CTNF 18/426,215 CTNF 86121 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Afsar et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0270522 A1; hereinafter Afsar) With respect to claim 1, Afsar discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate [58] comprising a first surface and a second surface facing each other (see Figure 7) and having a rigid material; a second substrate [14/90] on the first surface of the first substrate and having a flexible material (see Figure 7; ¶[0034]); and an emission material layer [42] on the second substrate and comprising a plurality of light- emitting elements (See ¶[0029-0030]), wherein the first substrate further comprises: an opening exposing the second substrate (see Figure 9); a first side surface at an edge adjacent to the opening and between the first surface and the second surface; and a first inclined surface between the first surface and the first side surface, wherein the display device further comprises: a first high-curvature area overlapping the opening (see ¶[0034]); and a first low-curvature area and a second low-curvature area on one side and an opposite side of the first high-curvature area, respectively, and wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with the emission material layer (See Figure 2; high bend about axis [28], curing on [60], all other material is comprising a flexible material, resulting in low-curvature area; see ¶[0029]). With respect to claim 2, Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate is not in the first high-curvature area (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 3, Afsar discloses an undercut [100] between the first inclined surface of the first substrate and the second substrate (see Figure 23). With respect to claim 4, Afsar discloses wherein a length of the undercut in a horizontal direction is equal to or less than 120 micrometers (μm) (see ¶[0034]). With respect to claim 5, Afsar discloses wherein a maximum curvature of the first high-curvature area is greater than maximum curvatures of the first low-curvature area and the second low-curvature area (See ¶[0034] and ¶[0037]); With respect to claim 6, Afsar discloses wherein a minimum radius of curvature of the first high-curvature area is equal to or less than 10 millimeters (mm). With respect to claim 7, Afsar discloses wherein an angle between the first inclined surface and the first surface is less than 15 degrees (See ¶[0034] and ¶[0037]). With respect to claim 8, Afsar discloses wherein an angle between the first side surface and the second surface is less than 60 degrees (See ¶[0034] and ¶[0037]). With respect to claim 9, Afsar discloses a support film [90] in the opening (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 10, Afsar discloses wherein the support film comprises at least one of: a polyurethane resin, a polyimide resin, a polyethylene resin, or a polypropylene resin (see ¶[0029] and ¶[0050]). With respect to claim 11, Afsar discloses wherein the support film overlaps with the first high-curvature area (See Figure 9). With respect to claim 12, Afsar discloses wherein the support film is in an undercut between the first inclined surface and the second substrate (see Figure 9 and 23) With respect to claim 13, Afsar discloses wherein a surface of the support film is on a same plane as the second surface of the first substrate (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 14, Afsar discloses wherein the support film is on the second surface of the first substrate (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 15, Afsar discloses wherein a minimum radius of curvature of the first high-curvature area is equal to or less than 5 millimeters (mm) (see ¶[0037]). With respect to claim 16, Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate is configured to be bent at the first high-curvature area (See ¶[0037]). With respect to claim 17, Afsar discloses wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with a display area at which light emitted by the emission material layer exits (See Figure 6). With respect to claim 18, Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate comprises glass, and the second substrate comprises a polymer resin (see ¶[0025] and ¶[0029]). With respect to claim 19, Afsar discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate [58] comprising a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface (See Figure 7), and a first side surface between the first surface and the second surface, and having a rigid material (see ¶[0025]); a protective layer [58] on the first surface of the first substrate; a second substrate [14] on the protective layer and having a flexible material; and an emission material layer [42] on the second substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (See ¶[0029-0030]), wherein the first substrate further comprises an opening exposing the protective layer (see Figure 9), wherein the first side surface is at an edge adjacent to the opening, wherein the display device further comprises: a first high-curvature area overlapping the opening (see ¶[0034]); and a first low-curvature area and a second low-curvature area on one side and an opposite side of the first high-curvature area, respectively, and wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with the emission material layer (See Figure 2; high bend about axis [28], curing on [60], all other material is comprising a flexible material, resulting in low-curvature area; see ¶[0029]). With respect to claim 20, Afsar discloses wherein the first side surface is connected directly to the first surface (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 21, Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate is not in the first high-curvature area (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 22, Afsar discloses wherein a minimum radius of curvature of the first high-curvature area is equal to or less than 10 millimeters (mm) (see ¶[0037]). With respect to claim 23, Afsar discloses a support film [90] in the opening (see Figure 9). With respect to claim 24, Afsar discloses wherein the support film comprises at least one of: a polyurethane resin, a polyimide resin, a polyethylene resin, or a polypropylene resin (see ¶[0029] and ¶[0050]). With respect to claim 25, Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate comprises glass, and the second substrate comprises a polymer resin (see ¶[0025] and ¶[0029]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 26-27 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180304749 A1; hereinafter Cho) in view of Afsar . With respect to claim 26, Cho discloses an automobile comprising: a first dashboard [1710]; a second dashboard [1730] on one side of the first dashboard; and a display device on the first dashboard and the second dashboard (see Figure 17) a first low-curvature area on the first dashboard; a second low-curvature area on the second dashboard; a first high-curvature area [1720] between the first low-curvature area and the second low-curvature area (see Figure 17) Cho fails to disclose wherein the display device comprises: a first substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface facing each other and having a rigid material; a second substrate on the first surface of the first substrate and having a flexible material; and an emission material layer on the second substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements, wherein the first substrate further comprises: an opening overlapping the first high-curvature area and exposing the second substrate; a first side surface located at an edge adjacent to the opening and located between the first surface and the second surface; and a first inclined surface between the first surface and the first side surface, and wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with the emission material layer. In the same field of endeavor, Afsar teaches a first substrate [58] comprising a first surface and a second surface facing each other and having a rigid material (See Figure 7); a second substrate [14/90] on the first surface of the first substrate and having a flexible material; and an emission material layer [42] on the second substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (See ¶[0029-0030]), wherein the first substrate further comprises: an opening overlapping the first high-curvature area and exposing the second substrate (see Figure 9); a first side surface located at an edge adjacent to the opening and located between the first surface and the second surface; and a first inclined surface between the first surface and the first side surface, and wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with the emission material layer (see Figure 9). Implementation of Afsar’s flexible display allows for dynamic curvature of the dashboard to accommodate the curvature of Cho’s dashboard without damage to the display (see Afsar ¶[0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention. With respect to claim 27, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses a third dashboard between the first dashboard and the second dashboard, wherein the display device comprises: a third low-curvature area on the third dashboard and between the first high-curvature area and the second low-curvature area; and a second high-curvature area between the second low-curvature area and the third low-curvature area, and wherein the second high-curvature area overlaps with the opening and the emission material layer (See Figure 19A, 20C and ¶[0104]). With respect to claim 31, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses wherein a step is between the first dashboard and the second dashboard by a level difference, and wherein the first high-curvature area overlaps with the step (see Cho Figure 17). With respect to claim 32, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses wherein the first high-curvature area is configured to be bent along a shape of the step (see Cho Figure 17 and 19B). With respect to claim 33, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses wherein the first substrate comprises glass, and the second substrate comprises a polymer resin (see Afsar ¶[0025] and ¶[0029]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Afsar as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0259365 A1; hereinafter Wang) With respect to claim 28, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses a center console on a lower side of the third dashboard, but fails to disclose the display device further comprises: a fourth low-curvature area on the center console; and a third high-curvature area between the third low-curvature area and the fourth low-curvature area, and wherein the third high-curvature area overlaps with the opening and the emission material layer. In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a fourth low-curvature area on the center console; and a third high-curvature area between the third low-curvature area and the fourth low-curvature area, and wherein the third high-curvature area overlaps with the opening and the emission material layer (See Figure 4D). Implementation of multiple display regions and curvatures as taught by Wang allows for integration of display regions to be interactable within the reach of a user (see Wang ¶[0115-0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention. With respect to claim 29, the combination of Cho, Afsar, and Wang discloses wherein the display device further comprises a fourth high-curvature area at one end of the display device, and wherein the fourth high-curvature area is configured to be bent and coupled to a coupling structure formed in at least one of the first to third dashboards or the center console (See Cho Figure 17, 19A and Wang Figure 4D) With respect to claim 30, the combination of Cho and Afsar discloses wherein the coupling structure is a groove or an opening concaved into at least one of the first to third dashboards or the center console (see Wang Figure 4D) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. - Kister et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0278423 A1) discloses a curved dashboard . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JONATHAN HAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7546. The examiner can normally be reached 9.00-5.00PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, STEVEN LOKE can be reached at 571-272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 10 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 11 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/426,215 Page 12 Art Unit: 2818