DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed August 26, 2026, have been entered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 6/15/26 have been withdrawn:
The objection to claim 8 due to minor informalities has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2012/154498, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US2007/0161528).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Wu et al teach A residue cleaning composition includes: (a) water; (b) a fluoride; ( c) a pH buffer system including an organic acid and a base. The organic acid can be an aminoalkylsulfonic acid and/or an aminoalkylcarboxylic acid. The base can be an amine and/or a quaternary alkylammonium hydroxide. The composition is substantially free of an added organic solvent and has a pH ranging from about 5 to about 12. See Abstract. The composition optionally includes a corrosion inhibitor and other additives that are typically used in compositions for removing ashed photoresist and/or processing residue. See para. 22. Examples of suitable quaternary ammonium hydroxide compounds include tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH), tetraethylammonium hydroxide, tetrabutylammonium hydroxide (TBAH), tetrapropylammonium hydroxide, trimethylethylammonium hydroxide, etc. See para. 30. Suitable fluoride compounds include hydrofluoric acid, etc., which is present in amounts from 0.01% to 10% by weight. See para. 32. Preferably, water is present in amounts of about 50% by weight or greater, or about 65% by weight or greater, or about 82.5% by weight or greater. In certain embodiments, water constitutes 65-99.7 wt. % of the composition, or 82.5-98.8 wt. % of the composition. See para. 33. Suitable aminoalkylcarboxylic acids include glycine, alanine, etc. See paras. 26 and 27. Corrosion inhibitors may be used in amounts up to 15% by weight, or about 0.2 to about 10% by weight and include citric acid, etc. See para. 34. Suitable additives include one or more of the following additives: surfactants, chelating agents, chemical modifiers, dyes, biocides, and other additives. See para. 35.
Wu et al do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition having a pH of from 3 to 7, the composition containing hydrofluoric acid, a chelating agent, water, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition having a pH of from 3 to 7, the composition containing hydrofluoric acid, a chelating agent, water, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘498 suggest a composition having a pH of from 3 to 7, the composition, containing hydrofluoric acid, a chelating agent, water, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US2007/0161528) as applied to claims 1-6 and 8 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 2005/0081885).
Wu et al are relied upon as set forth above. However, Wu et al do not teach the use of trifluoroacetylacetone in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by the instant claims.
Zhang et al teach process solutions for the removal of processing residue from semiconductor substrates following CMP processing. See para. 7. The compositions may contain a chelating agent in amounts from 10 ppm to 5% by weight, wherein suitable chelating agents include trifluoroacetylacetone, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use trifluoroacetylacetone in the composition taught by Wu et al, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because Zhang et al teach the use of trifluoroacetylacetone as a chelating agent in a similar composition and further, Wu et al teach the use of chelating agents in general.
Response to Arguments
Note that, Applicant’s arguments are moot since all prior art rejection(s) set forth in the Office action mailed June 15, 2026, have been withdrawn and a new ground(s) of rejection has been made, as set forth above, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/September 18, 2026