Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8 and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “the shapes of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the first division pixel are substantially similar”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show the first pixel, the second pixel, and the first division pixel are substantially similar.
Claim 8, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “shapes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are different.”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show shapes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are different.
Claim 15, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the first division pixel, or the second division pixel aligned in parallel to a horizontal side or a vertical side of the pixel areas is not aligned with others of the pixels by being offset in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the first division pixel, or the second division pixel aligned in parallel to a horizontal side or a vertical side of the pixel areas is not aligned with others of the pixels by being offset in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction.
The Applicant has asserted that the amendments to the claims do not add new subject matter but has failed to specify areas of the specification and/or drawing where support could be found for claims 6 and 15. The Examiner could not locate either in the drawing or in the specification any support for these claims. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8 and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “the shapes of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the first division pixel are substantially similar”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show the first pixel, the second pixel, and the first division pixel are substantially similar.
Claim 8, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “shapes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are different.”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show shapes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are different.
Claim 15, which depends ultimately on independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the first division pixel, or the second division pixel aligned in parallel to a horizontal side or a vertical side of the pixel areas is not aligned with others of the pixels by being offset in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction”. Amended independent claim 1 is represented by Figs. 3, 10, 12 and 15. However, none of the Figures show at least one of the first pixel, the second pixel, the first division pixel, or the second division pixel aligned in parallel to a horizontal side or a vertical side of the pixel areas is not aligned with others of the pixels by being offset in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction.
The Applicant has asserted that the amendments to the claims do not add new subject matter but has failed to specify areas of the specification and/or drawing where support could be found for claims 6 and 15. The Examiner could not locate either in the drawing or in the specification any support for claims. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-14, 16-21 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0264850 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses a light-emitting display device comprising: pixel areas (Par. 0019; Figs. 2-3 – pixel area 100); and pixels respectively positioned in the pixel areas, and respectively comprising a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel for displaying respective colors (Par. 0019; Figs. 2-3 – first pixel 02, second pixel 03 and third pixel 01),
wherein the third pixel comprises a first division pixel and a second division pixel spaced in a first diagonal direction, and configured to display a same color (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3), and wherein the first division pixel has a long shape extending in a first longitudinal direction, and the second division pixel has a long shape extending in a second longitudinal direction perpendicular to the first longitudinal direction (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are spaced in a second diagonal direction crossing the first diagonal direction (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein shapes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are substantially similar (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 3, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein shapes of the first pixel and the second pixel are different (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein a shape of the second division pixel is substantially similar to a shape of the first division pixel rotated 90 degrees (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 9, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein sizes of the first division pixel and the second division pixel are substantially similar (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 10, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein sizes of the first pixel and the second pixel are different (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the pixel areas are respectively quadrangular, and are repeatedly arranged in a lattice form (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel is adjacent to at least one of the first pixel or the second pixel of an adjacent one of the pixel areas (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 13, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel is not adjacent to any other first division pixel or second division pixel in the adjacent one of the pixel areas (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the third pixel is configured to emit green light, and wherein one of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit red light, while the other of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit blue light. (Par. 0022).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the third pixel is configured to emit red light, and wherein one of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit green light, and the other of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit blue light (Par. 0022).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the third pixel is configured to emit blue light, and wherein one of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit red light, and the other of the first pixel and the second pixel is configured to emit green light (Par. 0022).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein any one of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel comprises a polygonal shape (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein any one of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel comprises a circular or oval shape (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein any one of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel comprises a shape of a figure having inwardly curved sides (Figs 2-3).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang et al. discloses a light-emitting display device comprising: pixel areas (Par. 0019; Figs. 2-3 – pixel area 100); and
pixels positioned in the pixel areas, and comprising a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel for displaying respective colors (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3– first pixel 02, second pixel 03 and third pixel 01), wherein the third pixel comprises a first division pixel and a second division pixel that are configured to display a same color (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3), and wherein the first division pixel is adjacent to the first pixel in a first direction, and is adjacent to the second pixel in a second direction, while the second division pixel is adjacent to the first pixel in the second direction, and is adjacent to the second pixel in the first direction (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3), and wherein the first division pixel has a long shape extending in a first longitudinal direction, and the second division pixel has a long shape extending in a second longitudinal direction perpendicular to the first longitudinal direction (Par. 0019-0022; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 23, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel and the second division pixel are not adjacent to each other in the first direction or in the second direction (Fig. 1/2/3/4/5/6).
Regarding Claim 25, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 23, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the pixel areas are configured to be driven separately from each other (implied).
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 25, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the pixel areas are arranged in a lattice form along the first direction and the second direction, which is perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the first pixel, the second pixel, the first division pixel, and the second division pixel are arranged along first and second rows parallel to the first direction, wherein the second pixel and the first division pixel are alternately arranged in the first row, wherein the first pixel and the second division pixel are alternately arranged in the second row, and wherein the first division pixel does not overlap the second division pixel in the second direction (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 27, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 23, discloses
the light-emitting display device, wherein the pixel areas are quadrangular, wherein only the first division pixel and the second division pixel are arranged in a first diagonal direction of the pixel areas, and wherein only the first pixel and the second pixel are arranged in a second diagonal direction of the pixel areas (Figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0264850 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Huang et al. (Pub. No. : US 2015/0109188 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang et al., as applied to claim 1, does not explicitly disclose
the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel and the second division pixel are configured to be driven by a same signal.
However, Huang et al., at least implicitly teaches the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel and the second division pixel are configured to be driven by a same signal (Par. 0009, 0042-0047; Fig. 3 – this prior art teaches that one of the sub-pixels is split into two secondary sub-pixels and both emitting the same color of light, they are driven by the same data line simultaneously ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Huang et al. the light-emitting display device, wherein the first division pixel and the second division pixel of Zhang et al. are configured to be driven by a same signal in order to achieve the desired emission characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
07/20/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893