DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Embodiment I (Fig. 1A), Sub-species B (Figs. 1A, 1D), claims 1-19, in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 20 has been withdrawn. Action on the merits is as follows:
Double Patenting
Claims 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,610,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/581,796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/581,796 in view of Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1).
In regards to claim 1, 18/581,796 does not specifically disclose wherein the second dielectric layer comprises a first air gap structure.
In regards to claim 1, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises a first air gap structure (item AG, paragraphs 6, 15, 35, 41, 55, claims 4, 13, ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Tsai for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance (paragraph 60).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses a semiconductor device (item 1000), comprising: a substrate (item 10); a first bit line (items BL1, BL2 or BL3) disposed on the substrate (item 10) and extending along a first direction (D2); a first word line (item WL1, WL2 or WL3) disposed on the first bit line (items BL1, BL2 or BL3) and extending along a second direction (z-direction[D3] or D1) perpendicular to the first direction (D2); a channel structure (items 120, 220) disposed on the first bit line (items BL1, BL2 or BL3) and penetrating the first word line (item WL1, WL2 or WL3), wherein the channel structure (items 120, 220) is separated from the first word line (item WL1, WL2 or WL3) by a gate dielectric layer (item 122); a first dielectric layer (item 30) disposed over the first bit line (items BL1, BL2 or BL3) and a second dielectric layer (item 12) disposed over the first word line (item WL1, WL2 or WL3), wherein the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises a first air gap structure (item AG, paragraphs 6, 15, 35, 41, 55, claims 4, 13, ); and a trench capacitor (item 100C) disposed on the channel structure (items 120, 220).
In regards to claim 12, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first air gap structure (item AG) of the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises an air gap (item AG) enclosed by a liner layer (item 20).
In regards to claim 13, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first air gap structure (item AG) is formed by a thermal treatment process. Examiner notes that “the first air gap structure is formed by a thermal treatment process” is a “product-by-process” limitation.
"Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (fed Cir. 1985).
The method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation, “formed by a thermal treatment process”, has not been given patentable weight.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1).
In regard to claim 14, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising: a substrate (item 200); a channel structure (item 430) disposed on the substrate (item 200); a first word line (item 440, paragraphs 67, 157) disposed on the substrate (item 200) and surrounding the channel structure (item 430); a dielectric layer (item 212) disposed over the substrate (item 200); and a trench capacitor (item 480) disposed on the channel structure (item 430), opposite to the substrate (item 200), wherein the trench capacitor (item 480) comprises a first conductive layer (item 481 or 483) and a second conductive layer (item 483 or 485) and a first dielectric layer (item 482) and a second dielectric layer (item 484).
In regard to claim 15, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising a first bit line (item 420) disposed between the channel structure (item 430) and the substrate (item 200).
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shih et al. (Shih) (US 2024/0315011 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claims 14-19, Shih (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1).
In regards to claim 16, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) does not specifically disclose further comprising a first landing pad (LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 17, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) does not specifically disclose further comprising a second landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2022/0013525 A1).
In regards to claim 18, Jeon does not specifically disclose further comprising: a third conductive layer disposed on the substrate; a first contact disposed on and electrically connected to the third conductive layer, wherein the first contact is a monolithic structure; and a second contact disposed between the first word line and the third conductive layer, wherein the first word line is electrically connected to the first contact through the second contact and the third conductive layer.
Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a third conductive layer (item 414) disposed on the substrate (item 100); a first contact (item 412) disposed on and electrically connected to the third conductive layer (item 414), wherein the first contact (item 412) is a monolithic structure; and a second contact (another one of item 412) disposed between the first word line (item 220) and the third conductive layer (item 414), wherein the first word line (item 220) is electrically connected to the first contact (item 412) through the second contact (another one of item 412) and the third conductive layer (item 414).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Cho for the purpose of an electrical connection.
In regard to claim 19, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a polysilicon layer (item 460, paragraph 165) disposed on the trench capacitor (item 480) opposite to the channel structure, wherein the polysilicon layer (item 460) has a curved sidewall; and a fourth conductive layer (item 481) disposed on the polysilicon layer (item 460), wherein the fourth conductive layer (item 481) has a sidewall, and wherein the curved sidewall of the polysilicon layer (item 460) is recessed from the sidewall of the fourth conductive layer (item 481).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) In regards to claim 1, discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising: a substrate (item 200); a first bit line (item 420) disposed on the substrate (item 200) and extending along a first direction (y-direction); a first word line (item 440) disposed on the first bit line (item 420) and extending along a second direction (x-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (y-direction); a channel structure (item 430) disposed on the first bit line (item 420) and penetrating the first word line (item 440), wherein the channel structure (item 430) is separated from the first word line (item 440) by a gate dielectric layer (item 450); a first dielectric layer (item 422) disposed over the first bit line (item 420) and a second dielectric layer (item 436) disposed over the first word line (item 440), wherein the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises a first air gap structure (item AG, paragraphs 6, 15, 35, 41, 55, claims 4, 13, ); and a trench capacitor (item 480) disposed on the channel structure (item 430), but does not specifically disclose wherein the second dielectric layer comprises a first air gap structure.
In regards to claim 1, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises a first air gap structure (item AG, paragraphs 6, 15, 35, 41, 55, claims 4, 13, ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Tsai for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance (paragraph 60).
In regards to claim 2, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) as modified by Tsai does not specifically disclose further comprising a first landing pad (LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 3, Jeon as modified by Tsai does not specifically disclose wherein the first landing pad contacts the first bit line through a titanium nitride layer.
However, Jeon185 teaches the first bit line (420) may include at least one of polysilicon doped with impurities, Al, Cu, Ti, Ta, Ru, W, Mo, Pt, Ni, Co, TiN, TaN, WN, NbN, TiAl, TiAIN, TiSi, TiSiN, TaSi, TaSiN, RuTiN, NiSi, CoSi, IrOx, RuOx, or a combination thereof, but may not be limited thereto. Each of the plurality of first bit line conductive films may include a single layer or multiple layers made of the aforementioned materials (paragraph 159).
In another embodiment, Jeon teaches further comprising a first landing pad (LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line (paragraphs 45-50) and thus Jeon makes it obvious wherein the first landing pad contacts the first bit line through a titanium nitride layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jeon so that wherein the first landing pad contacts the first bit line through a titanium nitride layer, there is improved performance and reliability (paragraph 5).
In regards to claim 5, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) as modified by Tsai does not specifically disclose further comprising a second landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 5 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (Ryu) (US 2022/0223732 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Jeon as modified by Tsai does not specifically disclose further comprising an indium tin oxide (ITO) layer disposed between the channel structure and the first landing pad.
Ryu (paragraphs 92, 93) discloses further comprising an indium tin oxide (ITO) layer disposed between the channel structure and the first landing pad.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ryu for the purpose improved performance by improving interface characteristics while reducing leakage current (paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2and 5 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2022/0013525 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Jeon as modified by Tsai does not specifically disclose further comprising: a first conductive layer disposed between the substrate and the first bit line; and a first contact disposed on and electrically connected to the first conductive layer, wherein the first contact is spaced apart from the channel structure.
Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a first conductive layer (item 414) disposed between the substrate (item 100) and the first bit line (item 210); and a first contact (item 412) disposed on and electrically connected to the first conductive layer (item 414), wherein the first contact (item 412) is spaced apart from the channel structure (item 310).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Cho for the purpose of an electrical connection.
In regards to claim 7, Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses wherein the first contact (item 412) is a monolithic structure.
In regards to claim 8, Jeon as modified by Tsai and Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses further comprising a second contact (another item 412) disposed between the first word line (item 220) and the first conductive layer (item 414), wherein the second contact (another item 412) is spaced apart from the channel structure (item 310).
In regard to claim 9, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a polysilicon layer (item 460, paragraph 165) disposed on the trench capacitor (item 480) opposite to the channel structure, further comprising a polysilicon layer (item 460) disposed on the trench capacitor (item 480), opposite to the channel structure, wherein the polysilicon layer (item 460) has a first sidewall.
In regard to claim 10, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses wherein the first sidewall is non-planar.
In regard to claim 11, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising a second conductive layer (items 483 or 485) disposed on the polysilicon layer (item 460), wherein the second conductive layer (items 483 or 485) has a second sidewall, and wherein the first sidewall is recessed from the second sidewall of the second conductive layer (items 483 or 485).
Claim 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Shih et al. (Shih) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Tsai (US 2021/0104525 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
In regards to claims 1-13, Shih (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claim invention, but does not specifically disclose wherein the second dielectric layer comprises a first air gap structure.
In regards to claim 1, Tsai (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the second dielectric layer (item 12) comprises a first air gap structure (item AG, paragraphs 6, 15, 35, 41, 55, claims 4, 13, ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Tsai for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance (paragraph 60).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See all references listed in 892.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 6, 2026