the heating system, note fig 1, 4 para 0084. The heating coil of includes all the windings of the coil being shifted along the central axis to have an increased slope. Thus, two opposing regions of each winding are axially offset by a distance. The result is a rotationally asymmetric temperature field through which the growing single crystal is travelling periodically by a rotation. The Jang et al reference also discloses a method of growing a SiC single crystal by means of a sublimation growing process. The method comprising: providing a crucible having a longitudinal axis, fixing a seed crystal at a fixing means of the crucible, and filling a source material into a source material compartment; generating, by means of a heating system, an irregular temperature field around a circumference of the crucible and along the longitudinal axis of the crucible; causing a rotational movement of the fixing means around the longitudinal axis relative to the heating system, so that the growing single crystal is exposed to a time variant temperature field. The sole difference between the instant claims and the prior art is the irregular heating. However, the Gao reference teaches that the heaters, induction coils will create an irregular field note translation page 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Jang et al reference by the teachings of the Gao reference to have an irregular heating field as this will naturally occur.
With regards to claim 2, the Jang et al reference teaches using resistive heating, note para 0084.
With regards to claim 7, the Jang et al reference teaches the arrangement and hookup of the rotary drive to the fixed and crucible, note fig 4.
With regards to claim 11, the Gao reference teaches the insultation between the crucible and heater, note fig 1.
With regards to claim 12, the Jang et al reference teaches rotation of the crucible , note para 0085.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the controller of the heating. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to employ a controller on the heating means in the combined references in order to shape the insulation to the desired form increasing the uniformity on the temperature in the crucible.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the metal strut heating member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to use a metal struct in the combined references in order to hold the heating coils in place and stable during the process.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the heating tube arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to arrange the heating tubes as wanted in the combined references in order to create the desired temperature profile across the crucible as the tube place with materially affect the heating.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the electrical contact arrangement. The references do teach electrical contacts to the heating means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to arrange the contacts in the combined references in order to not affect the temperature profile.
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the rotation rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to have a specific rotation speed in the combined references in order to obtain the desired gas flows and contacts with the seed.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (2021/0372003) in view of Gao (CN-109280976).
The Jang et al and Gao references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the heating different areas change. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to keep the temperatures near each other in the different areas in the combined references in order to prevent the vapor depositing on the sides of the crucible.
.Claims 9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach the movement of the insulation and the crucible while maintaining the heating coils in one place.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714