DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20210078642A - see machine translation attached), and Miyabayashi (U.S PG Pub 20120225969A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung, drawn also to the art of a photocurable adhesive and method of temporarily fixing a member using the adhesive [0001-0002], discloses an adhesive comprising a polymerization initiator [0014], a hydrophilic urethane acrylate and a hydrophilic acrylate in a state in which at least one of the urethane acrylate or acrylate are in a state of an aqueous solution [0011-0013; 0004] (the adhesive is a liquid composition and can include a solvent i.e. water given that the acrylates are hydrophilic ([0004 & 0067 & 0032]). Further, Jung has disclosed the adhesive swelling when being exposed to water after polymerization and being able to be peeled off [0077]. Jung further discloses the composition being a liquid, because Jung discloses that the composition can permeate between the multiple layers [0073], and the composition will not be able to permeate unless it is flowable or liquid. Further, Jung has disclosed that a solvent can be a part of the composition [0067].
Jung, however, has not explicitly disclosed that the urethane acrylate oligomer or acrylate are in a state of an aqueous solution prior to curing/polymerization. This limitation is known from Miyabayashi, as explained below.
Miyabayashi, drawn also to the art of an acrylate adhesive (Abstract; [0087]), discloses a composition containing a urethane acrylate oligomer, a polymerizable acrylate, and a photoinitiator, in an aqueous solution [0118 & 0234], and discloses the urethane acrylate to be in a weight percentage of 0.5 to 4% [0152], the acrylate in a range of 1 to 60% by weight [0134], and the photopolymerization initiator in a weight range of 1 to 10% by weight [0159].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the composition of Jung, with the composition being an aqueous solution before polymerization, as disclosed by Miyabayashi, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to have a composition excellent in emulsifiability in water, as well as curability and low viscosity [0010].
Regarding claim 2, Jung has disclosed the initiator to be a photo initiator [0014 & 0082].
Regarding claim 3, the similar claimed limitations as claimed in instant claim are disclosed by Jung and Miyabayashi (see claim 1 rejection above). Jung has also disclosed the steps of preparing an adhesive, applying the adhesive to a laminate (between a first and second adherence target), and then detaching by supplying water to the adhesive [0070-0077].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20210078642A - see machine translation attached), Miyabayashi (U.S PG Pub 20120225969A1), and Lipscomb (U.S PG Pub 20170210954A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jung as modified by Miyabayashi has disclosed weight percentages for the urethane acrylate, polymerizable acrylate, as well as the photoinitiator (see claim 1 rejection above). It is noted that the weight percentages as disclosed are not the same or similar as instantly claimed, specifically, for water and the polymerizable acrylate. However, as disclosed below by Lipscomb, it is known that the amount and types of components in an adhesive composition can be appropriately selected based on the properties or uses of the composition desired.
Lipscomb, drawn also to the art of acrylate adhesive composition (Abstract), discloses that depending on the kinds and amounts of components, the adhesive can be formulated to have a wide variety of properties for various end uses [0118]. Lipscomb then further discloses various substrates that can be used with the adhesive [0119-0122].
Thus, Lipscomb at the very least establishes that the components and their amounts are result effective variables, which have an effect on the properties of the adhesive and its end uses, particularly the substrates that the adhesive can be used with.
As such, it is obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to routinely optimize the weight ranges of the components of the adhesive, in order to obtain the needed properties for the use of the adhesive as appropriate (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20210040358-A1, US-20170321088-A1, US-20170233617-A1, US-20140234553-A1, US-20140163130-A1 – all drawn to acrylic and/or aqueous adhesive compositions.
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746