DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claim 5, in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yana et al. (JP-2021197482-A, machine translation) in view of Isojima et al. (JP-2020009636-A, machine translation).
Regarding Claim 5, Yana teaches a method of processing a workpiece (Paragraph [0001] method for processing a workpiece), comprising:
a covering step of covering a surface of the workpiece with a protective film (Paragraphs [0093-0099] Figure 5B a protective film (element 27) is formed on the surface of the workpiece (elements 21 and 23));
after the covering step, an irradiating step of irradiating the protective film along projected processing lines established on the workpiece with a pulsed laser beam having a wavelength absorbable by the protective film, thereby removing portions of the protective film along the projected processing lines to expose portions of the workpiece (Paragraphs [0103-0106] and [0121] a pulsed laser processes the workpiece to remove part of the protective film (element 27) to form grooves (element 33) that expose portions of the workpiece (element 11). Paragraphs [0124-0127] protective film has absorbance of laser wavelengths); and,
after the irradiating step, a plasma etching step of performing plasma etching on the exposed portions of the workpiece using the protective film as a mask (Paragraph [0123] after the laser grooves are formed a plasma etching process divides the workpiece while the protective film protects the surface of the workpiece).
Yana fails to teach that the protective film has a hardness in a range from 0.0093 GPa to 0.13 GPa. Yanna teaches that the protective film can comprise polyvinylpyrrolidone (Paragraphs [0019-0020]).
Isojima teaches forming a resin layer over an electronic device (Paragraph [0009] resin layer is formed over a diode element). Isojima teaches that the resin layer can absorb light (Paragraph [0009] resin layer contains a light-absorbing agent) and can comprise and vinylpyrrolidone (Paragraphs [0071-0073] resin layer includes a polymerizable compound that can have vinylpyrrolidone). Isojima teaches that the resin layer can have a hardness of 100-600MPa (equivalent to 0.1-0.6 GPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Yana such that the protective film had a hardness within the range taught by Isojima.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Yanna is silent on the hardness of the layer taught, while Isojima teaches a layer that can comprise the same polymer compound, is capable of absorbing light, and that the layer has a range of hardness. The combination would have had the predictable result of providing a hardness for that layer. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a hardness at a level within the disclosed range of 0.1-0.6 GPa, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of 0.0093-0.13 GPa. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Conclusion
/A.K.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713