DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/438,499 filed on June 22, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Semiconductor Device Comprising Hybrid Bonding Using Magnetic Material”.
Election/Restrictions
5. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7, drawn to device, in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
6. Claims 8-17 are cancelled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected method device claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the following, the claims should be recited to fix grammatical error, and/or smooth flow of claim languages/phrases:
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a first semiconductor wafer comprising:
a first substrate;
a first metallization layer disposed on a top surface of the first substrate;
a first dielectric layer disposed on the first metallization layer;
a first magnetic structure embedded in the first dielectric layer; and
a first metal pad embedded in the first dielectric layer, wherein the first metal pad connects with a first interconnect structure in the first metallization layer; and
a second semiconductor wafer disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, wherein the second semiconductor wafer comprises:
a second substrate;
a second metallization layer disposed on a top surface of the second substrate;
a second dielectric layer disposed on the second metallization layer;
a second magnetic structure embedded in the second dielectric layer; and
a second metal pad embedded in the second dielectric layer, wherein the second metal pad connects with a second interconnect structure in the first metallization layer;
wherein the first magnetic structure is aligned with and in direct contact with the second magnetic structure, and a top surface of the first dielectric layer is in direct contact with a top surface of the second dielectric layer.
Appropriate corrections are needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2018/0033773 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Huang et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising (Fig. 4C):
a first semiconductor wafer (20 called second die, para [0050] which is an inherent part of the semiconductor wafer 200, see Fig. 2A) comprising:
a first substrate (20, see Fig. 2A);
a first metallization layer (250 interconnect structure, para [0051]) disposed on a top surface of the first substrate (20);
a first dielectric layer (218, para [0028]) disposed on the first metallization layer (250);
a first magnetic structure (220, para [0051]) embedded in the first dielectric layer (218); and
a first metal pad (216, para [0028]) embedded in the first dielectric layer (218), wherein the first metal pad (216) connects with a first interconnect structure (212/215) in the first metallization layer (250); and
a second semiconductor wafer (10 called first die, para [0050] which is an inherent part of the semiconductor wafer 100, see Fig. 2A) disposed on the first semiconductor wafer (20), wherein the second semiconductor wafer (10) comprises:
a second substrate (10, see Fig. 2A);
a second metallization layer (150, para [0017]) disposed on a top surface of the second substrate (10);
a second dielectric layer (118, para [0019]) disposed on the second metallization layer (150);
a second magnetic structure (120, para [0051]) embedded in the second dielectric layer (118); and
a second metal pad (116, para [0017]) embedded in the second dielectric layer (118), wherein the second metal pad (116) connects with a second interconnect structure (112/115) in the first metallization layer (150);
wherein the first magnetic structure (220) is aligned with and in direct contact with the second magnetic structure (120), and a top surface of the first dielectric layer (218) is in direct contact with a top surface of the second dielectric layer (118).
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), the first magnetic structure (220) and the second magnetic structure (120) have opposite polarities (see para [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), further comprising:
a package structure (30, para [0049]) covering the first semiconductor wafer (20) and the second semiconductor wafer (10).
Regarding claim 5, Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), the second semiconductor wafer (100: 10, see Fig. 2A) comprises a conductive via (330, para [0052]) extending from a bottom surface of the second substrate (10) to the second interconnect structure (112/115) of the second metallization layer (150).
Regarding claim 6, Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), a top surface of the first metal pad (216) is coplanar with a top surface of the first magnetic structure (220) and a top surface of the second metal pad (116) is coplanar with a top surface of the second magnetic structure (120).
Regarding claim 7, Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), the first metal pad (216) is aligned with and in direct contact with the second metal pad (116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
15. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2018/0033773 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Liao (US 2025/0006669 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Huang et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Huang et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4C), the first magnetic structure (220) and the second magnetic structure (120) comprise a material (iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), para [0021]) selected from the group consisting of iron oxides, iron-cobalt alloy, iron-nickel alloy, iron-aluminum alloy or combinations thereof (para [0021]).
Huang et al. is silent to explicitly disclose wherein, the first magnetic structure and the second magnetic structure comprise a material selected from the group consisting of iron oxides, iron-cobalt alloy, iron-nickel alloy, iron-aluminum alloy or combinations thereof.
Liao teaches wherein (Fig. 1K), the first magnetic structure (402, para [0046]) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of iron oxides, iron-cobalt alloy, iron-nickel alloy, iron-aluminum alloy or combinations thereof (para [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Liao, and modify the magnetic material of metal element of Huang et al., into metal alloy or oxide, in order to achieve higher mechanical/thermal stability, magnetic property control and superior bonding process.
Examiner’s Note
16. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812