DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on July 26th, 2026 is acknowledged. Non-elected claims 17-20 have been cancelled by the Applicant. Newly added claims 21-24 belong to Invention I.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising providing a semiconductor device to a load port of a manufacturing tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panda et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0214662) in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0150997).
In re claim 1, Panda discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing the semiconductor device (a substrate) to a load port 122 of a manufacturing tool 100 (see paragraphs [0021], [0022] and figs. 1-9); detecting a first value of a process parameter (i.e., temperature, gas flow rates, pressure) in a process chamber (106,108)) of the manufacturing tool 100 when the semiconductor device is over the load port 122 of the manufacturing tool 100 (see paragraph [0021] and figs. 1-9), and controlling the process parameter in the process chamber (106,108) to a target range (via flatform controller 120 and autonomous tool engine 121) (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and figs. 1-9); moving the semiconductor device away from the load port 122 and transferring (via robot arm 138) the semiconductor device from the load port 122 into the process chamber (106,108) (see paragraph [0024] and figs. 1-9).
Panda is silent to wherein after moving the semiconductor device away from the load port, performing a compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber of the manufacturing tool so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range.
However, Tsai discloses in a same field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device including, inter-alia, the steps of after moving the semiconductor device away from the load port, performing a compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber of the manufacturing tool (via an advanced process control (APC) unit 50) so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range (see paragraph [0019] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Tsai into the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device of Panda in order to enable the step of after moving the semiconductor device away from the load port, performing a compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber of the manufacturing tool so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range in Panda to be performed in order to ensure wafer characteristics are meeting the specified targets (see paragraph [0019] of Tsai). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is performed while the semiconductor device is being moved from the load port to a load lock of the manufacturing tool (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is performed when the semiconductor device is in a load lock of the manufacturing tool (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is performed while the semiconductor device is being moved away from a load lock of the manufacturing tool to the process chamber (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is performed after the semiconductor device is moved into the process chamber (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is predetermined (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the method further comprising: detecting a second value of the process parameter in the process chamber of the manufacturing tool when the semiconductor device is moved away from the load port, the compensation is based on the detected first value of the process parameter and the detected second value of the process parameter (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 8, Panda discloses a method of operating a semiconductor manufacturing tool 100, comprising: receiving a semiconductor device (substrate) in a load port 122 of the semiconductor manufacturing tool 100 (see paragraph [0022] and figs. 1-9); while the semiconductor device is received in the load port 122, detecting a process parameter (i.e., temperature, gas flow rates, pressure) in a process chamber (106,108) of the semiconductor manufacturing tool 100 and adjusting (via flatform controller 120 and autonomous tool engine 121) the process parameter in the process chamber to a target range (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and figs. 1-9), transferring (via robot arm 128) the semiconductor device away from the load port 122 and into the process chamber (106,108) (see paragraph [0024] and figs. 1-9).
Panda is silent to the step of after transferring the semiconductor device away from the load port, initiating a provision of a compensation for the process parameter so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range.
However, Tsai discloses in a same field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device including, inter-alia, the steps of after transferring the semiconductor device away from the load port, initiating a provision of a compensation for the process parameter (via an advanced process control (APC) unit 50) so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range (see paragraph [0019] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Tsai into the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device of Panda in order to enable the step of after transferring the semiconductor device away from the load port, initiating a provision of a compensation for the process parameter so that the process parameter in the process chamber reaches or approaches the target range in Panda to be performed in order to ensure wafer characteristics are meeting the specified targets (see paragraph [0019] of Tsai). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is initiated while an atmospheric transfer module (ATM) 126 of the semiconductor manufacturing tool 100 moves the semiconductor device (see paragraph [0023] and fig. 1 of Panda).
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is initiated while a vacuum transfer module (VTM) 101 of the semiconductor manufacturing tool 100 moves the semiconductor device (see paragraph [0024] and fig. 1 of Panda).
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is initiated when the semiconductor device is in a load lock of the semiconductor manufacturing tool (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is initiated when the semiconductor device is in the process chamber (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is programmable (see paragraph [0027] of Panda and paragraph [0031] of Tsai).
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the compensation is predetermined (see paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 15, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the method further comprising: monitoring the process chamber of the semiconductor manufacturing tool after transferring the semiconductor device away from the load port and before initiating the provision of the compensation for the process parameter (see paragraph [0024] and fig. 1 of Panda, maintaining a vacuum pressure environment).
In re claim 16, as applied to claim 8 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the provision of the compensation is controlled by an APC (advanced process control) unit 50 which is connected to the semiconductor manufacturing tool (see paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 21, Panda discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing the semiconductor device (substrate) to a load port 122 of a manufacturing tool 100 (see paragraph [0022] and figs. 1-9); in response to the semiconductor device being provided to the load port 122, detecting a value of a process parameter (i.e., temperature, gas flow rates, pressure) in a process chamber (106,108) of the manufacturing tool and controlling the process parameter to a target range while the semiconductor device is over the load port 122 (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and figs. 1-9); moving the semiconductor device away from the load port 122 and transferring (via robot arm 138) the semiconductor device from the load port 122 toward the process chamber (106,108) through a load lock (130a,130b) of the manufacturing tool (see paragraph [0024] and figs. 1-9).
Panda is silent to detecting, by an advanced process control (APC) unit connected to the manufacturing tool, a value of a process parameter in a process chamber of the manufacturing tool and controlling the process parameter to a target range while the semiconductor device is over the load port; and after the semiconductor device is moved away from the load port and while the semiconductor device is being transferred toward the process chamber, providing, by the APC unit, compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber so that the process parameter reaches or approaches the target range before the semiconductor device is moved into the process chamber.
However, Tsai discloses in a same field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, detecting, by an advanced process control (APC) unit 50 connected to the manufacturing tool 30, a value of a process parameter in a process chamber of the manufacturing tool 30 and controlling the process parameter to a target range while the semiconductor device is over the load port; and after the semiconductor device is moved away from the load port and while the semiconductor device is being transferred toward the process chamber, providing, by the APC unit 50, compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber so that the process parameter reaches or approaches the target range before the semiconductor device is moved into the process chamber (see paragraph [0019] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Tsai into the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device of Panda in order to enable detecting, by an advanced process control (APC) unit connected to the manufacturing tool, a value of a process parameter in a process chamber of the manufacturing tool and controlling the process parameter to a target range while the semiconductor device is over the load port; and after the semiconductor device is moved away from the load port and while the semiconductor device is being transferred toward the process chamber, providing, by the APC unit, compensation for the process parameter in the process chamber so that the process parameter reaches or approaches the target range before the semiconductor device is moved into the process chamber in Panda to be performed in order to ensure wafer characteristics are meeting the specified targets (see paragraph [0019] of Tsai). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the process parameter comprises at least one of a temperature, a pressure, and a gas flow rate in the process chamber, and wherein the value of the process parameter is detected by the APC unit that is triggered when the semiconductor device is provided to the load port (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 23, as applied to claim 21 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein providing the compensation comprises adjusting the process parameter to counteract a deviation of the process parameter from the target range that is caused by the process chamber becoming idle or undergoing a dry clean seasoning during a period after the semiconductor device is moved away from the load port and before the semiconductor device is moved into the process chamber (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
In re claim 24, as applied to claim 21 above, Panda in combination with Tsai discloses wherein the method further comprising: detecting, by the APC unit, a second value of the process parameter in the process chamber while the semiconductor device is being transferred from the load port toward the process chamber, wherein the compensation is determined based on both the value of the process parameter detected while the semiconductor device is over the load port and the second value (see paragraphs [0026], [0029] and fig. 1 of Panda and paragraph [0019] and fig. 1 of Tsai).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Clark et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0083070) discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, including inter-alia, one more transfer modules 222 for transferring workpieces (see paragraph [0108] and fig. 2).
Verbeke et al. (U.S. Pub. 2008/0145797) discloses a transfer chamber 102 is maintained at substantially atmospheric pressure during operation.
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892