DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the aluminum ions are implanted…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the aluminum ions” in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner assumes claim 11 is dependent from claim 9.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “the aluminum ions are implanted…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the aluminum ions” in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner assumes claim 30 is dependent from claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 12-17, 20-21, 23-24, 26-27, and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vobecky (U.S. Patent No. 10,115,834).
Regarding to claim 1, Vobecky discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1, Fig. 20), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Fig. 20, element 1); and
a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 20, element 2; column 7, lines 43);
wherein the semiconductor device comprises an active region (Fig. 20, element 10) and an edge termination region (Fig. 20, element 12) adjacent at least a portion of the active region;
wherein the edge termination region comprises a damage region in the drift layer that is formed by implantation of electrically active ions into the drift layer (Fig. 20, column 8, lines 35-38, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 2, Vobecky discloses the implantation of electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 20, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 4, Vobecky discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (Fig. 20).
Regarding to claim 5, Vobecky discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 3, lines 43).
Regarding to claim 7, Vobecky discloses the edge termination region is formed without annealing at a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit (column 9, lines 15-17).
Regarding to claim 8, Vobecky discloses the edge termination region is formed without annealing at a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit (column 9, lines 31-33).
Regarding to claim 12, Vobecky discloses a metal contact on the drift layer that is adjacent the active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 1, element 50; column 4, line 3).
Regarding to claim 13, Vobecky discloses the metal contact is further adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 1, element 6; column 4, line 14).
Regarding to claim 14, Vobecky discloses a passivation layer on the drift layer and is adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 15, element 39; column 4, lines 34-35).
Regarding to claim 15, Vobecky discloses a plurality of damage regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact (Fig. 1, the implanted regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact, as said, implantations caused damages to the crystal structure).
Regarding to claim 16, Vobecky discloses the plurality of damage regions are in contact with the metal contact (Fig. 1, the implanted regions are in contact with the metal contact).
Regarding to claim 17, Vobecky discloses the damage region comprises a region having un-annealed crystal lattice damage due to ion implantation (Fig. 20, the implanted regions is damaged after being implanted and before being annealed).
Regarding to claim 20, Vobecky discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Fig. 20, element 1);
forming a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 20, element 2; column 7, lines 43); and
implanting electrically active ions into the drift layer to form an edge termination region in the drift layer adjacent at least a portion of an active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 20, column 8, lines 35-38).
Regarding to claim 21, Vobecky discloses implanting the electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 20, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 23, Vobecky discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (Fig. 20).
Regarding to claim 24, Vobecky discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 3, lines 43).
Regarding to claim 26, Vobecky discloses the edge termination region is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit after implantation of the electrically active ions (column 9, lines 15-17).
Regarding to claim 27, Vobecky discloses the edge termination region is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit after implantation of the electrically active ions (column 9, lines 31-33).
Regarding to claim 31, Vobecky discloses forming an implant mask on the drift layer prior to implantation of the electrically active ions (Fig. 20, element 5).
Regarding to claim 32, Vobecky discloses forming a metal contact on the drift layer after implantation of the electrically active ions, wherein the metal contact is adjacent the active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 1, element 50; column 4, line 3).
Regarding to claim 33, Vobecky discloses the metal contact is further adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 1, element 6; column 4, line 14).
Regarding to claim 34, Vobecky discloses forming a passivation layer on the drift layer and is adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 15, element 39; column 4, lines 34-35).
Regarding to claim 35, Vobecky discloses forming a plurality of damage regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact (Fig. 1, the implanted regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact, as said, implantations caused damages to the crystal structure)
Regarding to claim 36, Vobecky discloses the plurality of damage regions are in contact with the metal contact (Fig. 1, the implanted regions are in contact with the metal contact).
Regarding to claim 37, Vobecky discloses the semiconductor device is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit following implantation of the electrically active ions to form the edge termination layer (column 9, lines 15-17).
Regarding to claim 38, Vobecky discloses the semiconductor device is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit following implantation of the electrically active ions to form the edge termination layer (column 9, lines 31-33).
Claims 1-9, 12, 17, 20-28, 31, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,318,623).
Regarding to claim 1, Zhang discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Fig. 11, element 114); and
a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 11, element 112);
wherein the semiconductor device comprises an active region and an edge termination region adjacent at least a portion of the active region (Fig. 11, column 7, lines 49-54);
wherein the edge termination region comprises a damage region in the drift layer that is formed by implantation of electrically active ions into the drift layer (Fig. 11, column 11, lines 12-15, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 2, Zhang discloses the implantation of electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 11, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 3, Zhang discloses crystal lattice damage forms a junction-less edge termination region (Fig. 11).
Regarding to claim 4, Zhang discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (column 7, line 31).
Regarding to claim 5, Zhang discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 6, lines 35).
Regarding to claim 6, Zhang discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises SiC, the semiconductor substrate comprises one of 4H-SiC or 6H-SiC (column 4, lines 24-26).
Regarding to claim 7, Zhang discloses the edge termination region is formed without annealing at a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit (no anneal is disclosed).
Regarding to claim 8, Zhang discloses the edge termination region is formed without annealing at a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit (no anneal is disclosed).
Regarding to claim 9, Zhang discloses electrically active ions comprise aluminum ions (column 1, lines 28-29).
Regarding to claim 12, Zhang discloses a metal contact on the drift layer that is adjacent the active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 5A, element 132; column 7, line 29).
Regarding to claim 17, Zhang discloses the damage region comprises a region having un-annealed crystal lattice damage due to ion implantation (Fig. 11, the implanted regions is damaged after being implanted and before being annealed).
Regarding to claim 20, Zhang discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Fig. 11, element 114); and
forming a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 11, element 112);
implanting electrically active ions into the drift layer to form an edge termination region in the drift layer adjacent at least a portion of an active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 11, column 11, lines 12-15).
Regarding to claim 21, Zhang discloses implanting the electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 11, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 22, Zhang discloses the crystal lattice damage forms a junction-less edge termination region (Fig. 11).
Regarding to claim 23, Zhang discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (column 7, line 31).
Regarding to claim 24, Zhang discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 6, lines 35).
Regarding to claim 25, Zhang discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises SiC, the semiconductor substrate comprises one of 4H-SiC or 6H-SiC (column 4, lines 24-26).
Regarding to claim 26, Zhang discloses the edge termination region is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit after implantation of the electrically active ions (no anneal is disclosed).
Regarding to claim 27, Zhang discloses the edge termination region is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit after implantation of the electrically active ions (no anneal is disclosed).
Regarding to claim 28, Zhang discloses electrically active ions comprise aluminum ions (column 1, lines 28-29).
Regarding to claim 31, Zhang discloses forming an implant mask on the drift layer prior to implantation of the electrically active ions (Fig. 5A, element 132; column 7, line 29).
Regarding to claim 37, Zhang discloses the semiconductor device is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1000 degrees Fahrenheit following implantation of the electrically active ions to form the edge termination layer (no anneal is disclosed).
Regarding to claim 38, Zhang discloses the semiconductor device is formed without being heated to a temperature greater than 1500 degrees Fahrenheit following implantation of the electrically active ions to form the edge termination layer (no anneal is disclosed).
Claims 1-5, 12, 14-15, 17, 20-24, 31, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brandt et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,094,779).
Regarding to claim 1, Brandt discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 1-6), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Figs. 5-6, element 3); and
a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 5-6, element 1);
wherein the semiconductor device comprises an active region (Figs. 5-6, element 110) and an edge termination region (Figs. 5-6, element 120) adjacent at least a portion of the active region;
wherein the edge termination region comprises a damage region in the drift layer that is formed by implantation of electrically active ions into the drift layer (Figs. 5-6, column 14, lines 28-37, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 2, Brandt discloses the implantation of electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 6B, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 3, Brandt discloses the crystal lattice damage forms a junction-less edge termination region (Fig. 6B; column 14, lines 35-37).
Regarding to claim 4, Brandt discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (Fig. 6B).
Regarding to claim 5, Brandt discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 6, lines 1-3).
Regarding to claim 12, Brandt discloses a metal contact on the drift layer that is adjacent the active region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 2, element 10).
Regarding to claim 14, Brandt discloses a passivation layer on the drift layer and is adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 2B, element 7).
Regarding to claim 15, Brandt discloses a plurality of damage regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact (Fig. 6B, the implanted regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact, as said, implantations caused damages to the crystal structure).
Regarding to claim 17, Brandt discloses the damage region comprises a region having un-annealed crystal lattice damage due to ion implantation (Fig. 20, the implanted regions is damaged after being implanted and before being annealed).
Regarding to claim 20, Brandt discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type (Figs. 5-6, element 3);
forming a drift layer on the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 5-6, element 1); and
implanting electrically active ions into the drift layer to form an edge termination region in the drift layer adjacent at least a portion of an active region of the semiconductor device (Figs. 5-6, column 14, lines 28-37).
Regarding to claim 21, Brandt discloses implanting the electrically active ions generates crystal lattice damage to the drift layer (Fig. 6B, ion implantation bombards the crystal lattices and damages them).
Regarding to claim 22, Brandt discloses the crystal lattice damage forms a junction-less edge termination region (Fig. 6B; column 14, lines 35-37).
Regarding to claim 23, Brandt discloses the first conductivity type comprises a n-type conductivity (Fig. 6B).
Regarding to claim 24, Brandt discloses the semiconductor substrate comprises one of silicon carbide (SiC), zinc oxide, gallium oxide, or gallium nitride (column 6, lines 1-3).
Regarding to claim 31, Brandt discloses forming an implant mask on the drift layer prior to implantation of the electrically active ions (Fig. 6B, element 19).
Regarding to claim 34, Brandt discloses forming a passivation layer on the drift layer and is adjacent a portion of the edge termination region (Fig. 2B, element 7).
Regarding to claim 35, Brandt discloses forming a plurality of damage regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact (Fig. 6B, the implanted regions in the drift layer beneath the metal contact, as said, implantations caused damages to the crystal structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,318,623), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above.
Regarding to claim 10, it is known in the art that implant dose and energy are selected for obtaining desired concentration of impurity and desired depth of the concentration of impurity. Zhang does not specifically disclose a range of dose, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implant the aluminum ions with a dose of l.5E15 cm-2 in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding to claim 11, it is known in the art that implant dose and energy are selected for obtaining desired concentration of impurity and desired depth of the concentration of impurity. Zhang does not specifically disclose a range of energy, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implant the aluminum ions at an implant energy of at least about 80 keV in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,094,779), as applied to claims 1 and 17 above.
Regarding to claim 18, Brandt is silent about range of the damage. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to characterize the damage region by having a therma-wave unit (TWU) value of between about 5000 TWU and 50,000 TWU in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 19, Brandt is silent about range of damage ratio. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a ratio of a TWU value for the damage region relative to a TWU value for an un-implanted portion of the drift layer to be between about 50 and 400 in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,318,623), as applied to claims 20 and 28 above.
Regarding to claim 29, it is known in the art that implant dose and energy are selected for obtaining desired concentration of impurity and desired depth of the concentration of impurity. Zhang does not specifically disclose a range of dose, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implant the aluminum ions with a dose of l.5E15 cm-2 in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding to claim 30, it is known in the art that implant dose and energy are selected for obtaining desired concentration of impurity and desired depth of the concentration of impurity. Zhang does not specifically disclose a range of energy, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implant the aluminum ions at an implant energy of at least about 80 keV in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,094,779), as applied to claim 20 above.
Regarding to claim 3, Brandt is silent about range of the damage. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to characterize the edge termination region by having a therma-wave unit (TWU) value of between about 5000 TWU and 50,000 TWU in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 19, Brandt is silent about range of damage ratio. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a ratio of a TWU value for the edge termination region relative to a TWU value for an un-implanted portion of the drift layer to be between about 50 and 400 in order to increase breakdown voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-8680587-B2, US-6673662-B2, US-7800196-B2, US-9006748-B2, US-10868122-B2, US-3640811-A, US-9991399-B2, and US-10756200-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references disclose the limitations of the independent claims and limitations of some dependent claims, however, fail to disclose “the electrically active ions comprise aluminum ions, wherein the aluminum ions are implanted with a dose of l.5E15 cm-2.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897