DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending before the Office for review.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,935,746. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of pending application 18/439340 and US Patent 11.935,746 comprise overlapping subject matter wherein the claims of the pending application are rendered obvious by the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONECNI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0129351) in view of LEE at al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0276789).
With regards to claim 1, Konecni discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device (200), comprising: forming a mask layer (206A) over a substrate (202), the mask layer (206A) having, as deposited, an internal stress, the internal stress having a first magnitude and a first direction (Figure 2A Paragraphs [0015], [0023]-[0027] discloses forming high stress layer 26 with a compressive strength); forming over the mask layer a stress-compensating layer (206B), the stress compensating layer having an internal stress having a second magnitude and having a second direction opposite to the first direction (Figure 2A Paragraphs [0015]-[0018], [0023]-[0027] discloses forming a low stress layer with a tensile strength).
Konecni does not explicitly disclose performing a thermal process on the mask layer and the stress-compensating layer, wherein after the thermal process, the internal stress of the mask layer has a third magnitude lower than the first magnitude and has the first direction.
Lee discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device comprising forming a hard mask layer having an internal stress and performing a thermal process to adjust the internal stress of the mask layer (Paragraphs [0010], [0015]-[0022] discloses depositing a first hardmask layer, 12, 22 having an initial tensile stress, and layers 13 and 23 have an opposite stress and performing a heat treatment to lower the stress value and change from tensile to compressive or compressive to tensile). As such Konecni as modified my Lee renders obvious performing a thermal process on the mask layer and the stress-compensating layer, wherein after the thermal process, the internal stress of the mask layer has a third magnitude lower than the first magnitude and has the first direction. (Paragraphs [0017]-[0025], Lee Paragraphs [0010], [0015]-[0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Konecni to include thermal process as rendered by Lee because the reference of Lee discloses that such adjusting the stress prevents peeling of multiple layer hardmask with opposite stress during fabrication (Paragraph [0009]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired mask layer using thermal process as rendered obvious by Lee. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Konecni renders obvious wherein the internal stress of the mask layer arises from at least one cause, the cause selected from the group consisting of a deposition process by which the mask layer was deposited (Konecni Paragraphs [0027], [0030] discloses internal stress can be adjusted by changing deposition conditions and levels of deposited stress increasing elements, adjusting deposition conditions).
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Konecni renders obvious depositing a photoresist layer (208) on the stress compensating layer (206); photolithographically patterning the photoresist layer; and patterning the stress compensating layer through the patterned photoresist layer. (Konecni Paragraphs [0024]-[0027]).
With regards to claim 5, the modified teachings of Konecni renders obvious patterning the mask layer through the patterned stress compensating layer. (Konecni Paragraphs [0024]-[0027] discloses etching the mask layers 206A, B with resist pattern 208).
With regards to claim 7, the modified teachings of Konecni renders obvious wherein the step of performing a thermal process is performed before the step of depositing a photoresist layer. (Konecni Paragraphs [0024]-[0027] discloses forming the hardmask layers are formed to the desired stress levels Lee Paragraphs [0016]-[0022] discloses performing thermal process to adjust the stress). Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C)
Claims 8 and 13 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONECNI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0129351) in view of LEE at al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0276789), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-5 and 7, in further view of NEMANI et al (U.S. Patent 8,153,348).
With regards to claim 8, Konecni discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device (200), comprising: forming a material layer (204) over a substrate (202); forming a mask layer (206A) over the material layer (204), the mask layer (206A) having, as deposited, an internal stress, the internal stress being either compressive or tensile (Figure 2A Paragraphs [0015], [0023]-[0027] discloses forming high stress layer 26 with a compressive strength); forming over the mask layer a stress-compensating layer (206B), the stress compensating layer having an internal stress that is opposite in direction of the internal stress of the mask layer (Figure 2A Paragraphs [0015]-[0018], [0023]-[0027] discloses forming a low stress layer with a tensile strength) wherein the stress compensating layer reduces the internal stress of the mask layer (Paragraph [0018] low stress layer may have low magnitude tensile stress to counteract effect of compressive stress in the high stress layer).
Konecni does not explicitly disclose where the mask layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon-oxy-nitride, a metal nitride and a metal oxide; performing a thermal process on the mask layer to further reduce the internal stress of the mask layer.
Lee discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device comprising forming a hard mask layer having an internal stress and performing a thermal process to adjust the internal stress of the mask layer (Paragraphs [0010], [0015]-[0022] discloses depositing a first hardmask layer, 12, 22 having an initial tensile stress, and layers 13 and 23 have an opposite stress and performing a heat treatment to lower the stress value and change from tensile to compressive or compressive to tensile). As such Konecni as modified my Lee renders obvious performing a thermal process on the mask layer and the stress-compensating layer, (Paragraphs [0017]-[0025], Lee Paragraphs [0010], [0015]-[0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Konecni to include thermal process as rendered by Lee because the reference of Lee discloses that such adjusting the stress prevents peeling of multiple layer hardmask with opposite stress during fabrication (Paragraph [0009]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired mask layer using thermal process as rendered obvious by Lee. MPEP 2143D
Nemani discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device comprising thermally treating a hardmask layer wherein the hard mask layer comprises silicon oxide and silicon oxy-nitride (Col. 14 lines 17-39) which renders obvious wherein the mask layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, and silicon-oxynitride, a metal nitride and a metal oxide.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the modified teachings of Konecni to include the hardmask material as rendered obvious by Nemani because the reference of Nemani teaches that such hardmask eliminate the need for photoresist deposition and etching (Col. 3 lines 56-58) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired patterning using the hardmask as rendered obvious by Nemani. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 13, the modified teachings of Konecni renders obvious patterning the mask layer and the stress compensating layer using a photolithographic process. (Konecni Paragraphs [0024]-[0027] discloses etching the mask layers 206A, B with resist pattern 208).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9,12, 14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713