DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on July 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Cheung et al (US 2001/0004479).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Cheung et al teaches a substrate processing method comprising: (a) forming a first film 300 exerting a predetermined adhesive force (see [0012] , [0037], [0038], [0101], [0111]) of Cheung et al where adhesion is discussed) on an inner surface of a concave structure formed on a surface of a substrate by supplying a first source gas (CH3SiH3 or (CH3)2 SiH2 ) to the substrate; and (b) forming a second film 302 exerting an adhesive force smaller than that of the first film on the first film by supplying a second source gas (SiH4 ) to the substrate. see specification paragraphs [0008]-[0020], [0035]-[0125], Figures 6A-6E): it is a process for depositing a dielectric layer on a substrate (equivalent to a substrate processing method); the three-layer gap fill process provides a PECVD liner layer 300 of oxidized organosilane or organosiloxane polymer that acts as an isolation layer between the subsequent gap fill layer 302 and the underlying substrate surface 304 and metal lines 306, 308, 310 formed on the substrate surface; by introducing an oxidizing gas, an organosilane or organosiloxane compound and a carrier gas, depositing a PECVD liner layer 300 in the reactor 10, the oxidized silicone layer has a high oxide content and good adhesion properties, as shown in FIG. 6A, and a concave structure is formed between the metal lines 306, 308, 310 (corresponding to (a) a step of supplying a first feed gas to a substrate provided with a concave structure on a surface and forming a first film having specified adhesion on an inner surface of the concave structure); the process gas for the gap fill layer 302 is preferably SiH4 and 50 wt% hydrogen peroxide Cheung et al also shares that in [0012] that it is known in the art as supported by US. Patent No. 5, 554, 570 that barrier layers are described for use with thermal CVD silicon oxide, wherein an organosilane having C-H groups is oxidized instead of silane to increase the density of the deposited film and improve adhesion between layers (i.e., poor adhesion performance formed using SiH4 corresponds to a step of (b) supplying a second feed gas to the substrate to form a second film having less adhesion than that of the first film).
Regarding claim 2. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein the inner surface of the concave structure comprises mutually facing side surfaces and a bottom surface, wherein the first film is formed in (a) while maintaining a state in which mutually facing portions of the first film respectively formed on the mutually facing side surfaces are out of contact with each other, and wherein the second film is formed in (b) until mutually facing portions of the second film formed on the first film come into at least partial contact with each other. See Figs. 6A-6E of Cheung et al. As shown in Figure 6A, the inner face forming the concave structure between the wires 306, 308, 310 has opposite side faces and a bottom face (equivalent to the inner face of the concave structure having opposite side faces and a bottom face); as shown in FIG. 6A, the liner layer 300 is formed while the liner layers 300 respectively formed on opposite sides are maintained out of contact with each other (equivalent to the first film formed while the first film respectively formed on opposite sides are maintained out of contact with each other in (a)); as shown in FIG. 6B, the gap fill layers 302 are formed until opposing gap fill layers 302 are in contact with each other (equivalent to forming the second film until at least a portion of the opposing second films are in contact with each other in (b)).
Regarding claim 7. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein a molecular weight of the first source gas is set to be larger than a molecular weight of the second source gas. See in Cheung et al where the first gas is CH3SiH3 or (CH3)2 SiH2 is while second gas SiH4 is the second gas, thus the first gas has a larger molecular weight than the first gas.
Regarding claim 8. The substrate processing method of claim 7, wherein the first source gas comprises an organic gas, and the second source gas comprises an inorganic gas.. See Cheung et al abstract, [0008] to [0020], [0035] to [0125] and Figs. 6A-6E where the CH3SiH3 or (CH3)2 SiH2 is the first gas (containing carbon thus is organic) while second gas SiH4 is the second gas and does not contain carbon and is thus inorganic.
Regarding claim 9. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein the second film is formed in (b) until at least a portion of the concave structure is filled with the first film and the second film. See Fig. 6B of Cheung et al above where the gap fill layer 302 fills the concave structure.
Regarding claim 10. The substrate processing method of claim 9, wherein the second film is formed in (b) until an entirety of the concave structure is filled with the first film and the second film.
Regarding claim 12. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein each of the first source gas and the second source gas contains a molecular structure containing a predetermined element, and wherein each of the first film and the second film comprises a film containing the predetermined element. See Cheung et al [0076] where it is recited that layer 300 is deposited by introducing an oxidizing gas such as N2O, an organosilane or organosiloxane compound is provided and to form a conformal silicon oxide layer on the substrate surface 304 and metal lines 306, 308, 310 SiH4 is provided. The predetermined element here is silicon for both the first and second films.
Regarding claim 17. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein (a) is further performed after (b) to form the first film on the second film. See Cheung et al and Fig. 6D where the process for the gap fill layer 302 (the second film) is SH4 and 50 wt % H2O2 is covered by the capping layer 312 made of oxidized organosilane or organisiloxane polymer,
Regarding claim 18. A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the substrate processing method of claim 1. See the abstract, title, [0005], [0006], and [0044] of Cheung et al where the method of depositing layers upon a wafer and the formation of semiconductor substrates is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung et al (US 2001/0004479) in view of Harada et al (JP 2021-040060 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided with the IDS dated June 11, 2026).
The teachings of the prior art of Cheung et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Cheung et al teaches supplying a plurality of gases but fails to teach they are provided in cycles.
Regarding claim 3. Namely, the prior art of Cheung et al fails to teach the substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein a cycle of supplying the first source gas and a first reactive gas is performed a predetermined number of times in (a) to form the first film, and a cycle of supplying the second source gas and a second reactive gas is performed a predetermined number of times in (b) to form the second film.
The prior art of Harada et al teaches a substrate processing method where source and reactive gases are provided at specific steps and cycles as facilitated by the independent supply of each gas to the chamber as illustrated in Fig. 1 of Harada et al. See mass flow controllers 232a-232e and valves 243a-243e. See also Fig. 4 of Harada et al which illustrates substrate processing sequence as steps A and B are repeated in the cycles (see 1st cycle, 2nd cycle…nth cycle) as necessary according to [0035] of Harada et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al with the provision on an enhance gas supply system where each gas is independently supplied and controlled as suggested by Harada et al and the substrate processing sequence suggested by Harada et al so that the steps can be performed and repeated as necessary to yield the desired product result.
Figures 1 and 4 of Harada et al JP 2021-40060 (provided above)
Regarding claim 4. The substrate processing method of claim 3, wherein each of the first reactive gas and the second reactive gas comprises an oxidizing gas, and each of the first film and the second film comprises an oxide film. See Cheung et al teaches first reactive gas (N2O) and second reactive gases (SiH4 + H2O2) are oxidizing see abstract, [0012], [0038], and [0044] where the first film (liner 300) and second films (gap fill layer 302) are oxide films.
Regarding claim 5. The substrate processing method of claim 4, wherein an oxidizing power of the first reactive gas is set to be smaller than an oxidizing power of the second reactive gas. See [0008] – [0020] and [0035] – [0125] of Cheung et al where it is recited that SiH4 and 50 wt % H2O2 an oxidation power greater than N2O.
Regarding claim 6. The substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein a step coverage of the first film is set to be higher than a step coverage of the second film. See Figs. 6A-6E of Cheung et al where the first film 300 conforms to the shape of layer 310. Second film 302 fills the groove and appears to illustrate high coverage, but the prior art of Cheung et al fails to specifically recites that the first film is set to be higher than a step coverage of the second film. Recall the prior art of Harada et al provided an enhanced gas supply system wherein each gas is independently supplied and controlled via the mass flow controllers, valves and controller. This enhanced gas supply system would allow control of the gas supply to ensure that the films are deposited and oxidized as desired. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al with the method and apparatus of Harada et al to ensure that the first film is set to be higher than a step coverage of the second film.
Regarding claim 11. The prior art of Cheung et al fails to specifically teach that the substrate processing method of claim 1, wherein the inner surface of the concave structure comprises mutually facing side surfaces, and wherein a distance between the mutually facing side surfaces at a lower portion of the concave structure is shorter than a distance between the mutually facing side surfaces at an upper portion of the concave structure.
See Fig. 6A of Cheung et al where a concave structure is formed between metal lines 306, 308, 310 on the substrate surface. The inner face forming the concave structure between the wires 306, 308, 310 has opposite side faces (the inner face of the concave structure with opposite side faces). The shapes of the films to include the concave structure and how the dimensions are relative to the mutually facing side surfaces would be a matter of optimization and design choice as the prior art of Harada et al provided independent control of the gases which would control the shapes of the films. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al with the method and apparatus of Harada et al to ensure that he inner surface of the concave structure comprises mutually facing side surfaces, and wherein a distance between the mutually facing side surfaces at a lower portion of the concave structure is shorter than a distance between the mutually facing side surfaces at an upper portion of the concave structure as such distances would be determined without undue routine experimentation and optimized per the desired product result.
Regarding claim 13. The substrate processing method of claim 12, wherein the predetermined element comprises silicon, and wherein an amino group is bonded to one bonding site of an atom of the silicon contained in the first source gas and alkoxy groups are respectively bonded to remaining three bonding sites of the atom of the silicon. See Cheung et al [0076] where it is recited that layer 300 is deposited by introducing an oxidizing gas such as N2O, an organosilane or organosiloxane compound is provided and to form a conformal silicon oxide layer on the substrate surface 304 and metal lines 306, 308, 310 SiH4 is provided. The prior art of Cheung et al fails to teach the bonding on an amino group. The raw gas having a molecular structure in which an alkoxy group as a first group and an amino group as a second group are bonded to silicon (Si) as a central atom X can be used, for example, a gas containing Si as a central atom X, a methoxy group (-OMe) as an alkoxy group, and a dimethylamino group (-N (CH3) 2) as an amino group, respectively, i.e., trimethoxydimethylaminosilane ((CH3) 2NSi (OCH3) 3, abbreviation: TMDMAS) gas, can be used. The Si contained in the TMDMAS has 4 bonds, a methoxy group is bonded in 3 of the 4 bonds in the Si, and a dimethylamino group is bonded in the remaining 1 of the 4 bonds in the Si (corresponding to an amino group bonded in one bond and an alkoxy group bonded in the remaining three bonds that the atom of silicon contained in the raw gas has). See [0014], claim 1, and [0017] of Harada et al where it is recited that a precursor gas containing an amino group. In [0017] and [0018] Harada et al suggests the motivation for introducing an amino group is that the amino group has a structure where a hydrogen is removed from and that this increases advantageous reactive properties to the gas. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al to introduce an amino group as suggested by Harada et al.
Regarding claim 14. Recall the prior art of Cheung et al fails to teach an amino group. See the rejection of claim 13 above , wherein the prior art of Harada et al teaches using an amino group. wherein, in (a), the first source gas is supplied to the substrate under conditions where: (i) the amino group is desorbed from the silicon without desorbing the alkoxy groups from the silicon; and (ii) the silicon whose amino group is desorbed therefrom but whose alkoxy groups are maintained being bonded thereto is adsorbed on the surface of the substrate. See the prior art of Harada et al suggests the first source gas comprises a dialkylaminotrialkoxysilane gas in [0018].. See [0014], claim 1, and [0017] of Harada et al where it is recited that a precursor gas containing an amino group. In [0017] and [0018] Harada et al suggests the motivation for introducing an amino group is that the amino group has a structure where a hydrogen is removed from and that this increases advantageous reactive properties to the gas. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al to introduce an amino group as suggested by Harada et al.
Regarding claim 15. Recall the rejection of claim 13 above. See the prior art of Harada et al suggests the first source gas comprises a dialkylaminotrialkoxysilane gas in [0018]. See [0014], claim 1, and [0017] of Harada et al where it is recited that a precursor gas containing an amino group. In [0017] and [0018] Harada et al suggests the motivation for introducing an amino group is that the amino group has a structure where a hydrogen is removed from and that this increases advantageous reactive properties to the gas. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al to introduce an amino group as suggested by Harada et al.
Regarding claim 16. The prior art of Cheung et al fails to teach that the molecular structure of the second source gas further contains a halogen element bonded to the predetermined element.
See [0133] of Harada et al where it is recited that a halogen gas is suggest group of elements to introduce to the second gas source. Note that halogen groups are advantageous as they offer reactive properties to enhance the silanes especially when an amino group is introduced. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cheung et al to introduce a halogen agent to increase the reactive properties as suggested in the prior art of Harada et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakatani US (11,837,466) teaches a method for manufacturing semiconductor device with a SiO and SiN films formed, see Fig. 1 with a plurality of gases independently provided to the reactor.
Maeda et al (US 5,554,570 teaches a method for forming silicon containing insulating films, Maeda et al teaches a first source gas (SiH4 + N2O), a second source gas (TEOS + O3), a first reactive gas (TEOS/O2), and a second reactive gas.(SiH4 + O2).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716