Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 17 requires in part “…and a controller configured to be capable of controlling the gas supplier so as to perform before forming the deposit on the surface of the component in the process vessel: (a)…”. The February 1, 2024 version of this clause identified Applicant’s well established “film forming step” (a)-(f) of Figure 4. The present amended version now appears to cast the pre-coating step as the film forming step which is not supported by Applicant’s as-filed specification. The amendment is interpretted as “…and a controller configured to be capable of controlling the gas supplier so as to form a pre-coating deposit on the surface of the component in the process vessel and then perform
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The newly claimed “in a state where a deposit on a surface of a component in the process vessel is removed” is interpretted as “in a state where a deposit on a surface of a component in the process vessel has been removed” as supported by Applicant’s specification ([0053]). The newly claimed “(e), and wherein the coating method is performed before forming the deposit on the surface of the component in the process vessel” is interpreted as a pre-coat step (Figure 4) or “(e), and wherein the coating method is performed, before forming a pre-coating deposit on the surface of the component in the process vessel,”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga; Yukinao et al. (US 20160196978 A1) in view of Endo; Atsushi et al. (US 20130109196 A1). Kaga teaches a coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) comprising: (a) supplying a first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to a process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (b) supplying a second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (c) supplying a third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from each of the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (d) performing a first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) X times (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) , the first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) comprising performing (a) and (b); (e) performing a second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) Y times (TiC/AlC transitions; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) comprising performing (d) and (c); and (f) changing X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in a next execution of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e) - claim 1
Kaga further teaches:
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein, in (f), X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in the next execution of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) is increased (for increased thickness; [0078]-[0079]) according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e), as claimed by claim 2
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein, in(f), X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in the next execution of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e) is increased (for increased thickness; [0078]-[0079]) whenever the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e) is increased (for increased thickness; [0078]-[0079]) by a predetermined number, as claimed by claim 3
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, further comprising (g) performing a third cycle (forming TiAlC film; Figure 9) Z (n3th.sup or forming TiAlC film; Figure 9) times after (e) is performed, the third cycle (forming TiAlC film; Figure 9) comprising performing (a) and (b), as claimed by claim 4
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 4, wherein, in (g), Z (n3th.sup or forming TiAlC film; Figure 9) is not changed regardless of the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e), as claimed by claim 5
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, further comprising (h) supplying a fourth process gas (inert gas; Figure 4,9) different from each of the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz), wherein (h) is performed after at least one of (d) or (e) is performed, as claimed by claim 6
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) contains a first element (Ti), the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) contains a second element (C), the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) contains a third element (Al), and wherein a film (TiAlC film; Figure 4,9; throughout) containing the first element (Ti), the second element (C) and the third element (Al) is formed in (f), and a ratio (“..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]) of the first element (Ti) and the third element (Al) on the film varies depending on a ratio (“..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]) of X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and Y (TiC/AlC transitions; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), as claimed by claim 7
A processing apparatus comprising: a process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); a gas supplier configured to supply a gas for forming a deposit on a surface of a component in the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz), a first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), a second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and a third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from each of the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); and a controller (121; Figure 1,3; [0144]-[0145]) configured to be capable of controlling the gas supplier so as to perform: (a) supplying the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (b) supplying a second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (c) supplying a third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from each of the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (d) performing a first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) X times (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) , the first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) comprising performing (a) and (b); (e) performing a second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) Y times (TiC/AlC transitions; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) comprising performing (d) and (c); and (f) changing X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in a next execution of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e) - claim 17
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (121c; Figure 3; [0144]) storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer, to perform the method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, as claimed by claim 18
A substrate processing method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) comprising: (a) supplying a first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to a process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (b) supplying a second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (c) supplying a third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) different from each of the first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) and the second process gas (reaction gas-C3H6; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz); (d) performing a first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) X times (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) , the first cycle (“Forming TiC film”; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) comprising performing (a) and (b); (e) performing a second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) Y times (TiC/AlC transitions; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6), the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) comprising performing (d) and (c); (f) changing X (n1th; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in a next execution of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e); and (g) loading a substrate ([0063]) into the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) and forming the deposit on a surface of the substrate after (e) ([0091]) - claim 19
A method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising the method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 19, as claimed by claim 20
Kaga does not teach Kaga’s method/controller as teaching a post method (Figure 4,9) cleaning or pre-method (Figure 4,9) coating. As a result, Kaga does not teach:
Kaga’s (a) supplying Kaga’s first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) in a state where a deposit on a surface of a component in Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) is removed; (e), and wherein Kaga’s coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) is performed before forming {a coating method} deposit (pre-deposit) on the surface of Kaga’s component in Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) – claim 1, 19
Kaga’s controller (121; Figure 1,3; [0144]-[0145]) configured to be capable of controlling Kaga’s gas supplier so as to form a pre-coating deposit on the surface of the component in Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz), (a) supplying Kaga’s first process gas (first precursor gas-TiCl4; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) to Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) in a state where the deposit on the surface of the component in Kaga’s process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) is removed – claim 17
Endo also teaches a film formation method (S5; Figure 2; [0047]) including a pre-method coating step (S2; Figure 2; [0040]) and post-method cleaning step (S8; Figure 2; [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kaga to add Endo’s pre-method coating step (S2; Figure 2; [0040]) and post-method cleaning step (S8; Figure 2; [0058]).
Motivation for Kaga to add Endo’s pre-method coating step (S2; Figure 2; [0040]) and post-method cleaning step (S8; Figure 2; [0058]) is for preventing particles in the film forming system as taught by Endo ([0008]).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga; Yukinao et al. (US 20160196978 A1) and Endo; Atsushi et al. (US 20130109196 A1) in view of Hioki, Akira et al. (US 20050087135 A1). Kaga and Endo are discussed above. Kaga further teaches:
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 7, wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) is constituted by quartz, the first element (Ti) contains a metal element (Ti) – claim 8
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 8, wherein at least a portion of the metal element (Ti) contains titanium – claim 9
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 7, wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of the process vessel (201; Figure 1; [0024]-quartz) is constituted by quartz, the first element (Ti) contains a metal element (Ti) – clami 10
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 10, wherein the metal element (Ti) contains titanium – claim 11
Kaga and Endo do not teach:
the second element (C) contains a Group 15 element and the third element (Al) contains a Group 14 element, and wherein a film (TiAlC film; Figure 4,9; throughout) containing the metal element (Ti), the Group 15 element and the Group 14 element is formed on a surface of the quartz in (f) – claim 8
the Group 15 element contains nitrogen and the Group 14 element contains silicon, and wherein a film (TiAlC film; Figure 4,9; throughout) containing titanium, nitrogen and silicon is formed on the surface of the quartz in (f) – claim 9
the second element (C) contains a Group 15 element and the third element (Al) contains a Group 16 element, and wherein a film (TiAlC film; Figure 4,9; throughout) containing the metal element (Ti), the Group 15 element and the Group 16 element is formed on a surface of the quartz in (f) – claim 10
the Group 15 element contains nitrogen and the Group 16 element contains oxygen, and wherein a film (TiAlC film; Figure 4,9; throughout) containing titanium, nitrogen and oxygen is formed on the surface of the quartz in (f) – claim 11
Hioki also teaches Group 15 and Group 16 precursors for common CVD/ALD films ([0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kaga to use Hioki’s Group 15,16 precursors as taught by Hioki ([0077]).
Motivation for Kaga to use Hioki’s Group 15,16 precursors as taught by Hioki is for depositing well known films with Kaga’s CVD/ALD apparatus/method as taught by Hioki ([00077]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga; Yukinao et al. (US 20160196978 A1) and Endo; Atsushi et al. (US 20130109196 A1) in view of Yang, Michael Xi et al. (US 20030190423 A1). Kaga and Endo are discussed above. Kaga and Endo do not teach overlapping gas injection timings. As a result, Kaga and Endo do not teach:
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein, in (d), (c) is further performed such that a supply of the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) is started while (a) is being performed, as claimed by claim 12.
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 4, wherein, in (g), (c) is further performed such that a supply of the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) is started while (a) is being performed, as claimed by claim 13.
Yang also teaches multi-precursor process gas injection timings including gas injection timings that overlap (Figures 4A,B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kaga to inject process gases at the same time as taught by Yang.
Motivation for Kaga to inject process gases at the same time as taught by Yang is for at least “aiding in reducing the amount of precursor impurities incorporated into the deposited film” as taught by Yang ([0055]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga; Yukinao et al. (US 20160196978 A1) and Endo; Atsushi et al. (US 20130109196 A1) in view of Chiang; Tony P. et al. (US 20090061646 A1). Kaga and Endo are discussed above. Kaga and Endo do not teach:
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein a supply amount (322; Figure 1; [0082]-”predeterminef flow rate”) of the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in (c) is changed according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e), as claimed by claim 14
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein a supply time (322; Figure 1; [0082]-”predeterminef flow rate”) of the third process gas (second precursor gas-AlCl3; Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6) in (c) is changed according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e), as claimed by claim 15
The coating method (Figure 4,9-Applicant’s Figure 6; [0057],[0114]-[0116]) of claim 1, wherein a supply flow rate (322; Figure 1; [0082]-”predeterminef flow rate”) of the third process gas in (c) is changed according to the number of previous executions (“The number of performing times..depending on the ratio of Ti,Al,C required..”; [0057]; “predetermined thickness”; [0078]-[0079]) of the second cycle (n1th of Forming TiC to 1st cycle of AlC film) in (e), as claimed by claim 16
Chiang also teaches an ALD precursor pulse profile (Figure 7) including the optimization of process variables including precursor flow rates ([0039], [0054], [0084]), time periods ([0039]-“ fluid pulse durations”; [0054]-“variation in the duration”) with the product of which being “supply amount” as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kaga to optimize Kaga’s pulse profile as taught by Chiang.
Motivation for Kaga to optimize Kaga’s pulse profile as taught by Chiang is for at least “to implement combinatorial experimentation” as taught by Chiang ([0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed July 23, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7, 12-13, 17-20 under §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Kaga; Yukinao et al. (US 20160196978 A1) in view of Endo; Atsushi et al. (US 20130109196 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pulse injection in ALD systems include at least US 20030072975 A1; US 20050181555 A1; US 20040144309 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716