Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I Subspecies B in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II and/or III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/07/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY PANEL HAVING CONDUCTIVE PATTERN WITH INCLINED PORTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the second electrode contacts with the first electrode” in line 2 while the specification shows in Fig. 6A the second electrode CE contacting an unlabeled portion of the layer in which the first electrode AE is included, if the first and second electrode themselves were in contact the emitting layer EL would be shorted so as to not function properly so that it is unclear if such a connection I specifically meant to be required or for example it is only required that “the second electrode contacts with a layer in which the first electrode is formed for purposes of examination either interpretation will be considered valid.
Regarding claim 3, the claims are dependent on and require all the limitations of claim 2 and are therefore rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et. Al. (US 20220115490 A1 hereinafter Moon) and further in view of Kimura (US 20070139571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches in Figs. 1-4B with associated text a display panel comprising: a base layer 100 on which a display region DA and a peripheral region SA are defined (Figs. 1-2, [0060]-[0061]); a transistor disposed on the base layer, wherein the transistor includes a semiconductor pattern AP overlapping the display region (Fig. 2, [0068]) and a control electrode GE overlapping the semiconductor pattern (Fig. 2, [0065]); a first connecting electrode DP disposed on the semiconductor pattern and connected to the semiconductor pattern (Fig. 2, [0073]); a second connecting electrode CE disposed on the first connecting electrode and connected to the first connecting electrode (Fig. 2, [0116]); a light emitting element 200 including a first electrode EL1 overlapping the display region and connected to the second connecting electrode (Fig. 2, [0078]), a second electrode EL2 disposed over the first electrode (Fig. 2, [0078]), and an emission pattern OL disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 2, [0078]); an encapsulation layer (210 and/or material between 200 and 210) covering the light emitting element (Fig. 2, [0085] and [0087]); a first pattern (WP2 and/or TP2) disposed in a same layer as the first connecting electrode (Figs. 2-4B, [0097]); and a second pattern (WP1 and/or TP1) disposed in a same layer as the second connecting electrode (Figs. 2-4B, [0097]), wherein the second pattern overlaps the peripheral region and covers an end of the first pattern disposed away from the display region (Figs. 3-4B. [0093]), wherein the end of the first pattern includes an inclined portion (Figs. 4A-4B) inclined at a predetermined angle (Figs. 4A-4B)..
Moon does not specify the inclined portion is inclined at a predetermined angle
Kimura discloses in Fig. 4B with associated text an inclined portion similar to that of Moon inclined at a predetermined angle [0077]-[0078]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the inclined portion is inclined at a predetermined angle as taught by Kimura because according to Kimura by using such a structure the metal films 17d and 18d each having inclined sides are formed, rubbing can be conducted smoothly from either direction and becomes further effective, furthermore even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Because Moon teaches a structure that is the same as are obvious from the claimed inclined portion, the process limitations inclined at a predetermined angle in claim 1, do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 4, Moon teaches the first connecting electrode and the first pattern include a same material as each other ([0097]), and wherein the second connecting electrode and the second pattern include a same material as each other ([0097]).
Regarding claim 5, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the first pattern includes a first conductive layer 91a (Kimura Fig. 4B), a second conductive layer 92a, and a third conductive layer 93a sequentially stacked one on another (Kimura Fig. 4B), wherein the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer include a same material as each other [0075], and wherein the inclined portion is defined by the second conductive layer (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Moon in view of Kimura teaches an end of the first conductive layer is farther away from the display region than an end of the third conductive layer is (by using the inclined structure of Kimura for the inclined portion of Moon an end of the first conductive layer is farther away from the display region than an end of the third conductive layer Kimura Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Moon in view of Kimura teaches on a cross-section, the inclined portion is concave toward the base layer (Kimura Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 11, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer include titanium, wherein the second conductive layer includes aluminum (Kimura [0075]), and wherein the second conductive layer has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first conductive layer and a thickness of the third conductive layer (Kimura Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 19, Moon teaches the display region includes long sides and short sides which cross each other, wherein points where the long sides and the short sides meet are defined as corners (corners of DA), and wherein the first pattern and the second pattern contact with each other in corner areas of the peripheral region adjacent to the corners (PBL1 where the first and second patterns contact extends to a position adjacent the corners Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the display panel of claim 1.
Moon does not specify the inclined portion has a width in a range of about 6 μm to about 15 μm however Kimura does teach optimizing the angle of the inclined portion (Fig. 4B, [0076]) so that for a given thickness a width of the inclined portion would effectively be adjusted.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the width with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Claims 2-3, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Kimura as applies to claim 1 and further in view of Song et. Al. (US 20210119178 A1 hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 2, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the display panel of claim 1.
Moon does not specify the peripheral region, the second electrode contacts with the first electrode, and wherein in the peripheral region, the first electrode contacts with the second pattern however Moon does teach first and second patterns are electrically connected to the second electrode ([0057]).
Song discloses in Figs. 7 with associated text a peripheral region PA, a second electrode (223 of Song) contacts with the first electrode 160 (Fig. 7, [0154]), and wherein in the peripheral region, the first electrode contacts with a second pattern 150 ([0150])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the structure of Song to make the electrical connection of Moon because according to Song The second conductive layer 160 may contact with the second electrode 223 and thus the second power supply voltage ELVSS supplied from the power supply line 170 may be supplied to the second electrode 223. Therefore, the drop of the second power supply voltage ELVSS may be reduced ([0140]) so as to reduce voltage loss in the connection of Moon.
Regarding claim 3, Moon in view of Kimura and Song teaches the light emitting element receives a power voltage through the first pattern and the second pattern ([0057] of Moon or [0150] pf Song)).
Regarding claim 12, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein in the peripheral region, the second electrode (223 of Song) contacts with the first electrode 160 (Fig. 7, [0154]), and wherein in the peripheral region, the first electrode contacts with the second pattern 150 ([0150])..
Moon does not specify the encapsulation layer includes a first inorganic layer covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer disposed over the first inorganic layer, and an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer, and wherein the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer contact with each other in the peripheral region and cover the second pattern however Moon does teach an encapsulation layer with inorganic and organic layers ([0087]).
Song discloses in Figs. 7 with associated text an encapsulation layer includes a first inorganic layer 310 covering the light emitting element, a second inorganic layer 330 disposed over the first inorganic layer, and an organic layer 320 disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer (Fig. 7, [0141]), and wherein the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer contact with each other in the peripheral region PA and cover the second pattern 150.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the structure of Song such a structure is useful so that the display panel 10 is protected from foreign substances, moisture, or the like ([0141]) and so would be useful to protect the device of Moon.
Regarding claim 13, Moon in view of Kimura and Song teaches the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer contact with each other in a region overlapping the inclined portion (end or 170 Song Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Moon in view of Kimura and Song a buffer layer (110 of Moon) disposed on the base layer, wherein the buffer layer is disposed between the base layer and the semiconductor pattern (Moon Fig. 2); a first insulating layer 120 disposed on the buffer layer, wherein the first insulating layer is disposed between the buffer layer and the control electrode (Fig. 2); a second insulating layer 130 disposed on the first insulating layer (Fig. 2); a third insulating layer 140 disposed on the second insulating layer, wherein the third insulating layer is disposed between the second insulating layer and the first connecting electrode (Fig. 2); a fourth insulating layer 150 disposed on the third insulating layer, wherein the fourth insulating layer is disposed between the third insulating layer and the second connecting electrode (Fig. 2); a fifth insulating layer 160 disposed on the fourth insulating layer, wherein the fifth insulating layer is disposed between the fourth insulating layer and the first electrode (Fig. 2); a pixel defining layer PXL disposed on the fifth insulating layer, wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with an opening defined therein to expose at least a portion of the first electrode (Fig. 2); a first dam part (inner 180 of Song Fig. 7) overlapping the peripheral region, wherein the first dam part includes a same material as at least one selected from the first to fifth insulating layers (Fig. 7, [0144] of Song); and a second dam part (outer 180 of Song Fig. 7) disposed farther away from the display region than the first dam part is, wherein the second dam part includes a same material as at least one selected from the first to fifth insulating layers (Fig. 7, [0144]).
Regarding claim 15, Moon in view of Kimura and Song teaches the end of the first pattern is disposed between the first dam part and the second dam part (Song Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Moon in view of Kimura and Song teaches a boundary of the organic layer is defined by one of the first dam part and the second dam part (Song [0145]).
Regarding claim 18, Moon teaches the first connecting electrode is connected to the semiconductor pattern through a first contact hole defined in the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer (Fig. 2), wherein the second connecting electrode is connected to the first connecting electrode through a second contact hole defined in the fourth insulating layer (Fig. 2), and wherein the first electrode is connected to the second connecting electrode through a third contact hole defined in the fifth insulating layer (Fig. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Kimura and further in view of Kim (US 20210193786 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Moon in view of Kimura teaches the display panel of claim 5, wherein an end of the first conductive layer further protrudes in a direction away from the display region than an end of a lower surface of the second conductive layer does (Kimura Fig. 4B).
Moon does not specify an end of the third conductive layer further protrudes in the direction away from the display region than an end of an upper surface of the second conductive layer does.
Kim discloses in Fig. 10B with associated text a display panel similar to that of Moon in view of Kimura wherein an end of a third conductive layer 308’-2 further protrudes in the direction away from the display region than an end of an upper surface of the second conductive layer 308’-3 does (Fig. 10B, [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the structure taught by Kim for that conductive layers of Moon in view of Kimura because according to Kim by using such a structure a seam can be prevented from occurring in the encapsulation layer ([0105])
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Kimura and Song as applied to claim 14 and further in view of Zhang et. Al. (US 20240188391 A1 hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 17, Moon in view of Kimura and Song teaches the display panel of claim 14.
Moon does not specify a third dam part disposed on the first insulating layer overlapping the peripheral region, wherein the third dam part is disposed farther away from the display region than the second dam part is, and the third dam part includes a same material as at least one selected from the first to fifth insulating layers.
Zhang discloses in Figs. 21b with associated text a third dam part 400 disposed on a first insulating layer 12 overlapping a peripheral region (302 and 303), wherein the third dam part is disposed farther away from the display region 301 than the second dam part 420 is, and the third dam part includes a same material as at least one selected from the first to fifth insulating layers 15 (Fig. 21b, [0156])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the third dam of Zhang in the device of Moon in view of Kimura and Song because according to Zhang the edge of the side of the power supply line 50 away from the display region is covered by the crack dam 400, the edge of the side of the first connection electrode 51 away from the display region is covered by the second dam foundation 402, and the edge of the side of the second connection electrode 52 away from the display region is covered by the third dam foundation 403, which may effectively prevent peeling failure of edges of conductive layers ([0263]) so such a structure would be useful to prevent peeling the in display of Moon in view of Kimura and Song.
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897