DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 5/20/2026 "Reply" elects without traverse and identifies claims 1-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 as being drawn to Species A. Accordingly, Examiner has withdrawn claims 11 and 18 from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. See, for example, 37 CFR § 1.142(b).
The 4/7/2026 restriction requirement is proper, is maintained, and is hereby made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iucolano (US Pub. No. 2024/0304713).
Regarding claim 1, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses a structure comprising: a gate structure (57, paragraph [0044]); a gate metal (68, paragraph [0054]) connecting to the gate structure; inner spacers (62, paragraph [0053]) contacting and surrounding the gate metal; a passivation layer (58, paragraph [0047]) on the inner spacers; and outer conductive spacers (72, paragraph [0062]) on the passivation layer and adjacent to sides of the gate structure.
Regarding claim 2, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the gate structure comprises p-GaN material.
Regarding claim 3, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the inner spacers comprise dielectric material (SiN, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the passivation layer is a nitride material (paragraph [0048]) between the inner spacers and the outer conductive spacers.
Regarding claim 5, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the outer conductive spacers surround the gate structure and the gate metal.
Regarding claim 6, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the outer conductive spacers comprise a field plate connected to a source.
Regarding claim 7, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses an additional gate metal (70, paragraph [0061]) adjacent to the outer conductive spacers on a drain side, the additional gate metal comprising a second field plate connecting to the source (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses metal material on the drain side (73, paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses a structure, comprising: a gate structure (57, paragraph [0044]); inner dielectric spacers (62, paragraph [0053]); outer conductive spacers (72, paragraph [0062]) surrounding the inner dielectric spacers; a gate metal (68, paragraph [0054]) connecting to the gate structure and surrounded by the inner dielectric spacers, the gate metal also being adjacent to the outer conductive spacers on an opposing side from the inner dielectric spacers.
Regarding claim 13, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses an insulator material (69, paragraph [0059]) isolating the outer conductive spacers from the gate metal adjacent to the outer conductive spacers.
Regarding claim 14, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses a passivation layer (58/66, paragraph [0047], [0049]) between the outer conductive spacers and the inner dielectric spacers.
Regarding claim 15, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the outer conductive spacers comprise a first field plate on the passivation layer and the gate metal (68/70, paragraph [0061]) adjacent to the outer conductive spacers comprises a second field plate on the insulator material.
Regarding claim 19, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses that the gate metal connecting to the gate structure and the gate metal adjacent to the outer conductive spacers comprise a same metal material (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, in FIG. 2, Iucolano discloses a method comprising: forming a gate structure (57); forming a gate metal (68) connecting to the gate structure; forming inner spacers (62) contacting and surrounding the gate metal; forming a passivation layer (58) on the inner sidewall spacers; and forming outer conductive spacers (72) on the passivation layer and adjacent to sides of the gate structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In FIG. 5, US Pub. No. 2021/0013331 discloses a structure having similar scope to that of at least claims 1, 12, and 20.
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891