DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18433320 application filed February 5, 2024, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on June 18, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 11-12 and 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ko et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20170358450), hereinafter “Ko”:
--Claims 1, 4, 5, 11: Ko teaches a method for patterning (Fig. 18), comprisingforming a mandrel 720 on a substrate 712, the mandrel may comprise a resist, an amorphous carbon film or spin-on-carbon (Fig. 7A, [0049, 0064]);exposing the mandrel to a direct current superposition (DCS) plasma to deposit a protection layer on the mandrel ([0049]), wherein the protection layer may be a silicon layer that is sputtered from a silicon electrode ([0049, 0052, 0065]);performing a plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) to form a spacer layer on the mandrel, the PEALD comprises exposing the mandrel and the protection layer to an oxygen plasma to form a silicon oxide spacer layer on the mandrel ([0050-0051, 0066], Fig. 7B), wherein the silicon protection layer is oxidized during the first O2 plasma cycle of the PEALD ([0052, 0066]);removing a top horizontal portion and a bottom horizontal portion of the silicon oxide spacer layer, and the mandrel 720 to form spacers 768 by using a post spacer etch mandrel pull process by using a gas mixture comprising H2/Ar ([0050, 0067], Step 1816 in Fig. 18, Fig. 7C), wherein the spacers 768 may be used as a mask for pattern transfer ([0012, 0044]). It is noted that the amorphous carbon mandrel 720 reads on the organic mandrel, the protection layer reads on the silicon-based layer, and the silicon oxide spacer layer reads on the spacer layer recited in claim 1. Ko further teaches that the protection layer protects the mandrel during the PEALD step, and prevent spacer leaning problem ([0051-0052]). Thus, the protection layer hardens the mandrel. Although Ko fails to disclose that the protection layer remaining on a side of the silicon oxide spacer layer, since the silicon protection layer is oxidized during the first O2 plasma cycle of the PEALD to become silicon oxide, it becomes a part of the silicon oxide spacer layer. Since the vertical portion of the silicon oxide spacer layer remains as the spacers 768, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to perform the spacer etch mandrel pull process such that at least a portion of the silicon protection layer, which has been oxidized to become silicon oxide and a part of the silicon oxide spacer layer, remains on vertical sidewalls of the silicon oxide spacer layer.--Claims 6, 7: It is noted that the performing a plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition may be considered comprising a first period wherein the protection layer comprising silicon reacts with the oxygen plasma to form a first layer of silicon oxide, and a second period wherein the protection layer comprising silicon further reacts with the oxygen plasma to form a second layer of silicon oxide. It is noted that the first layer of silicon oxide reads on the silicon-based layer made of silicon dioxide recited in claim 6.--Claims 12, 15, 16: It is noted that the amorphous carbon mandrel 720 reads on the organic mandrel, the substrate 712 reads on the underlying layer, the protection layer reads on the protective layer, and the silicon oxide spacer layer reads on the spacer layer recited in claim 12.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Sandhu et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20090115064), hereinafter “Sandhu”.--Claim 2, 13: Ko teaches the invention as above. Ko further teaches that the post spacer etch mandrel pull process is known in the art, but is silent about the details of the post spacer etch mandrel pull process.Sandhu teaches a method of forming mandrel spacers that may be used as etch masks, comprising(i) forming a mandrel layer 130 on an underlying layer 122, then patterning the mandrel layer 130 by using photolithography to form a mandrel 131a (Fig. 2, 3B and 4B, [0048-0051]);(ii) forming a spacer layer 140 on the mandrel 131a (Fig. 5B, [0052-0054]);(iii) etching a portion of the spacer layer 140 to expose the mandrel 131a and the underlying layer 122, wherein a spacer portion 145 of the spacer layer 140 remains on the sidewall of the mandrel 131a (Fig. 6B, [0055);(iv) removing the mandrel 131a, wherein the spacer portion 145 remains on the underlying layer 122 (Fig. 7B, [0056]);(v) etching the underlying layer 122 by using the spacer portion 145 as a mask (Fig. 9, [0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the method taught by Sandhu, i.e. step (iv), as the post spacer etch mandrel pull process in the invention of Ko because Ko teaches that the spacer etch mandrel pull process forms mask by etching to remove a portion of the spacer layer in the structure shown in Fig. 7B but is silent about the details, and Sandhu teaches that such method would be effective.--Claims 3, 14: It is noted that the above reads on the steps recited in claims 3 and 14.
Claims 8-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lubomirsky et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20060033678), hereinafter “Lubomirsky”.--Claim 8: Ko teaches the invention as above. Ko further teaches that the DCS process may be performed in a plasma chamber ([0070-0072], Fig. 19), which can also operate as an RIE etch reactor ([0073, 0077]), and may be modified to perform deposition process and the spacer etch mandrel pull process ([0079]). Ko fails to teach the claimed feature that the forming the mandrel is performed in a first chamber, exposing the mandrel to the DCS plasma is performed in a second chamber, and forming the silicon oxide spacer layer is performed in a third chamber. Lubomirsky teaches that multiple processes may be performed simultaneously in a cluster tool comprising a plurality of process chambers, wherein a robot simultaneously insert and remove substrates to/from the plurality of processing chambers ([0077], Fig. 2), wherein each of the process chamber may be configured to perform ALD or CVD deposition, plasma etching, heat treatment, etc. ([0091, 0107, 0143, 0205]). Lubomirsky teaches that such cluster tool results in fewer defects compared to processing substrates in multiple processing systems ([0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to form the mandrel in a first chamber, expose the mandrel to the DCS plasma in a second chamber, and form the silicon oxide spacer layer in a third chamber in the cluster tool as taught by Lubomirsky because Lubomirsky teaches that this would advantageously enable processing multiple substrates simultaneously, and results in fewer defects compared to processing substrates in multiple processing systems.--Claims 9, 10: Since Ko teaches that a process chamber may be modified to perform DCS process, RIE etching process, deposition process and the spacer etch mandrel pull process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the mandrel and expose the mandrel to the DCS plasma in the same chamber and forming the silicon oxide spacer layer in a different chamber, or to perform each of the above processes in different chambers in order to provide manufacturing flexibility.
Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ko in view of Lubomirsky:--Claims 17, 18, 19: Ko teaches a method for patterning (Fig. 18), comprisingforming a mandrel 720 on a substrate 712, the mandrel may comprise a resist, an amorphous carbon film or spin-on-carbon (Fig. 7A, [0049, 0064]);exposing the mandrel to a direct current superposition (DCS) plasma to deposit a protection layer on the mandrel ([0049]), wherein the protection layer may be a silicon layer that is sputtered from a silicon electrode ([0049, 0052, 0065]);performing a plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) to form a spacer layer on the mandrel, the PEALD comprises exposing the mandrel and the protection layer to an oxygen plasma to form a silicon oxide spacer layer on the mandrel ([0050-0051, 0066], Fig. 7B), wherein the silicon protection layer is oxidized during the first O2 plasma cycle of the PEALD ([0052, 0066]);removing a top horizontal portion and a bottom horizontal portion of the silicon oxide spacer layer, and the mandrel 720 to form spacers 768 by using a post spacer etch mandrel pull process by using a gas mixture comprising H2/Ar ([0050, 0067], Step 1816 in Fig. 18, Fig. 7C), wherein the spacers 768 may be used as a mask for pattern transfer ([0012, 0044]). It is noted that the amorphous carbon mandrel 720 reads on the organic mandrel, the protection layer reads on the silicon-based layer, and the silicon oxide spacer layer reads on the spacer layer recited in claim 1. Ko further teaches that the protection layer protects the mandrel during the PEALD step, and prevent spacer leaning problem ([0051-0052]). Thus, the protection layer hardens the mandrel. Although Ko fails to disclose that the protection layer remaining on a side of the silicon oxide spacer layer, since the silicon protection layer is oxidized during the first O2 plasma cycle of the PEALD to become silicon oxide, it becomes a part of the silicon oxide spacer layer. Since the vertical portion of the silicon oxide spacer layer remains as the spacers 768, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to perform the spacer etch mandrel pull process such that at least a portion of the silicon protection layer, which has been oxidized to become silicon oxide and a part of the silicon oxide spacer layer, remains on vertical sidewalls of the silicon oxide spacer layer. Ko further teaches that the DCS process may be performed in a plasma chamber ([0070-0072], Fig. 19), which can also operate as an RIE etch reactor ([0073, 0077]), and may be modified to perform deposition process and the spacer etch mandrel pull process ([0079]). Ko fails to teach the claimed feature that the forming the mandrel is performed in a first chamber, exposing the mandrel to the DCS plasma is performed in a second chamber, and forming the silicon oxide spacer layer is performed in a third chamber. Lubomirsky teaches that multiple processes may be performed simultaneously in a cluster tool comprising a plurality of process chambers, wherein a robot simultaneously insert and remove substrates to/from the plurality of processing chambers ([0077], Fig. 2), wherein each of the process chamber may be configured to perform ALD or CVD deposition, plasma etching, heat treatment, etc. ([0091, 0107, 0143, 0205]). Lubomirsky teaches that such cluster tool results in fewer defects compared to processing substrates in multiple processing systems ([0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to form the mandrel in a first chamber, expose the mandrel to the DCS plasma in a second chamber, and form the silicon oxide spacer layer in a third chamber in the cluster tool as taught by Lubomirsky because Lubomirsky teaches that this would advantageously enable processing multiple substrates simultaneously, and results in fewer defects compared to processing substrates in multiple processing systems. Since Ko teaches that a process chamber may be modified to perform DCS process, RIE etching process, deposition process and the spacer etch mandrel pull process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the mandrel and expose the mandrel to the DCS plasma in the same chamber and forming the silicon oxide spacer layer in a different chamber, or to perform each of the above processes in different chambers in order to provide manufacturing flexibility.--Claim 20: It is noted that the performing the plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition may be considered comprising a first period wherein the protection layer comprising silicon reacts with the oxygen plasma to form a first layer of silicon oxide, and a second period wherein the protection layer comprising silicon further reacts with the oxygen plasma to form a second layer of silicon oxide. It is noted that the first layer of silicon oxide reads on the silicon-based layer made of silicon dioxide recited in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previously cited prior arts do not teach the amended feature, this arguments is not persuasive. Although Examiner stated during the interview filed 5/29/2026 that “although from a cursory check it appears that the prior arts do not explicitly disclose the proposed amendments, further consideration would be needed due to the time limitation during the interview since the amendments would substantially change the scope of the claim”, upon further consideration of the cited prior arts it has been found that Ko implies the amended feature, as explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713