DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 6/4/26 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 2/6/24 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 2/6/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by AHN et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2023/0050227).
Referring to figure 5-47, AHN et al. teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1);
a light control layer (370/350) on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer (321) on the light control layer, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers, wherein the plurality of inorganic layers comprises:
a first inorganic layer (321a) comprising silicon nitride (SiNx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216);
a second inorganic layer (321b) comprising silicon oxide (SiOx, xis an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216);
a third inorganic layer (321a) comprising silicon nitride (see paragraph# 216); and
a fourth inorganic layer (321b) comprising silicon oxide (see paragraph# 216), and wherein: each of the first inorganic layer and the third inorganic layer has a first refractive index; and each of the second inorganic layer and the fourth inorganic layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (see paragraphs# 215-216, figures 5, 7).
Regarding to claim 2, the first refractive index is about 1.80 to about 2.00 at a wavelength of about 550 nanometer (nm); and the second refractive index is about 1.40 to about 1.50 at a wavelength of about 550 nm (see paragraph# 112, 145-156).
Regarding to claim 5, the first inorganic layer, the second inorganic layer, the third inorganic layer, and the fourth inorganic layer are sequentially stacked (321a/321b, see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 6, the plurality of inorganic layers comprises a plurality of first inorganic layers and a plurality of second inorganic layers; and the plurality of first inorganic layers and the plurality of second inorganic layers are alternately stacked on each other (321a/321b, see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 7, the plurality of first inorganic layers (321a) comprises a (1-1)-th inorganic layer and a (1-2)-th inorganic layer; and the plurality of second inorganic layers (321b) comprises a (2-1)-th inorganic layer and a (2-2)-th inorganic layer, wherein the (1-1)-th inorganic layer, the (2-1)-th inorganic layer, the (1-2)-th inorganic layer, and the (2-2)-th inorganic layer are sequentially stacked (see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 8, an overcoat layer (323) between the light control layer (370/350) and the anti-reflection layer (321), wherein the anti-reflection layer is on an upper surface of the overcoat layer (see figure 5).
Regarding to claim 9, the first inorganic layer (321a) is directly on the overcoat layer; the second inorganic layer (321b) is directly on the first inorganic layer; and the third inorganic layer (321a) is directly on the second inorganic layer (see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 12, the plurality of inorganic layers (321) further comprises a fifth inorganic layer comprising silicon oxide; and the fifth inorganic layer, the first inorganic layer, the second inorganic layer, the third inorganic layer, and the fourth inorganic layer are sequentially stacked (see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 16, the display panel (1) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (ED1) configured to generate a first light; and
the light control layer (370/350) comprises:
a first light control unit (TA1) configured to transmit the first light;
a second light control unit (TA2) configured to convert the first light into a second light having a wavelength different from that of the first light; and
a third light control unit (TA3) configured to convert the first light into a third light having a wavelength different from each of those of the first light and the second light (see figure 5, paragraphs#145-156).
Regarding to claim 17, a reflectance of an upper surface of the anti-reflection layer is about 2% or less (321, the same material would provide the same reflectance).
Regarding to claim 18, a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1);
a light control layer (350/370) directly on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer (321) on the light control layer, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers, wherein the plurality of inorganic layers comprises:
a plurality of first inorganic layers (321a) having a first refractive index and comprising silicon nitride (SiNx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216); and
a plurality of second inorganic layers (321b) having a second refractive index less than the first refractive index and comprising silicon oxide (SiOx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216), and wherein the plurality of first inorganic layers and the plurality of second inorganic layers are alternately stacked by at least two layers (see figure 7).
Claim(s) 1, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2023/0371306).
Referring to figure 2-13, YANG et al. teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1000);
a light control layer (170/183) on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer (240a/244) on the light control layer, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers, wherein the plurality of inorganic layers comprises:
a first inorganic layer (241) comprising silicon nitride (SiNx, xis an integer of 1 or more);
a second inorganic layer (242) comprising silicon oxide (SiOx, xis an integer of 1 or more);
a third inorganic layer (243) comprising silicon nitride (see paragraph# 85); and
a fourth inorganic layer (244) comprising silicon oxide (see paragraph# 86), and wherein: each of the first inorganic layer and the third inorganic layer has a first refractive index; and
each of the second inorganic layer and the fourth inorganic layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (see paragraphs# 85-89, figures 2, 12-13, it is note that the same material would provide the same refractive index).
Regarding to claim 13, the anti-reflection layer (321) further comprises an organic layer on the plurality of inorganic layers; and an upper surface of the organic layer comprises an outermost surface of the anti-reflection layer (see paragraphs# 86, 89).
Regarding to claim 14, a refractive index of the organic layer is about 1.25 to about 1.30; and a thickness of the organic layer is about 60 nm to about 110 nm (see paragraph# 89).
Regarding to claim 15, a color filter layer (220) between the light control layer (170/180) and the anti-reflection layer (240, see figure 2).
Regarding to claim 16, the display panel (1000) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (150) configured to generate a first light; and
the light control layer (170/183) comprises:
a first light control unit (LA1) configured to transmit the first light;
a second light control unit (LA2) configured to convert the first light into a second light having a wavelength different from that of the first light; and
a third light control unit (LA3) configured to convert the first light into a third light having a wavelength different from each of those of the first light and the second light (see figure 2, paragraphs# 55-56).
Regarding to claim 17, a reflectance of an upper surface of the anti-reflection layer is about 2% or less (240a/244, the same material would provide the same reflectance).
Regarding to claim 18, a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1000);
a light control layer (170/183) directly on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer (240a/244) on the light control layer, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers, wherein the plurality of inorganic layers comprises:
a plurality of first inorganic layers (241) having a first refractive index and comprising silicon nitride (SiNx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraphs# 85-86); and
a plurality of second inorganic layers (242) having a second refractive index less than the first refractive index and comprising silicon oxide (SiOx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraphs# 85-86), and wherein the plurality of first inorganic layers and the plurality of second inorganic layers are alternately stacked by at least two layers (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2023/0050227) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-9, 12, 16-18 above, and further in view of CHOI et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0047800).
Referring to figure 5-47, AHN et al. teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1);
a light control layer (370/350) on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer (321) on the light control layer, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers, wherein the plurality of inorganic layers comprises:
a first inorganic layer (321a) comprising silicon nitride (SiNx, x is an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216);
a second inorganic layer (321b) comprising silicon oxide (SiOx, xis an integer of 1 or more, see paragraph# 216);
a third inorganic layer (321a) comprising silicon nitride (see paragraph# 216); and
a fourth inorganic layer (321b) comprising silicon oxide (see paragraph# 216), and wherein: each of the first inorganic layer and the third inorganic layer has a first refractive index; and each of the second inorganic layer and the fourth inorganic layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (see paragraphs# 215-216, figures 5, 7).
However, the reference does not teach the specific thickness of the inorganic layers (in claims 3, 4), the first inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon nitride (SiNx:H); and the second inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon oxide (SiOx:H) (in claims 10, 11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the thickness of the inorganic layer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e.-inorganic layer), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955), In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (FED. Cir. 1990) (meeting claims 3-4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the inorganic layer with specific thickness in AHN et al. because the process is known in the art since choosing an optimum thickness for a layer only involve routine skill in the semiconductor art.
CHOI et al. teaches the first inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon nitride (SiNx:H); and the second inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon oxide (SiOx:H) (see paragraph# 87, meeting claims 10, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the first inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon nitride (SiNx:H); and the second inorganic layer comprises hydrogenated silicon oxide (SiOx:H) in as taught by CHOI et al. because the process is known in the art to form an improve display device.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893