DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hook et al. (US 9761525).
With regard to claim 16, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: a semiconductor body (14) comprising a front side (top in Fig 2) and a backside (bottom in Fig 2); a high voltage semiconductor device (HVSD) (50, 22, 20) formed in the front side; and an electrode (30) under the back side; wherein the electrode is beneath the HVSD (see figures); the electrode has internal sidewalls that surround a hole through the electrode (regions between elements 30 in Figure 4); and two of the internal sidewalls on opposite sides of the hole are directly beneath the HVSD (see Figure 4).
With regard to claim 18, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that the electrode has second internal sidewalls that are directly beneath the HVSD and define a second hole through the electrode (see figure 4).
With regard to claim 19, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that the hole is positioned so as to increase a breakdown voltage of the HVSD. (column 5, lines 1-35).
With regard to claim 20, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, a dielectric layer (12) disposed between the electrode and the back side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hook et al. (US 9761525).
With regard to claim 11, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, an integrated circuit (IC) device comprising: a semiconductor body (14); a high voltage device (50, 20, 22) formed in the semiconductor body; an insulating layer (12) under the semiconductor body; and one or more electrodes (30) in a layer beneath the insulating layer; wherein each of the plurality of high voltage devices has a footprint beneath the semiconductor body (see figure 4); and the pattern includes internal sidewall that define a gap within each footprint (see figure 4).
Hook does not explicitly teach that the high voltage devices are a plurality of devices and that the pattern is repeated for each of the plurality of high voltage devices.
It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, and has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to duplicate the essential working parts of Hook as no new or unexpected result is produced from such a replication.
With regard to claim 12, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that each of the gaps is surrounded by one of the one or more electrodes (see figure 4).
With regard to claim 13, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that each of the plurality of high voltage devices is surrounded by a distinct deep trench isolation structure (18); and each of the one or more electrodes is entirely within an outer perimeter of one of the deep trench isolation structures (see figure 2).
With regard to claim 14, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that each of the one or more electrodes has a pair of sidewalls separated by a dielectric (12) and within one of the footprints (see figure 4).
With regard to claim 15, Hook teaches, in Figs 2 and 4, that the electrodes are longer than the high voltage devices (see figure 4, in the vertical direction in the figure).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hook et al. (US 9761525) in view of Goktepeli (US 2017/0373026).
With regard to claim 17, Hook teaches most of the limitations of the claim as set forth above with regard to claim 16.
Hook does not explicitly teach that the HVSD and the electrode each have mirror symmetry.
Goktepeli teaches, in Fig 5A, that the HVSD (510) and the electrode (530) each have mirror symmetry for, “reducing the electromagnetic coupling between components, which may be achieved through an arrangement of the geometry and direction of the components,” ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective date of filing to combine the device of Hook with the disposition of Goktepeli to reduce the electromagnetic coupling between components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious claimed limitations of wherein the conductive layer forms a contiguous electrode directly beneath the HVSD; the contiguous electrode has a gap directly beneath the HVSD; a first portion of the contiguous electrode is on a first side of the gap; and a second portion of the contiguous electrode is on a second side of the gap, opposite the first side of the gap, as set forth in independent claim 1, when taken in concert with all the other limitations of the claim. All other allowed claims depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2829