DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 16-20 are cancelled by applicant’s in the response filed 01/12/2026.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 3, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the oxidation state" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the oxidation state" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumakura et al. (US 2022/0399212 A1).
As to claim 1, Kumakura discloses a method of etching a dielectric material, the method comprising cyclically performing a cycle comprising the following steps in situ within an etching chamber:
performing an etch step comprising etching the dielectric material (102 or 102B) through openings of a mask (120 or MA, 120B) using plasma generated from an etch precursor gas to form recesses in the dielectric material (102 or 102B) (See paragraph 0037; 0039, 0055, 0071-0072, 0140; Fig 1, Fig 2A; Fig 19A-19B);
and performing a deposition step comprising depositing a conductive coating (301 or PF) comprising a metal on both the mask and the dielectric material including sidewalls of the recesses using a deposition gas comprising the metal (paragraph 0039-0040, 0072, Fig 7A; Fig 14-15).
As to claim 2, Kumakura discloses the cycle further comprises performing a modification step comprising forming an intermediate layer (300) at a sidewalls of the recess after the etching step (S100) and before the deposition step (i.e. first cycle of forming protective film), the deposition step (second or next cycle after the first cycle) comprising depositing the conductive coating (301) on the intermediate layer (300) (See Fig 1, Fig 2A-2D, Fig 15; paragraph 0072-0076, 0100).
As to claim 3, Kumakura discloses wherein depositing of conductive coating (301) during the deposition step comprises a reduction reaction (using reducing gas) that reduces the oxidation state of the metal in the deposition gas (WF6) to deposit the conductive coating (See paragraph 0072, 0074; Note: WF6 is reduced to tungsten (W) using reducing gas; or TiCl4 is reduced to titanium using reducing gas).
As to claim 6, Kumakura discloses wherein depositing the conductive coating during the deposition step comprises depositing the conductive coating on sidewalls of the mask and the sidewalls of the recesses so that the conductive coating extends from a top surface of the mask substantially to bottom surfaces of the recesses (paragraph 0039, Fig 2A-2D).
As to claim 7, Kumakura discloses the mask (120) is a conductive (e.g. metal; See paragraph 0130).
As to claim 8, Kumakura discloses a method of high aspect ratio contact (HARC) etching a wafer within a plasma etching chamber using chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and reactive-ion etching (RIE), the method comprising:
performing a CVD step on the wafer in situ within the plasma etching chamber, the CVD step comprising conformally depositing a conductive coating (301 or 304) in openings of a hardmask overlying a dielectric material (102) using a deposition gas comprising a metal, the conductive coating comprising the metal (paragraph 039, 0071-0072, 0074; 0079, 0092, 0098, 0115, Fig 7A; and
performing an RIE step on the wafer in situ within the plasma etching chamber, the RIE step comprising etching the dielectric material through the openings of the hardmask using plasma generated from an etch precursor gas comprising an etchant species to extend recesses into the dielectric material, the plasma comprising reactive ions of the etchant species (paragraph 0162-0164, Fig 15).
As to claim 9, Kumakura discloses the dielectric material is an ONO stack comprising a plurality of oxide layers separated by nitride layer (paragraph 0073, silicon oxide/silicon nitride stack).
As to claim 11, Kumakura discloses wherein depositing of conducive coating (301) during the deposition step comprises a reduction reaction (using reducing gas) that reduces the oxidation state of the metal in the deposition gas (WF6) to deposit the conductive coating (See paragraph 0072, 0074; Note: WF6 is reduced to tungsten (W) using reducing gas ).
8. Claim(s) 1-3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 10,170322 B1).
As to claim 1, Cheng discloses a method of etching a dielectric material (30), the method comprising cyclically performing a cycle comprising the following steps in situ within an etching chamber:
performing an etch step comprising etching the dielectric material (30) through openings of a mask (32) using plasma generated from an etch precursor gas to form recesses in the dielectric material (paragraph col. 7 lines 19 to col. 9 lines 20, Fig 1C);
and performing a deposition step comprising depositing a conductive coating (72) comprising a metal on both the mask (32) and the dielectric material (30) including sidewalls of the recesses using a deposition gas comprising the metal (Fig 1E, col. 11 lines 23 to col. 12 line 45).
As to claim 2, Cheng discloses the cycle further comprises performing a modification step comprising forming an intermediate layer (40S’-44S’) at a sidewalls of the recess after the etching step and before the deposition step, the deposition step comprising depositing the conductive coating (72) on the intermediate layer (40S, 44S’) (See 1D-1E; col. 9 lines 22 to col. 11 lines 22).
As to claim 6, Cheng discloses wherein depositing the conductive coating during the deposition step comprises depositing the conductive coating (72) on sidewalls of the mask (32) and the sidewalls of the recesses (40, 44) so that the conductive coating extends from a top surface of the mask substantially to bottom surfaces of the recesses (Fig 1E, , col. 11 lines 23 to line 67)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura (US 2022/0399212 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Reinmuth et al. (US 2022/0328258 A1).
As to claim 4, Kumakura fails to disclose depositing the conductive coating during the deposition step comprises a replacement reaction between a seed material at the sidewalls of the recesses and the metal of the deposition gas. However, Kumakura clearly teaches to deposit tungsten into a recess using WF6 (paragraph 0074). Reinmuth teaches to deposit tungsten into the recess by using a process comprises a replacement reaction between a seed material such as silicon at the sidewalls of the recesses and the metal of the deposition gas comprises WF6 in order to enhance the metal deposition into a narrow trench (paragraph 0017, 0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumakura in view of Reinmuth by depositing a conductive coating comprises a replacement reaction between a seed material at the sidewalls of the recesses and the metal of the deposition gas because the seed layer helps to enhance metal deposition into a narrow trench (paragraph 0017).
As to claim 5, Kumakura fails to disclose the seed material comprises silicon. However, Kumakura clearly teaches the metal is tungsten (paragraph 00074). Reinmuth teaches to use a seed layer comprises silicon in order to enhance tungsten deposition process into a narrow trench (paragraph 0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumakura in view of Reinmuth by using a seed material comprises silicon because it helps to enhance tungsten deposition process into a narrow trench
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura (US 2022/0399212 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0397510 A1).
As to claim 10, Kamakura fails to disclose performing a preliminary RIE step in situ within the plasma etching chamber before the CVD step, the preliminary RIE step comprising etching the dielectric material through the openings of the hardmask using plasma generated from the etch precursor gas to extend the recesses into the dielectric material. However, Kamakura clearly teaches to use plasma etching to create recesses (paragraph 0034, 0151). Li teaches performing a preliminary RIE step in situ within the plasma etching chamber before the CVD step, the preliminary RIE step comprising etching the dielectric material through the openings of the hardmask using plasma generated from the etch precursor gas to extend the recesses into the dielectric material (paraph 0034, 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kamakura in view of Li by having a preliminary RIE step comprising etching the dielectric material through the openings of the hardmask using plasma generated from the etch precursor gas to extend the recesses into the dielectric material because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
13. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura (US 2022/0399212 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cen et al. (US 2022/0359279 A1).
As to claim 12, Kumakura fails to disclose performing a nitrogen treatment step comprising forming a conformal intermediate layer comprising nitrogen in the openings of the hardmask, wherein the CVD step comprises conformally depositing the conductive coating on the conformal intermediate layer, the conductive coating being a tungsten coating. However, Kumakura clearly disclose deposit a tungsten into the opening of the hardmask. Cen teaches performing a nitrogen treatment step comprising forming a conformal intermediate layer (505) comprising nitrogen (TiN) in the openings of the hardmask (501), wherein the CVD step comprises conformally depositing the conductive coating (506) on the conformal intermediate layer (505), the conductive coating being a tungsten coating (paragraph 0035-0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumakura in view of Cen by performing a nitrogen treatment step comprising forming a conformal intermediate layer comprising nitrogen in the openings of the hardmask, wherein the CVD step comprises conformally depositing the conductive coating on the conformal intermediate layer, the conductive coating being a tungsten coating because the intermediate layer (505) act as a diffusion barrier for subsequent tungsten deposition (See paragraph 0039).
As to claim 13, Kumakura fails to disclose wherein the conductive coating comprises tungsten nitride, and wherein the reduction reaction comprises using a nitrogen-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten nitride. However, Kumakura clearly teaches the coating comprises tungsten (paragraph 0072, 0074). Cen teaches the conductive coating comprises tungsten nitride, and wherein the reduction reaction comprises using a nitrogen-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten nitride (paragraph 0044, 0047-0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumakura in view of Cen by having wherein the conductive coating comprises tungsten nitride, and wherein the reduction reaction comprises using a nitrogen-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten nitride because it helps to create a nucleation layer to provide a bottom up tungsten bulk fill to avoid the formation of seam or voids (abstract, paragraph 0045).
14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura (US 2022/0399212 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Humayun (US 8,053,365 B2).
As to claim 14, Kumakura fails to disclose the conductive coating comprises tungsten carbide and the reduction reaction comprises using a carbon-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten carbide. However, Kumakura clearly teaches to deposit conductive coating comprises tungsten, wherein the deposition step comprises a reduction reaction that reduces the oxidation state of the tungsten in the deposition gas (paragraph 0074). Humayun teaches to form a film stack comprises a mixed tungsten and tungsten carbide wherein tungsten carbide is formed through a reaction comprises using a carbon-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten carbide (col. 4 lines 42 to col. 5 line 67; Humayun’s claims 1, 3, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumakura in view of Humayun by having the conductive coating comprises tungsten carbide and the reduction reaction comprises using a carbon-containing gas to reduce the tungsten and deposit the tungsten carbide because tungsten carbide provides excellent adhesion and a good base for subsequent tungsten deposition (See abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
16. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest performing a modification step comprising a silane treatment to incorporate silicon at sidewalls of the recesses extending into the dielectric material, wherein conformally depositing the conductive coating during the CVD step comprises a replacement reaction replacing the silicon at the sidewalls of the recesses with the tungsten of the deposition gas.
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713