DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
It is noted that the abstract begins with “There is provided”. The examiner suggests its deletion.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed solely to a method. The examiner suggests amending the title to reflect same.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (2013/0203268) in view of Fukiage et al. (2018/0142350).
Kato teaches a film deposition method for forming a film on a substrate by repeatedly performing a process of sequentially supplying a first process gas and a second process gas that react with one another inside a vacuum chamber by mounting a substrate on the surface of a turntable inside a vacuum chamber (0012). The method specifically supplying a first process gas that is adsorbed on the surface of the substrate to a first process area, and supplying a second process gas to a second process area to cause a reaction with components of the first process gas adsorbed on the surface of the substrate and form a reaction product on the substrate (0012). In addition, a modification gas that does not react with the first process gas and the second process gas to a modification area for performing a modification process on the reaction product on the substrate using plasma is used (0012). While the modification can be a mixed gas (0057), the reference fails to teach a second modification gas.
Fukiage teaches a film forming processing method (title) in which a first modification process and a second modification process are used (0039). Specifically, a second modification gas is used (0052). It would have been obvious to use a second medication gas in the process of Kato with the expectation of success because Fukiage teaches of using a second modification gas in a film forming method.
Regarding claim 2, Fukiage teaches a substrate with a recess (0043).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches silicon nitride (0005), which has two elements and is adsorbed (0049).
Regarding claim 4, Kato teaches a modification gas which does not react (0012) and Fukiage teaches a second modification gas (0052).
Regarding claim 5, Kato teaches dichlorosilane and ammonia (0057) which have different molecular weights.
Regarding claim 6, Kato teaches dichlorosilane and ammonia (0057) which have different reactivities.
Regarding claim 7, Kato teaches different regions (0070).
Regarding claim 8, Fukiage teaches of adjusting the supply time (0072).
Regarding claim 9, Kato teaches different pressures (0011).
Regarding claim 10, Fukiage teaches of adjusting the supply time (0072).
Regarding claim 11, the applicant requires the same gas. Fukiage teaches NH3 and Ar (0075). To utilize one gas would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 12, Fukiage teaches different gases (0075).
Regarding claim 13, Kato teaches dichlorosilane and ammonia (0057) which have different absorption capacities.
Regarding claim 14, the applicant requires a second recess. Fukiage teaches a substrate with a recess (0043). To utilize a second recess would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 15, Kato teaches dichlorosilane and ammonia (0057) and Fukiage teaches that ammonia can be the reaction gas (0004).
Regarding claim 16, Kato teaches silicon nitride (0005) using ammonia (0057), which produces the nitrogen.
Regarding claim 17 Kato teaches dichlorosilane and ammonia (0057) and Fukiage teaches that ammonia can be the reaction gas (0004).
Regarding claim 18, Kato teaches a semiconductor wafer (0005).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 08/03/2026