CTNF 18/432,301 CTNF 84260 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: DISPLAY PANEL COMPRISING A FLAT DISPLAY AREA AND A BENDING DISPLAY AREA AND ELECTRONIC APPARATUS COMPRISING SAME . Election/Restriction 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim s 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II (Claim 14) and Species III (15-20) , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 . Claim Objections The applicant has not presented a 37 CFR 1.121(c) compliant version of the claims relative to the restriction election of 5/22/2026. The claims are, therefore, being objected to. Claim Status Claims 1-13 are currently being examined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al (US 2023/0026482 A1, hereafter Wang) in view XU et al (US 2021/0376003 A1, hereafter Xu) . Re claim 1, Wang discloses in FIGS. 1-3 a display panel (OLED panel; [0058]) comprising: a display area (102; [0060]) comprising a flat display area (1; [0060]), and a bending display area (22; [0062]) bending ([0062]) outside (at 12; [0062]) the flat display area (1); a peripheral area (interface of 102/103; [0059]) outside (beyond) the display area (102); and emission areas (of unseen pixels of 1 and 22; [0066]) in the flat display area (1) and in the bending display area (22). Wang fails to disclose a substrate comprising the emission areas (of unseen pixels of 1 and 22) in the flat display area (1) and in the bending display area (22), and a transmission area between adjacent ones of the emission areas (of unseen pixels of 22) in the bending display area (22); a pixel circuit layer on the substrate, and comprising a pixel circuit; a light-emitting diode comprising a first electrode on the pixel circuit layer, an emission layer on the first electrode, and a second electrode on the emission layer; a bank layer covering an edge of the first electrode, defining a first bank opening portion overlapping the first electrode, and defining a second bank opening portion corresponding to the transmission area; and a light-blocking layer on the bank layer, and defining a transmissive opening portion corresponding to the transmission area, wherein a central point of the transmissive opening portion of the light-blocking layer is closer to the flat display area than a central point of the second bank opening portion. However, Xu discloses in FIG. 23 a display panel ([0138]) comprising: a substrate (10; [0139]) comprising emission areas (of R/G sub-pixels; [0138]) in a display area (region of R/G/B sub-pixels; [0138]), and a transmission area (at K1; [0144]) between adjacent (side-by-side) ones (R/G) of the emission areas (of R/G sub-pixels); a pixel circuit layer (401; [0138]) on the substrate (10), and comprising a pixel circuit (1 st TFT; [0140]); a light-emitting diode (20/23/24 of R sub-pixel; [0139]) comprising a first electrode (20; [0139]) on the pixel circuit layer (1 st TFT), an emission layer (23; [0139]) on the first electrode (20), and a second electrode (24; [0139]) on the emission layer (23); a bank layer (21; [0139]) covering an edge (undersides of left/right ends) of the first electrode (20), defining a first bank opening portion (opening 20 of R sub-pixel) overlapping the first electrode (20), and defining a second bank opening portion (K1) corresponding to the transmission area (at K1); and a light-blocking layer (left/right BM 30; [0141]) on the bank layer (21), and defining a transmissive opening portion (K2; [0141]) corresponding to the transmission area (at K1), wherein a central point ( see CP2 in inserted figure below ) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) of the light-blocking layer (left/right BM 30) is closer to the emission area (R sub-pixel) of one of the emission areas (of R/G sub-pixels) between adjacent (side-by-side) ones (R/G) of the emission areas (of R/G sub-pixels) than a central point ( see CP1 in inserted figure below ) of the second bank opening portion (K1). PNG media_image1.png 916 924 media_image1.png Greyscale For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 23 of Xu) depicts the central points (CP1/CP2) of the second bank opening portion (K1) and the transmissive opening portion (K2) of the light-blocking layer (left/right BM 30), respectively, a first virtual line (FVL) crossing (coincident) with CP1, and first and second distances (D1/D2) relative the first virtual line (FVL). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Wang by using the pixel arrangement of Xu, arranging (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.) the pixels of the bending display area (22) of Wang such that the R sub-pixel is closer to the flat display area (1), such that substrate comprises the emission areas (of unseen pixels of 1 and 22) in the flat display area (1) and in the bending display area (22), and a transmission area between adjacent ones of the emission areas (of unseen pixels of 22) in the bending display area (22); the pixel circuit layer on the substrate, and comprising the pixel circuit; the light-emitting diode comprising the first electrode on the pixel circuit layer, the emission layer on the first electrode, and the second electrode on the emission layer; the bank layer covering the edge of the first electrode, defining the first bank opening portion overlapping the first electrode, and defining the second bank opening portion corresponding to the transmission area; and the light-blocking layer on the bank layer, and defining the transmissive opening portion corresponding to the transmission area, wherein a central point of the transmissive opening portion of the light-blocking layer is closer to the flat display area than a central point of the second bank opening portion, as claimed, and adding the photodetector of Xu to the bending display area (22), providing fingerprint identification capability (Xu; [0137] and [0147]) to the bending display area (22). Re claim 2, Wang discloses the display panel of claim 1. But, fails to disclose wherein the transmissive opening portion is defined by a sidewall of the light-blocking layer comprising a first sidewall and a second sidewall, the first sidewall being adjacent to the flat display area based on a first virtual central line crossing the central point of the second bank opening portion, and the second sidewall being adjacent to the peripheral area based on the first virtual central line, and wherein a first distance between the first sidewall and the first virtual central line is greater than a second distance between the second sidewall and the first virtual central line. However, when Wang is modified by as discussed above for claim 1, the transmissive opening portion (K2) would be defined by a sidewall (left/right inner sides) of the light-blocking layer (BM 30) comprising a first sidewall (left inner side) and a second sidewall (right inner side), the first sidewall being adjacent to the flat display area (1) based on a first virtual central line ( see FVL coincident with CP1 in inserted figure above ) crossing the central point of the second bank opening portion (K1), and the second sidewall being adjacent (closer) to the peripheral area (interface of 102/103) based on the first virtual central line, and wherein a first distance ( see D1 in inserted figure above ) between the first sidewall and the first virtual central line is greater than a second distance ( see D2 in inserted figure above ) between the second sidewall and the first virtual central line, as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. Re claims 3-4, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 2. But, fail to disclose wherein a partial area (right inner side) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps (covers) the second bank opening portion (K1); and wherein an entire area (lowermost portion of right inner side in cross-section) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps the second bank opening portion (K1). However, Xu discloses in the embodiment of FIG. 2 ([0075]) wherein a partial area (left inner side) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps (covers) the second bank opening portion (K1), in the embodiment of FIG. 3 ([0076]) wherein an entire area (lateral width in cross-section) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps a second opening portion (K1) below a bank (21), and discloses in an exemplary embodiment the aperture of the transmissive opening portion (K2) is smaller than the aperture of the second bank opening portion (K1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a configuration of Wang and Xu wherein a partial area (right inner side) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps (covers) the second bank opening portion (K1); and wherein an entire area (lowermost portion of right inner side in cross-section) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) overlaps the second bank opening portion (K1) to avoid a decrease of the imaging area (Xu; [0072]) of the photodetector of Xu providing the fingerprint identification capability, as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. Re claim 9, Wang discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the flat display area (1) comprises a first edge (at 12; [0062]), a second edge (at 11/13; [0062]), a third edge (at 11/13; [0062]), and a fourth edge (at 11/13; [0062]), wherein the bending display area (22) comprises a first side display area (at 12 of 22; [0062]), a second side display area (at 11/13; [0062]), a third side display area (at 11/13; [0062]), and a fourth side display area (at 11/13; [0062]) that are bent ([0062]) by respectively extending from the first edge (at 12), the second edge (at 11/13), the third edge (at 11/13), and the fourth edge (at 11/13). But, fails to disclose and wherein the transmission area is in the first side display area. However, the modification of the bending display area by Xu would result in the transmission area (at K1) being in the first side display area (at 12 of 22), as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. Re claim 10, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein a size (lateral extension of upper region) of the transmissive opening portion (K2) is greater than a size (lateral extension of lower region) of the second bank opening portion (K1), as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. Re claim 11, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 1. But, fail to explicitly wherein a size of the transmissive opening portion (K2) is less than a size of the second bank opening portion (K1) in the embodiment of FIG. 23 of Xu. However, Xu discloses in an exemplary embodiment the aperture of the transmissive opening portion (K2) is smaller than the aperture of the second bank opening portion (K1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a configuration of Wang and Xu wherein a size of the transmissive opening portion (K2) is less than a size of the second bank opening portion (K1) to avoid a decrease of the imaging area (Xu; [0072]) of the photodetector of Xu providing the fingerprint identification capability, as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. Re claim 13, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 1, further comprising color filters (Xu: 31; [0141]) in a first opening (of BM 30 for each color; [0141]), a second opening (of BM 30 for each color; [0141]), and a third opening (of BM 30 for each color; [0141]) overlapping the emission areas (of unseen pixels of 22 modified by Xu) and defined by the light-blocking layer (BM 30) ), as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Xu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of CAO et al (US 2022/0080697 A1, hereafter Cao) and Park et al (US 2021/0384465 A1, hereafter Park) . Re claim 5, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 2, wherein the bending display area (22) comprises a first bending area (all of 22) adjacent to the flat display area (1), as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 1. But, fail to disclose wherein the bending display area (22) comprises a second bending area outside the first bending area (22), and wherein a difference between the first distance (D1) and the second distance (D2) is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area. However, A . Cao discloses in FIGS. 1 and 8 a display panel comprising: wherein a bending display area (11; [0043]-[0044]) comprises a first bending area (130a; [0084]) adjacent to a flat display area (10; [0084]), and a second bending area (130b; [0084]) outside (beyond) the first bending area (130a). And, B. Par discloses in FIG. 2C a display panel comprising: wherein a width (curved section) of a first bending area (MDA; [0113]) adjacent to a flat display area (FDA; [0113]) is less than a width (curved section) of a second bending area (CDA; [0113]) outside (beyond) the first bending area (MDA). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Wang and Xu by using first and second bending areas of Cao with the bending display area of Wang, rearranging (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.) the first and second bending areas according to Park, such that the bending display area (22) comprises a second bending area outside the first bending area for stretchability and compressibility, alleviating wrinkling of the bending display area (Cao; [0086]), and width scaled such that a difference between the first distance (D1) and the second distance (D2) is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area, enhancing image aesthetics of the second bending area outside the first bending area (Park; [0113]). Re claim 6, Wang and Xu and Cao and Park disclose the display panel of claim 2, wherein the bending display area (22) comprises a first bending area ( see claim 5 ), and a second bending area ( see claim 5 ) outside the first bending area ( see claim 5 ), as part of the modification of the bending display area (22) discussed for claim 5. But, fail to disclose and a third bending area outside the second bending area, and wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area, and is greater in the third bending area than in the second bending area. However, these limitations would be rendered obvious by a duplication of parts (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.) creating a third bending area outside the second bending area, and scaled accordingly upward relative to the second bending area, such that the third bending area outside the second bending area, and wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area, and is greater in the third bending area than in the second bending area, further expanding the alleviating of wrinkling and image enhancement of the bending display area discussed for claim 5 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JANG et al (US 20210098556 A1, hereafter Jang) . Re claim 7, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 1. But, fail to discloses wherein the pixel circuit layer (401) further comprises lines comprising a first line and a second line, the first line being adjacent to the transmission area (at K1) in a direction away from a first virtual central line crossing the central point (CP1) of the second bank opening portion (K1) toward the flat display area (1), and the second line being adjacent to the transmission area (at K1) in a direction away from the first virtual central line (FVL) toward the peripheral area (interface of 102/103), and wherein a third distance between the first virtual central line (FVL) and the first line is less than a fourth distance between the first virtual central line (FRL) and the second line. However, Jang discloses in FIG. 13 (with references to FIGS. 6 and 11a) a display panel comprising: wherein a pixel circuit layer (left side/right side PC; [0122] and [0191]) further comprises lines (left side/right side DWL; [0071]) comprising a first line (lower left side rightmost DWL; see 1 st in inserted figure below ) and a second line (lower right side rightmost DWL; see 2 nd in inserted figure below ), the first line being adjacent to a transmission area (A1; [0192) in a direction away from (left of) a first virtual central line (CPL; [0149]) crossing a central point (middle of H6 at CPL) of a second bank opening portion (H6; [0193), and the second line being adjacent to the transmission area (A1) in another direction away (right of) from the first virtual central line (CPL), and wherein a third distance (D3; see inserted figure below ) between the first virtual central line (CPL) and the first line (1 st ) is less than a fourth distance (D4; see inserted figure below ) between the first virtual central line (CPL) and the second line (2 nd ). PNG media_image2.png 713 840 media_image2.png Greyscale For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 13 of Jang) depicts first and second lines (1 st /2 nd ) and their respective third and fourth distances (D3/D4) from first virtual line (CPL). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Wang and Xu by modifying the pixel circuit layer of Xu into the pixel circuit layer of Jang, such that when coupled with Wang and Xu, the pixel circuit layer (401) further comprises lines comprising a first line and a second line, the first line being adjacent to the transmission area (at K1) in a direction away from a first virtual central line crossing the central point (CP1) of the second bank opening portion (K1) toward the flat display area (1), and the second line being adjacent to the transmission area (at K1) in a direction away from the first virtual central line (FVL) toward the peripheral area (interface of 102/103), and wherein a third distance between the first virtual central line (FVL) and the first line is less than a fourth distance between the first virtual central line (FRL) and the second line, creating a fingerprint detection system outside the pixel circuit layer as an alternative means for achieving the expected results recognizing fingerprints (Jang; [0050]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Xu and Jang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Cao and Park . Re claim 8, Wang and Xu and Jang disclose the display panel of claim 7. But, fail to disclose wherein the bending display area comprises a first bending area adjacent to the flat display area, and a second bending area outside the first bending area, and wherein a difference between the fourth distance and the third distance is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area. However, Cao and Park a first bending area adjacent to the flat display area, and a second bending area outside the first bending area as discussed for claim 5, such that when the third and fourth distances of Jang are width scaled accordingly as discussed for claim 5, it would be obvious that a difference between the fourth distance and the third distance is greater in the second bending area than in the first bending area, as part of the alternative fingerprint structure discussed for claim 7 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Xu and Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHO et al (US 2023/0142681 A1, hereafter Cho) . Re claim 12, Wang and Xu disclose the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an input-sensing layer (Xu: 402; [0139]) between the bank layer (21) and the light-blocking layer (BM 30), and comprising touch electrodes (26/28; [0108]). But, fail to disclose touch electrodes (26/28) comprising a conductive mesh pattern defining mesh holes, wherein one of the emission areas in the bending display area and the transmission area are in a same mesh hole. However, Cho discloses in FIG. 14 a display panel comprising: touch electrodes (TSM; [0306]) comprising a conductive mesh pattern ([0306]) defining mesh holes (regions around TA1 and EA), wherein at least one emission area (of EA of R/G/B SP; [0110]) and a transmission area (TA1; [0307]) are in a same mesh hole (any hole in OA1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Wang and Xu by using the conductive mesh pattern of Cho for the touch electrodes of Cho, with an arrangement of the touch electrodes (26/28) comprising a conductive mesh pattern defining mesh holes, wherein one of the emission areas in the bending display area and the transmission area are in a same mesh hole, facilitating touch sensing in the transmission area, and thereby, a decrease in luminous efficiency and a decrease in transmittance in the transmission area can be prevented or at least reduced (Cho; [0307]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC W JONES whose telephone number is (408) 918-9765. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, N. Drew Richards can be reached at (571) 272-1736. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 2 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 3 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 4 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 5 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 6 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 7 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 8 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 9 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 10 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 11 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 12 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 13 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 14 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 15 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/432,301 Page 16 Art Unit: 2892