DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
Pursuant to the election without traverse on July 13, 2026, non-elected claims 7-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figuet, US 2026/0209990 A1, in view of Cheng, US 2020/0373206 A1.
Claim 1: Figuet discloses
and source/drain (S/D) regions (Dop, FIG. 8) disposed over the substrate at opposite sides of the gate structure and connecting the plurality of channel layers, wherein a material of the S/D regions comprises a high thermal conductivity material with a single crystal structure (boron arsenide (BAs)).
Chiang discloses
a substrate (106);
a plurality of channel layers (120) stacked over the substrate;
a gate structure (112) wrapping the plurality of channel layers.
Figuet shows that it was known in the art to have a boron arsenide-source/drain transistor. Cheng discloses that the stacked channels with wrapped gates (e.g. gate-all-around transistors) were known in the art. It would have been obvious to have used the a GAA device such as Cheng in the device of Figuet in order to allow for smaller devices (Cheng [0002]). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have used boron arsenide in Cheng in order to improve the heat dissipation and reliability ([0003]).
Claim 2: the high thermal conductivity material comprises boron arsenide (BAs) with a thermal conductivity greater than 1000 W/mK (Figuet ([0005]).
Claim 4: the S/D regions is free of silicon or silicon-containing material (boron arsenide).
Claim 5: Cheng discloses a plurality of inner spacers (Cheng 113) respectively disposed between the S/D regions and the gate structure (Cheng FIG. 1C).
Claim 6: in Cheng, the gate structure comprises:
an interface layer (127) wrapping the plurality of channel layers;
a gate dielectric layer (128) overlying the interface layer;
a work function metal layer (130) overlying the gate dielectric layer;
and a gate electrode (135) overlying the work function metal layer.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figuet in view of Cheng and Hu, US 2021/0035885 A1. Figuet does not disclose that the boron arsenide has a cubic structure. However, Hu discloses the formation of semiconductor devices in boron arsenide ([0027]) and the structure can be cubic ([0049]). It would have been obvious to have used this structure of boron arsenide as known for the formation of semiconductor devices.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897