DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 01/30/2024 and 10/16/2024 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display device comprising first and second auxiliary lines protruding from a main line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13-17, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EOM (U.S. Pub. 2022/0037437).
In re claim 1, EOM discloses a display device comprising: a first gate line 1440 comprising a main line 1441; and first 1442 and second 2442 auxiliary lines protruding from the main line 1441 (see paragraph [0093] and figs. 1-10); and first PX1 and second PX2 pixels (see paragraph [0037] and figs. 1-10), each comprising a first transistor T1 (see paragraph [0044] and figs. 1-10), wherein the first transistor T1 of each of the first and second pixels comprises a first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0064] and figs. 1-10); a first drain electrode on one side of the first active region 1100; a first source electrode on another side of the first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0045] and figs. 1-10); and a first gate electrode 1220 overlapping with the first active region 1100, and wherein the first gate electrodes of the first and second pixels are respectively connected to the first 1442 and second 2442 auxiliary lines (see paragraphs [0093], [0113] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, EOM discloses wherein the first auxiliary line 1442 is located on one side of the first pixel 2430; and the second auxiliary line 2442 is located on another side of the first pixel 2430 (see paragraph [0089] and figs. 1, 3, 10, and 11).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, EOM discloses wherein the display device further comprising first 1510 and second 2510 data lines, wherein the first drain electrodes of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels are respectively connected to the first 1510 and second 2510 data lines, wherein the first data line 1510 is located on one side of the first pixel PX1, and wherein the second data line 2510 is located on another side of the first pixel PX1 (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 1).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, EOM discloses wherein the first transistor T1 of the first pixel PX1 is located on one side of the first pixel PX1, and the first transistor of the second pixel PX2 is located on another side of the second pixel PX2 (see paragraphs [0038], [0044] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 3 above, EOM discloses wherein the display device further comprising a first voltage line ELVDD on one side of the first auxiliary line, wherein the first pixel further comprises a second transistor T2, wherein the second transistor of the first pixel comprises: a second active region; a second drain electrode on one side of the second active region; a second source electrode on another side of the second active region; and a second gate electrode overlapping with the second active region, and wherein the second drain electrode of the first pixel is connected to the first voltage line (see paragraphs [0045], [0047] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, EOM discloses wherein the first data line 1510 is located on one side of the first voltage line 1520 (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 6 above, EOM discloses wherein the first pixel further comprises a third transistor; (T3_1, T3_2) the third transistor of the first pixel comprises a third active region; a third drain electrode on one side of the third active region; a third source electrode on another side of the third active region; and a third gate electrode overlapping with the third active region; and the first to third transistors of the first pixel are located on one side of the first pixel (see paragraphs [0045], [0046], [0047] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 13, EOM discloses a display device comprising first 1510 and second 2510 data lines (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10); a first gate line GL comprising a main line, 1441 and an auxiliary line 1441 protruding from the main line 1441 (see paragraph [0093] and figs. 1-10); and first PX1 and second PX2 pixels, each comprising a first transistor T1, wherein the first transistor T1 of each of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels comprises a first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0044] and figs. 1-10); a first drain electrode on one side of the first active region 1100; a first source electrode on another side of the first active region 1100; and a first gate electrode overlapping with the first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0045] and figs. 1-10), wherein the first drain electrodes of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels are respectively connected to the first 1510 and second 2510 data lines (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10), wherein the first gate electrode of each of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels is connected to the auxiliary line 1441, and wherein a branch point of the auxiliary line is located between the first 1510 and second 2510 data lines (see paragraphs [0038], [0095] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, EOM discloses wherein the first 1510 and second 2510 data lines are located on one side of the first pixel PX1 (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 15, as applied to claim 13 above, EOM discloses wherein the display device further comprising a third data line 3510; and a third pixel PX3 comprising the first transistor, wherein the first drain electrode of the third pixel is connected to the third data line 3510, wherein the first gate electrode of the third pixel PX3 is connected to the auxiliary line 1442, and wherein the third data line 3510 is located on an opposite side of the auxiliary line 1442 with the first data line 1510 interposed therebetween in a plan view (see paragraphs [0038], [0045], [0048] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, EOM discloses wherein the first to third (1510, 2510, 3510) data lines and the auxiliary line 1441 are adjacent to each other (see paragraphs [0038], [0095] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 17, as applied to claim 13 above, EOM discloses wherein the auxiliary line 1441 overlaps with at least one of the first 1510 or second 2510 data lines (see paragraphs [0038], [0093] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 23, EOM discloses a display device comprising first and second unit pixels adjacent to each other (see paragraph [0037] and figs. 1-10), wherein each of the first PX1 and second PX2 unit pixels comprises: first 1510 and second 2510 data lines (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10); a first gate line GL comprising a main line 1441, and first 1442 and second 2442 auxiliary lines protruding from the main line 1441 (see paragraph [0093] and figs. 1-10); and first PX1 and second PX2 pixels, each comprising a first transistor T1 (see paragraph [0044] and figs. 1-10), wherein the first transistor T1 of each of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels of the second unit pixel comprises a first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0064] and figs. 1-10); a first drain electrode on one side of the first active region 1100; a first source electrode on another side of the first active region 1100; and a first gate electrode overlapping with the first active region 1100 (see paragraph [0045] and figs. 1-10), wherein the first drain electrode of the first pixel PX1 of the second unit pixel is connected to the first data line 1510 of the first unit pixel, and wherein the first drain electrode of the second pixel PX2 of the second unit pixel is connected to the second data line 2510 of the second unit pixel (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10).
In re claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, EOM discloses wherein the first gate electrodes of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels of the second unit pixel are respectively connected to the first 1442 and second 2442 auxiliary lines of the second unit pixel; the first auxiliary line 1442 of the second unit pixel is located on one side of the first pixel PX1 of the second unit pixel; and the second auxiliary line 2442 of the second unit pixel is located on another side of the first pixel PX1 of the second unit pixel (see paragraph [0093] and figs. 1-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (U.S. Pub. 2022/0037437) in view of Seong et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0231855).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, EOM discloses wherein the first 1510 and second 2510 data lines are configured to apply first and second data signals, respectively, to the first transistors T1 of the first PX1 and second PX2 pixels (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-10) but is silent to wherein a direction in which the first data signal is applied is opposite to a direction in which the second data signal is applied.
However, Seong discloses in a same field of endeavor, a display device including inter-alia, wherein a direction in which the first data signal is applied is opposite to a direction in which the second data signal is applied (see paragraph [0057] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Seong into the display device of EOM in order to enable wherein a direction in which the first data signal is applied is opposite to a direction in which the second data signal is applied in EOM to be formed in order to improve aperture ratio of the display device (see paragraph [0004] of Seong).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (U.S. Pub. 2022/0037437).
In re claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, EOM is silent to wherein the first data line is located between the first voltage line and the first auxiliary line.
However, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to rearrange the connection of the first data line, the first voltage line and the first auxiliary line so that wherein the first data line is located between the first voltage line and the first auxiliary line in order to improve resolution of the display device.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (U.S. Pub. 2022/0037437) in view of Lai (U.S. Pub. 2006/0102904).
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 6 above, EOM is silent to wherein the first pixel further comprises a first pixel electrode connected to the second source electrode of the first pixel; the first data line and the first drain electrode of the first pixel are connected to each other through a first connection electrode; and the first connection electrode does not overlap with the first pixel electrode.
However, Lai discloses in a same field of endeavor, a display device, including, inter-alia, wherein the first pixel further comprises a first pixel electrode 230a connected to the second source electrode 216 of the first pixel; the first data line 130 and the first drain electrode 216 of the first pixel are connected to each other through a first connection electrode; and the first connection electrode does not overlap with the first pixel electrode 230a (see paragraph [0032] and figs. 1 and 2A).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Lai into the display device of EOM in order to enable wherein the first pixel further comprises a first pixel electrode connected to the second source electrode of the first pixel; the first data line and the first drain electrode of the first pixel are connected to each other through a first connection electrode; and the first connection electrode does not overlap with the first pixel electrode in EOM to be formed in order to improve color shift and color saturation insufficiency (see paragraph [0008] of Lai).
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, EOM in combination with Lai discloses wherein the display device further comprising at least one voltage line between the first auxiliary line and the first data line, wherein the first connection electrode overlaps with at least one of the at least one voltage line (see paragraph [0033] and fig. 1 of Lai).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0249896) discloses a display device including pixels PXL1, PXl2, and PXL3, and a driver provided on a substrate SUB and driving the pixels (see paragraph [0046] and fig. 1).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892