DETAILED ACTION
The foreign priority application No.2023-022005 filed on February 15, 2023 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B in the reply filed on September 11, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of Species A to E is sufficiently related and is not a burden to search the relevant prior art. This is not found persuasive because the Species A to E are directed to different methods, with different method steps, and the search strategies for the Species A to E are different.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-18 are pending, with claims 13 and 15-18 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected Species.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BE 661,479, as evidenced by Hatakeyama et al. (US 2023/0288800).
BE 661,479 teaches the compound of formula:
, wherein R is an alkyl group with less than 10 carbon atoms and R’ is a substituted or unsubstituted cycloalkyl (page 2, lines 21-23).
BE 661,479 teaches that R’ may be a 1-ethynylcyclohexyl group (page 3, line 14).
The examiner notes that BE 661,479 teaches bis(1-ethynyl maleate) tin dibutyl (page 3, line 29), but this is a typo. The correct formula is bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl, because BE 661,479 teaches that R’ may be a 1-ethynylcyclohexyl group (page 3, line 14).
Bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl is represented by the formula:
, and it is a compound of formula (M) in claim 1, wherein m=2, n=2, Q is an unsubstituted alkyl group with 4 carbon atoms, T is a group of formula (1), RA is a group of formula (RA-1), Y1 is an unsubstituted unsaturated divalent organic group with 2 carbon atoms, R1 is a group of formula
, and R2 is a 1-ethynyl cyclohexyl group of formula:
.
Hatakeyama et al. teaches an acid labile group of triple bond-containing tertiary ester type of formula:
wherein R3 and R4 may be C1-C12 saturated hydrocarbyl groups which may bond to form a ring with the carbon atom to which they are attached and R5 may be a hydrogen group (par.0056-0062).
Therefore, the 1-ethynyl cyclohexyl group of BE 661,479 is a tertiary hydrocarbyl group and it is an organic group to be removed by an action of an acid (group R2).
The limitation “for forming a metal-containing film” in claim 1 shows only an intended use and adds no patentable weigh to the claim.
Therefore, bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl of BE 661,479 anticipates the compound in claim 1 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 2, bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl is a compound of formula (M) in wherein m=2, n=2, Q is an unsubstituted alkyl group with 4 carbon atoms, T is a group of formula (1), RA is a group of formula (RA-1), and Y1 is an unsubstituted unsaturated divalent organic group with 2 carbon atoms.
With regard to claims 3 and 4, bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl is a compound of formula (M) in wherein m=2, n=2, Q is an unsubstituted alkyl group with 4 carbon atoms, T is a group of formula (1), RA is a group of formula (RA-1), and Y1 is a group of formula:
, Ra and Rb are hydrogen atoms.
With regard to claims 5-8, Mw=Mn for bis(1-ethynylcyclohexyl maleate) tin dibutyl, so the ratio Mw/Mn=1. This value is within the claimed range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
BE 661,479 teaches compositions comprising halogenated polymers and the tin compounds (page 5, lines 5-9) but fail to teach the composition in claim 9.
There are no prior art teachings that would motivate one of ordinary skill to modify BE 661,479 and obtain the composition in claim 9 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722