CTNF 18/426,236 CTNF 86178 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-06 AIA Claim s 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/26 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0066787) (“Park”) in view of Ma et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0181933) (“Ma”) . Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (Figure 2, items 110-114) comprising pixel circuit units (see Figure 2); a plurality of pixel electrodes (Figure 2, items 131) and first connection electrodes (Figure 2, items BD1) located thereon, the plurality of pixel electrodes being on the pixel circuit units of the substrate (see Figure 2); and a plurality of light emitting elements (Figure 2, items 140) on the plurality of pixel electrodes and comprising second connection electrodes (Figure 2, items BD2) bonded to the first connection electrodes. Park does not specifically teach each of the second connection electrodes comprises a plurality of sub-connection electrodes that are spaced from each other, although Park does teach each second connection electrode is spaced from each other (see Figure 2). However, Ma teaches forming a connection electrode for an OLED emitting structure in segements (see Figure 6a, note conductive sections 601 separated from each other by insulating sections 602, see also ¶0191). It would have been obvious to use the plurality of subconnection electrodes described in Ma as the electrode structure of Park, as Ma teaches a greater flexibility in circuit design (¶0190) as segmenting the electrode allows for electrical short protection of the device (¶0192). Regarding Claim 2, Ma further teaches a first insulating layer (Figure 6a, item 602, see also ¶0191) on the substrate at locations where the first connection electrodes are not located; and a plurality of dummy electrodes (see Figure 6b, items 608) on the first insulating layer and not overlapping the first connection electrode. Regarding Claim 3, Ma further teaches a second insulating layer between the plurality of dummy electrodes (Figure 6a, item 602, see also ¶0191). Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Ma further teaches at least one of the plurality of sub-connection electrodes protrudes outside the first connection electrode (see Figure 6a of Ma), and wherein the at least one sub-connection electrode protruding outside the first connection electrode from among the plurality of sub-connection electrodes is on the first insulating layer (see Figure 6a of Ma). Regarding Claim 5, Park further teaches a third insulating layer (Figure 2, item 151) on upper surfaces and side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting elements, upper surfaces of the plurality of dummy electrodes, and an upper surface of the second insulating layer, wherein the third insulating layer includes openings on upper surface of the plurality of light emitting elements (see Figure 2, note openings where 144 is present). Regarding Claim 6, Ma further teaches the plurality of sub-connection electrodes and the plurality of dummy electrodes are spaced from each other by a first interval in at least a first direction (see Figures 6a and 7a), and wherein the dummy electrode neighboring to the sub- connection electrode is spaced from the sub-connection electrode by the first distance in at least the first direction (see Figures 6a and 7a). Regarding Claim 7, Ma further teaches each of the plurality of sub-connection electrodes has a first width in a first direction (see Figures 6a and 7a), wherein the first connection electrode has a second width in the first direction, and wherein the first width is smaller than the second width (see Figures 6a and 7a). Regarding Claim 8, Park in view of Ma further teaches a sum of the first widths of the plurality of sub-connection electrodes arranged in the first direction in the second connection electrode is smaller than the second width of the first connection electrode (see Figures 6a and 7a of Ma and Figure 2 of Park). Regarding Claim 9, Park further teaches a common electrode (Figure 2, item 144) on the third insulating layer and electrically connected to the plurality of light emitting elements through the openings. Regarding Claim 10, Park further teaches partition walls (Figure 2, item 152) between the plurality of light emitting elements, the partition walls defining spaces in emission areas on the respective light emitting elements; wavelength conversion layers (Figure 2, item 153) located in the spaces; a first reflective layer (Figure 2, item 151 bottom section) on side surfaces of the plurality of light emitting elements; and a second reflective layer (Figure 2, item 151 top section) on side surfaces of the wavelength conversion layers. Regarding Claim 11, Park further teaches the display device further comprises a third reflective layer at bottom portions of the wavelength conversion layers that do not overlap the light emitting elements (see Figure 2, item 151). Park as modified by Ma does not specifically teach a length of the wavelength conversion layer in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the substrate is greater than a length of the light emitting element in the direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the wavelength conversion layers sizez, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Regarding Claim 12, Park further teaches light blocking members (Figure 2, item 152) on the partition walls (¶0130); and color filters (Figure 2, items 154) on the wavelength conversion layers (¶0130) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miller et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0158107) Ito (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0072581) Eguchi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0299818) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARK W TORNOW whose telephone number is (571)270-7534. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 6:30-4:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MARK W. TORNOW Primary Examiner Art Unit 2891 /MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 2 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 3 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 4 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 5 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 6 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/426,236 Page 7 Art Unit: 2891