DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to instant claim 1, line 4, it is suggested that Applicant delete “containing” and insert “comprising”.
In claim 2, line 2, it is suggested that Applicant delete “includes” and insert “comprises”.
In claim 3, line 2, it is suggested that Applicant delete “containing” and insert “comprising”.
In claim 3, line 3, it is suggested that Applicant delete “includes” and insert “comprises”.
In claim 3, line 3, it is suggested that Applicant delete “kind of”.
In claim 4, line 2, it is suggested that Applicant delete “contained” and insert “comprised”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueno et al (US2014/0087313).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Ueno et al teach a stripping solution for photolithography according to the present invention which contains (A) hydrofluoric acid, (B) a basic compound, and (C) water. A content of hydrofluoric acid in the stripping solution is preferably from 0.05 to 0.5% by mass, and more preferably from 0.08 to 0.32% by mass. See para. 29. A content of water in the stripping solution is preferably from 1.0 to 80% by mass, and more preferably from 15 to 40% by mass. See para. 49. In order to allow the stripping solution according to the present invention to have a pH measured at 23° C. of not more than 6.0 or 8.5 or more, it may contain a pH adjuster. The kind ofthe pH adjuster is not limited within the range where the object of the present invention is not impaired as long as it is able to adjust the pH of the stripping solution to a desired value, and it can be appropriately selected among a variety of conventionally known pH adjusters. Suitable pH adjusters include citric acid, etc. See para. 50-53. Specifically, Ueno et al teach a composition to containing 0.11% hydrofluoric acid, 0.05% diethylenetriamine, 0.1% citric acid, 25.2% water, and 74.8% NMP, wherein the composition has a pH of 5.7. Ueno et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Ueno et al anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamimura (US2019/0194580).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Kamimura teaches a treatment liquid is a treatment liquid for a semiconductor device, which contains a fluorine-containing compound and a water-soluble aromatic compound not having a heterocyclic group but having a benzene ring, and has a pH of 5 or less. See Abstract. Suitable fluorine compounds include HF, ammonium fluoride, etc., which may be used in amounts 0.01% to about 10% by weight. See para. 79-85. The treatment liquid of the embodiment of the present invention preferably contains a corrosion inhibitor. The corrosion inhibitor is a compound other than the water-soluble aromatic compound. See para. 107. Suitable corrosion inhibitors include citric acid, etc. See para. 106-111. A content of the corrosion inhibitor in the treatment liquid is preferably 0.01% to 5% by mass, more preferably 0.05% to 5% by mass, and still more preferably 0.1% to 3% by mass, with respect to the total mass of the treatment liquid. See para. 125. A content of the water in the treatment liquid is preferably 50% by mass or more, more preferably 50% to 99% by mass, and still more preferably 60% to 95% by mass, with respect to the total mass of the treatment liquid. See para. 178. Specifically, Kamimura teaches 1.2% HF, 1.0% phenylphosphonic acid, 2.0% citric, water, etc., wherein the pH of the composition is 4.5. See para. 407-410. Kamimura discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Kamimura anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 4 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura (US2019/0194580).
Kamimura is relied upon as set forth above. However, Kamimura does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing citric acid or hydrofluoric acid in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing citric acid or hydrofluoric acid in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Kamimura suggest a composition containing citric acid or hydrofluoric acid in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizutani (US2019/0119571).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Mizutani teaches an etching composition (e.g., an etching composition for selectively removing tantalum and/or tantalum nitride) that includes a) hydrofluoric acid (HF); b) at least one first solvent, the first solvent being a carboxylic acid; c) at least one oxidizing agent; and d) at least one complexing agent selected from the group consisting of polycarboxylic acids and hydroxycarboxylic acids. See para. 15. In some embodiments, the hydrofluoric acid is in an amount of at least about 0.1 wt % (e.g., at least about 0.2 wt %, at least about 0.4 wt %, at least about 0.5 wt %, at least about 0.6 wt %, at least about 0.8 wt %, at least about 1 wt %, at least about 1.2 wt %, at least about 1.4 wt %, or at least about 1.5 wt %) to at most about 5 wt % (e.g., at most about 4.5 wt %, at most about 4 wt %, at most about 3.5 wt %, at most about 3 wt %, at most about 2.5 wt %, or at most about 2 wt %) of the etching composition of this disclosure. See para. 16. Suitable complexing agents include citric acid, etc., which may be used from at least about 0.1% by weight (e.g., at least about 0.2% by weight, at least about 0.4% by weight, at least about 0.5% by weight, at least about 0.6% by weight, at least about 0.8% by weight, at least about 1% by weight, at least about 1.5% by weight, at least about 2% by weight, etc., up to 10% by weight. See paras. 21-25. In some embodiments, the etching composition of this disclosure can have a pH of at most about 1 (e.g., at most about 0.9. at most about 0.8. at most about 0.7. at most about 0.6, or at most about 0.5). See para. 30. Specifically, Mizutani teaches a composition containing 1.5% hydrofluoric acid, 0.1% citric acid, 2.29% water, etc. Mizutani discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Mizutani anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (US2019/0119571).
Mizutani is relied upon as set forth above. However, Mizutan does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing the specific amount of hydrofluoric acid as recited by the instant claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing hydrofluoric acid in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Kamimura suggest a composition containing hydrofluoric acid in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/January 7, 2016