DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 07/17/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Applicant made a provisional election without traverse to prosecute the
invention of Group II, claims 1-16, is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected group there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant has the right to file a divisional application covering the subject matter of the non-elected claims.
Acknowledges
2. Receipt is acknowledged of the following items from the Applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/02/2025. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Applicant is requested to cite any relevant prior art if being aware on form PTO-1449 in accordance with the guidelines set for in M.P.E.P. 609.
Specification
3. The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 2, limitation “a film over the substrate” is not clearly defined since at line 1 of the same claim, “a film over a substrate” is also defined. It is unclear whether “a film” at line 1 and that at line 2 are the same or different film.
Since the claim does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regards as the Applicant’s invention, the claims is therefore indefinite.
Claims 2-10 are also indefinite as they depend upon claim 1.
For purpose of performing the search, it is presumed that they are the same film.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
7. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More (US 2023/0352593) in view of Peng et al. (US 10,950,731).
Regarding claim 1, More discloses a method of forming a film 815 (Fig. 8C) over a substrate 205, comprising:
depositing said film 815 over the substrate 205, wherein the substrate 205 comprises a trench 805 (Fig. 8B) and a channel 810 or 810 & 310 (Fig. 8B, or a channel in which layers 310 are located) into a sidewall of the trench 805, and wherein the film 815 flows into the channel 810 and is disposed along the sidewall of the trench 805 (Fig. 8C).
More fails to disclose:
treating the film with a bias plasma treatment to solidify a portion of the film outside of the channel.
Peng discloses:
A method of forming a film 228 (see Fig. 7C) over a substrate 202 (Fig. 2B), comprising:
treating the film 228 with a bias plasma treatment 500 to solidify a portion of the film outside of a channel 226 or 226 & 206 (Fig. 5). See col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of More to further comprise the step of treating the film with a bias plasma treatment, as that taught by Peng, in order to strengthen the inner spacer, and/or to remove residual gas in the porous inner spacer layer, thereby to increase the performance of the obtained structure. See col. 12, lines 6-24 of Peng.
Regarding claim 2, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the film 815 is disposed over the substrate 205 with a flowable chemical vapor deposition (FCVD) process. See para. 0109 of More.
Regarding claim 3, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the film comprises one or more of: silicon and oxygen; silicon, oxygen, and carbon; or silicon, oxygen, carbon, and nitrogen. See para. 0109 of More.
Regarding claim 4, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the channel 810 or 810 & 310 is a horizontal channel that extends in a direction that is substantially orthogonal to the sidewall of the trench 805 of More.
Regarding claim 5, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the bias plasma treatment 500 comprises a use of ions comprising one or more of He, Ar, N2, NH3, 02, or H2. See Fig. 7C, and col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24 of Peng.
Regarding claim 6, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the bias plasma treatment is a pulsed treatment. See col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24, and col. 16, line 51 – col. 17, line 36 of Peng.
Regarding claim 7, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a second portion of the film within the channel is seamless. See Fig. 8C of More.
Regarding claim 8, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises a nano-sheet structure or a nano-wire structure. See Fig. 8C of More.
Regarding claim 9, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, comprising all claimed limitations, as discussed above, except for wherein the substrate comprises a three dimensional memory structure.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made that the method taught by More/Peng can be used in forming various semiconductor structures, including a three dimensional memory structure, since this is just a mere application of the method, and it would involve only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 1, comprising all claimed limitations, as discussed above, except for further comprising:
repeating operations of disposing the film and treating the film two or more times.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made that this is just a matter of strengthening/thickening the film, and it would involve only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, More discloses a method, comprising:
depositing a film 815 (Fig. 8C) over a substrate 205, wherein the substrate 205 comprises a first trench 805 (Figs. 8A-8C) with a first width and a second trench 805 with a second width that is adjacent to the first trench, and wherein a channel 810 or 810 & 310 (Fig. 8B, or a channel in which layers 310 are located) connects the first trench 805 to the second trench 805, and wherein the film 815 flows into the channel (at cavities 810, Figs. 8B, 8C) and is disposed along sidewalls of the first trench 805 and the second trench 805, and along a bottom surface of the first trench 805 and a bottom surface of the second trench 805, wherein a first thickness of the film 815 at the bottom surface of the first trench 805 is substantially equal to a second thickness of the film 815 at the bottom surface of the second trench 805.
More fails to disclose:
treating the film with a bias plasma treatment to solidify a portion of the film in the first trench and the second trench.
Peng discloses:
A method of forming a film 228 (see Fig. 7C) over a substrate 202 (Fig. 2B), comprising:
treating the film 228 with a bias plasma treatment 500 to solidify a portion of the film in a first trench 224 and a second trench 224 (Fig. 5). See col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of More to further comprise the step of treating the film with a bias plasma treatment, as that taught by Peng, in order to strengthen the inner spacer, and/or to remove residual gas in the porous inner spacer layer, thereby to increase the performance of the obtained structure. See col. 12, lines 6-24 of Peng.
Regarding claim 12, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the film 815 is deposited with a flowable chemical vapor deposition (FCVD) process. See para. 0109 of More.
Regarding claim 13, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the film comprises one or more of:
silicon and oxygen; silicon, oxygen, and carbon; or silicon, oxygen, carbon, and nitrogen. See para. 0109 of More.
Regarding claim 14, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a nano-sheet or nano-wire device is provided between the first trench and the second trench. See Fig. 8C of More.
Regarding claim 15, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 11, wherein an aspect ratio (depth:width) of the first trench is 5:1 or greater. See Fig. 8C of More.
Regarding claim 16, More/Peng discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the bias plasma treatment 500 comprises a use of ions comprising one or more of He, Ar, N2, NH3, 02, or H2. See Fig. 7C, and col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24 of Peng.
8. Claims 1, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 11,424,242) in view of Peng et al. (US 10,950,731).
Regarding claim 1, Ju discloses a method of forming a film 134 (Fig. 3E) over a substrate 100, comprising:
depositing the film 134 over the substrate 100, wherein the substrate comprises a trench 130 and a channel 132, 133 into a sidewall of the trench 130, and wherein the film 134 flows into the channel 132, 133 and is disposed along the sidewall of the trench 130.
Ju fails to disclose:
treating the film with a bias plasma treatment to solidify a portion of the film outside of the channel.
Peng discloses:
A method of forming a film 228 (see Fig. 7C) over a substrate 202 (Fig. 2B), comprising:
treating the film 228 with a bias plasma treatment 500 to solidify a portion of the film outside of a channel 226 or 226 & 206 (Fig. 5). See col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Ju to further comprise the step of treating the film with a bias plasma treatment, as that taught by Peng, in order to strengthen the inner spacer, and/or to remove residual gas in the porous inner spacer layer, thereby to increase the performance of the obtained structure. See col. 12, lines 6-24 of Peng.
Regarding claim 11, Ju discloses a method, comprising:
depositing a film 134 (Fig. 3E) over a substrate 100, wherein the substrate 100 comprises a first trench 130 with a first width and a second trench 130 with a second width that is adjacent to the first trench, and wherein a channel 132, 133 connects the first trench 130 to the second trench 130, and wherein the film 134 flows into the channel 132, 133 and is disposed along sidewalls of the first trench 130 and the second trench 130, and along a bottom surface of the first trench 130 and a bottom surface of the second trench 130; and
wherein a first thickness of the film 134 at the bottom surface of the first trench 130 is substantially equal to a second thickness of the film at the bottom surface of the second trench 130.
Ju fails to disclose:
treating the film with a bias plasma treatment to solidify a portion of the film in the first trench and the second trench.
Peng discloses:
A method of forming a film 228 (see Fig. 7C) over a substrate 202 (Fig. 2B), comprising:
treating the film 228 with a bias plasma treatment 500 to solidify a portion of the film in a first trench 224 and a second trench 224 (Fig. 5). See col. 11, line 64 – col. 12, line 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Ju to further comprise the step of treating the film with a bias plasma treatment, as that taught by Peng, in order to strengthen the inner spacer, and/or to remove residual gas in the porous inner spacer layer, thereby to increase the performance of the obtained structure. See col. 12, lines 6-24 of Peng.
Conclusion
9. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the day of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see M.P.E.P 710.02(b)).
A shortened time for reply may be extended up to the maximum six-month period (35 U.S.C. 133). An extension of time fee is normally required to be paid if the reply period is extended. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the length of the extension. Extensions of time are generally not available after an application has been allowed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/DAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 August 7, 2026