FINAL REJECTION NOTICE
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to claims submitted on 11/18/2025 still reads on the same prior art. However, examiner identified that claim 22 is allowable if combined with independent claims 1, 19, 20, 21, and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140003086 A1 by Schaffer et al (Schaffer).
Referring to claim 1, Schaffer Fig 1-9 teaches, a plasma processing system comprising:
a source RF signal generator (item 112 RF source paragraph [0032])configured to generate a source RF signal for plasma generation (paragraph [0033]);
a first matching circuit (item 110) coupled to the source RF signal generator (item 112 and paragraph [0034]);
a bias RF signal generator (item 116) configured to generate a bias RF signal (paragraph [0034]);
a second matching circuit (item 118) coupled to the bias RF signal generator paragraph [0034]);
a phase control circuit (item 114) coupled to the second matching circuit (item 118) and configured to shift a phase of the bias RF signal supplied from the bias RF signal generator through the second matching circuit (paragraphs [0035] –[0037]);
a first plasma processing apparatus (Fig 2 item 202 paragraph [0039]) including a first plasma processing chamber and a first substrate support, the first substrate support being disposed in the first plasma processing chamber and including one or a p plurality of one or more first lower electrodes, the source RF signal being supplied to the first plasma processing apparatus through the first matching circuit, and the bias RF signal being supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes of the first plasma processing apparatus through the second matching circuit (See paragraph [0039] where Schaffer teaches configuration of n plasma reactors connected to the controller which are similar to Fig 1 item 100); and
a second plasma processing apparatus including a second plasma processing chamber and a second substrate support, the second substrate support being disposed in the second plasma processing chamber and including one or a plurality of one or more second lower electrodes, the one or more second lower electrodes being coupled to the phase control circuit, the source RF signal being supplied to the second plasma processing apparatus through the first matching circuit, the bias RF signal being supplied to the phase control circuit through the second matching circuit, the phase control circuit shifting the phase of the bias RF signal, and the bias RF signal of which the phase is shifted in the phase control circuit being supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more second lower electrodes of the second plasma processing apparatus (See paragraphs [0039]-[0041] and where Schaffer suggests the obvious variations of the plasma system with n number of processing systems being controlled with same generator or several generators with one controller.)
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s suggestions in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems at a time.
Referring to claim 2, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to claim 1, wherein the phase control circuit includes at least one inductor and at least one capacitor. (See abstract and paragraphs [0029], [0036] where Schaffer teaches a tunable capacitor and inductor for controlling the phase and match).
Referring to claim 3, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the claim 1, wherein the phase control circuit includes at least one of a variable inductor or a variable capacitor. (See paragraph [0039] where Schaffer suggests these variations). Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 4, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to claim 3, further comprising: a sensor (Fig 1 item 150 detector) configured to monitor the source RF signal between the source RF signal generator (item 112 )and the first matching circuit and output a monitoring result, wherein the phase control circuit is configured to control one or both of inductance of the variable inductor and capacitance of the variable capacitor based on the monitoring result (See paragraph [0036]).
Referring to claim 5, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the sensor is a VI sensor configured to monitor a phase difference of a voltage and a current of the source RF signal. (See paragraphs [0010], [0036] and [0049]).
Referring to claim 6 Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the sensor is a directional coupler configured to monitor a reflected wave of the source RF signal.
Referring to claim 7, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the phase control circuit is configured to control one or both of inductance of the variable inductor and capacitance of the variable capacitor before or after plasma processing in the second plasma processing apparatus. (See Fig 2 and paragraphs [0039] –[0041])
Referring to claim 8, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to wherein the phase control circuit is configured to control inductance of the variable inductor and capacitance of the variable capacitor during plasma processing in the second plasma processing apparatus. (See paragraph [0036] where Schaffer suggests capacitors and inductors).
Referring to claim 9, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein a phase difference between the bias RF signal and the bias RF signal of which the phase is shifted is 180 degrees. (paragraphs [0050] –[0052]).
Referring to claim 10, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the first plasma processing apparatus includes a first upper electrode disposed above the first substrate support, the second plasma processing apparatus includes a second upper electrode disposed above the second substrate support, the first matching circuit is coupled to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes or the first upper electrode and to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more second lower electrodes or the second upper electrode, the second matching circuit is coupled to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes, and the phase control circuit is coupled to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more second lower electrodes. (See Paragraphs [0039] –[0044] where Schaffer suggests these variations and hence it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill).
Referring to claim 11, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to wherein the first plasma processing apparatus includes a first antenna (Fig 1 item 104) disposed above the first plasma processing chamber (Fig 1 and item 101 plasma chamber and paragraph [0033]), the second plasma processing apparatus includes a second antenna disposed above the second plasma processing chamber, the first matching circuit is coupled to the first antenna and to the second antenna, the second matching circuit is coupled to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes, and the phase control circuit is coupled to at least one of the one or plurality of one or more second lower electrodes. (From Fig 2 and paragraphs [0039]-[0044] it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art).
Referring to claim 12, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the source RF signal has a frequency within a range of 10 MHz to 120 MHz (See paragraph [0066]).
Referring to claim 13, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to claim 1, wherein the bias RF signal has a frequency within a range of 100 kHz to 20 MHz (See paragraph [0066]).
Referring to claim 14, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to claim 1 but silent on wherein the bias RF signal has a frequency within a range of 400 kHz to 4 MHz. However, it is within the scope of a person with ordinary skill in the art as varying bias power for minimizing the reflected power is known skill of the art.
Referring to claim 15, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to claim 1wherein the source RF signal is a continuous wave having a first frequency. (See paragraph [0034]).
Referring to claim 16, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to The plasma processing system according to wherein the source RF signal is a pulse wave periodically including a plurality of first electrical pulses, and each of the plurality of first electrical pulses includes a continuous wave having a first frequency. (See paragraph [0034] where Schaffer teaches it can be a continuous wave on pulsed mode power).
Referring to claim 17, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to claim 1 but silent on wherein the bias RF signal is a continuous wave having a second frequency. However, it is within the scope of the art and a person with ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 18, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to the plasma processing system according to claim 1 but silent on wherein the bias RF signal is a pulse wave periodically including a plurality of second electrical pulses, and each of the plurality of second electrical pulses includes a continuous wave having a second frequency. However, Schaffer teaches it as pulsed frequency power or continuous wave form (paragraph [0034]). However, it is within the scope of a person with ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 19, Schaffer’s reference teaches a plasma processing method executed in a plasma processing system (Fig 1 item 100 and paragraph [0032]) including a first plasma processing apparatus and a second plasma processing apparatus, the plasma processing method comprising: generating a first RF signal having a first frequency; generating a second RF signal having a second frequency lower than the first frequency; shifting a phase of the second RF signal; supplying, through a first matching circuit, the first RF signal to the first plasma processing apparatus and to the second plasma processing apparatus; supplying, through a second matching circuit, the second RF signal to the first plasma processing apparatus; [[and]] shifting a phase of the second RF signal by a phase control circuit, the second RF signal being supplied to the phase control circuit through the second matching circuit; and supplying the second RF signal of which the phase is shifted to the second plasma processing apparatus. (See Fig 1 and paragraphs [0032]-[0038]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s teachings of several embodiments in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems at a time.
Referring to claim 20, Schaffer’s reference teaches A plasma processing system (Fig 1 item 100) comprising: an RF signal generator (item 112) configured to generate an RF signal; a matching circuit (110) coupled to the RF signal generator (item 112); a voltage pulse generator configured to generate a sequence of voltage pulses; a phase control circuit (item 114) configured to shift phases of the sequence of voltage pulses supplied from the voltage pulse generator; a first plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1 or Fig 2 item 202 paragraph [0039]) including a first plasma processing chamber and a first substrate support, the first substrate support being disposed in the first plasma processing chamber (item 101) and including one or a plurality of one or more first lower electrodes, the RF signal being supplied to the first plasma processing apparatus through the matching circuit, and the sequence of voltage pulses being supplied to the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes of the first plasma processing apparatus from the voltage pulse generator ([0035] –[0047]); and
a second plasma processing apparatus (Fig 2 item 202)including a second plasma processing chamber and a second substrate support, the second substrate support being disposed in the second plasma processing chamber and including one or a plurality of one or more second lower electrodes, the one or more second lower electrodes being coupled to the phase control circuit, the RF signal being supplied to the second plasma processing apparatus through the matching circuit, the sequence of voltage pulses being supplied to the phase control circuit from the voltage pulse generator, the phase control circuit shifting the phase of the sequence of voltage pulses, and the sequence of voltage pulses of which the phases are shifted in the phase control circuit being supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more second lower electrodes of the second plasma processing apparatus. (Fig 2 and paragraphs [0039]-[0046] where Schaffer teaches phase shift and adjustment of phase differences not only for single plasma system but also plurality of plasma processing systems)
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s teachings of several embodiments in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems at a time.
Referring to claim 21, Schaffer’s reference teaches a plasma processing system (Fig 1 item 100) comprising: a source RF signal generator (item 112) configured to generate a source RF signal for plasma generation (paragraphs [0032] –[0033]); a first matching circuit (110) coupled to the source RF signal generator (112); a bias RF signal generator (item 116) configured to generate a bias RF signal; a second matching circuit (item 118) coupled to the bias RF signal generator’s plasma processing apparatuses (n is an integer greater than or equal to 2) coupled in parallel to the first matching circuit; and(n - 1) phase control circuits, wherein the (n - 1) phase control circuits are coupled in series between the second matching circuit and an n-the plasma processing apparatus among the n plasma processing apparatuses and are configured to sequentially shift a phase of the bias RF signal supplied from the bias RF signal generator through the second matching circuit, a k-th (k is an integer of 1 to n - 1) phase control circuit among the (n - 1) phase control circuits is coupled to a k-th plasma processing apparatus and to a (k + 1)-th plasma processing apparatus among the n plasma processing apparatuses,a first plasma processing apparatus among the n plasma processing apparatuses includes a first plasma processing chamber and a first substrate support, in which the first substrate support is disposed in the first plasma processing chamber and includes one or a plurality of one or more first lower electrodes, the source RF signal is supplied to the first plasma processing apparatus through the first matching circuit, and the bias RF signal is supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more first lower electrodes of the first plasma processing apparatus through the second matching circuit, and the (k + 1)-th plasma processing apparatus among the n plasma processing apparatuses includes a (k + 1)-th plasma processing chamber and a (k + 1)-th substrate support, the (k + 1)-th substrate support being disposed in the (k + 1)-th plasma processing chamber and including one or a plurality of one more (k + 1)-th lower electrodes, the one or more (k + 1)-th lower electrodes being coupled to the k-th phase control circuit, the source RF signal being supplied to the (k + 1)-th plasma processing apparatus through the first matching circuit, the bias RF signal being supplied to the k-th phase control circuit through the second matching circuit, the k-th phase control circuit shifting the phase of the bias RF signal, and the bias RF signal of which the phase is shifted in the k-th phase control circuit among the (n - 1) phase control circuits being supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more (k + 1)-th lower electrodes of the (k + 1)- th plasma processing apparatus. (See Fig 2-15 and paragraphs [0039] –[0063])
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s several embodiments in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems at a time.
Referring to claim 23, Schaffer’s modified reference teaches the plasma processing system according to claim 21, further comprising: but silent on n first switches that switch whether or not each of the n plasma processing apparatuses is coupled to the first matching circuit; and n second switches that switch whether or not each of the n plasma processing apparatuses is coupled to the second matching circuit. However, Schaffer teaches in paragraphs [0036] direction couplers 150 and 152 which are connected to several plasma processors Fig 2 to Fig 9 and paragraphs [0039] –[0052] suggests in several embodiments these limitations. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s several embodiments in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems simultaneously.
Referring to claim 24, Schaffer’s reference teaches : A plasma processing system (Fig 1 item 100 paragraph [0032])comprising: a source RF signal generator (112) configured to generate a source RF signal for plasma generation (paragraph [0033]); a first matching circuit (110) coupled to the source RF signal generator (116); a voltage pulse generator configured to generate n (n is an integer greater than or equal to 2) sequences of voltage pulses, the phases of the n sequences of voltage pulses are different from each other, the voltage pulse generator shifting the phases of the n sequences of voltage pulses based on the number n; and n plasma processing apparatuses, wherein a k-th (k is an integer of 1 to n) plasma processing apparatus among the n plasma processing apparatuses includes a k-th plasma processing chamber and a k-th substrate support, the k-th substrate support is disposed in the k-th plasma processing chamber and includes one or a plurality of one or more the k-th lower electrodes, the source RF signal is supplied to the k-th plasma processing apparatus through the first matching circuit, and a k-th sequence of voltage pulses in the n sequences of voltage pulses is supplied to at least one of the one or the plurality of one or more k-th lower electrodes of the k-th plasma processing apparatus. (See Fig 2 to 9 and paragraphs [0039] –[0051]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the Schaffer’s several embodiments in to fig 1 in order to process several processing systems at a time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Referring to claim 22 the closest prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest the plasma processing system according to a plasma processing system according to wherein the (n - 1) phase control circuits are configured to sequentially shift the phase of the bias RF signal by 360 degrees/n. Hence claim 22 may be allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Claims 1-21, 23, 24 are rejected.
Claim 22 is objected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
02/17/2026