The Detailed Action
Claims 1-19 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. (US 2021/0272814 A1) in view of Kao et al. (US 2015/0140827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peter teaches a semiconductor processing method comprising providing a substrate to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a wafer having stack 314 is placed into breakthrough chamber 216 for processing (paragraphs [0018], [0023], [0052]). Peter further teaches that the substrate comprises an alternating stack of materials, wherein stack 314 comprises first silicon layer 808, silicon-germanium layer 812, and second silicon layer 816, with the silicon-germanium layer positioned between the first and second silicon layers (paragraph [0052], Fig. 8A).
Peter further teaches that one material of the alternating stack comprises a silicon-containing material, including first silicon layer 808, second silicon layer 816, and silicon-germanium layer 812 (paragraph [0052]). Peter further teaches that a native oxide material is disposed on at least a portion of exposed surfaces of the silicon-containing material, wherein native oxide layer 820 forms on the exposed sides of the first silicon layer, silicon-germanium layer, and second silicon layer due to exposure of the stack to air (paragraph [0052], Fig. 8A).
Peter also teaches performing a pre-clean treatment on the substrate by exposing stack 314 to diluted hydrofluoric acid in water to remove part of native oxide layer 820 (paragraph [0052], Fig. 8B). Peter further teaches providing a fluorine-containing precursor to the processing region and contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor, wherein a fluorocarbon breakthrough gas comprising CF4 is formed into a plasma that removes the remaining native oxide layer 820 (paragraph [0053], Fig. 8C).
Peter does not expressly teach that a feature extends through the alternating stack of materials.
Kao teaches that a feature extends through the alternating stack of materials, such as open features 460 including vias, trenches, or openings extending through the patterned film stack (paragraph [0046], Fig. 4A). Kao further teaches generally features are formed by patterning in a stack of layers so that multiple device can be manufacture on the substrate (paragraph [0005]-[0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor processing method of Peter to include a feature extending through the alternating stack as taught by Kao because Kao teaches forming vias, trenches, and other openings through semiconductor film stacks to expose underlying materials for subsequent semiconductor processing. Applying Kao’s known feature geometry to Peter’s alternating silicon/silicon-germanium stack would have predictably provided exposed surfaces suitable for Peter’s native oxide removal process. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 10, the modified method of Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 1 as discussed above.
Peter does not expressly teach wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises dilute hydrofluoric acid.
Kao teaches wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises dilute hydrofluoric acid (a hydrofluoric acid solution having a concentration of about 1–5 percent; paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to use Kao’s dilute hydrofluoric acid as the fluorine-containing precursor in the modified method of Peter because Kao teaches dilute hydrofluoric acid as a known fluorine-containing etchant for semiconductor processing, thereby predictably providing oxide removal from exposed semiconductor surfaces. See MPEP § 2141, rationale III(B).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. in view of Kao et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0143175 A1).
The modified method of Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, including a substrate having an alternating stack of semiconductor materials (paragraphs [0043]–[0044]).
Modified Peter does not teach that the alternating stack comprises a first nitrogen-containing material, a silicon-containing material overlying the first nitrogen-containing material, a second nitrogen-containing material overlying the silicon-containing material, and an oxygen-containing material overlying the second nitrogen-containing material.
Lee teaches semiconductor structures including alternating layers comprising nitrogen-containing materials such as silicon nitride and oxygen-containing materials such as silicon oxide arranged in sequence within a stack (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stacked layers of Peter to include the specific arrangement of nitrogen-containing and oxygen-containing materials as taught by Lee because such layer arrangements are commonly used in semiconductor device fabrication to provide etch selectivity, barrier properties, and dielectric isolation between device structures. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. in view of Kao et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xi et al. (US 2023/0022624 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified method of Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, including features such as vias, trenches, or openings extending through stacked semiconductor layers during fabrication (Kao paragraph [0046]).
Modified Peter does not teach that the feature has an aspect ratio greater than or about 10:1.
Xi teaches semiconductor device structures having high-aspect-ratio features, wherein the aspect ratio of the structure is greater than 10:1 (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature of Peter with the high-aspect-ratio configuration taught by Xi because high-aspect-ratio features are commonly employed in semiconductor fabrication to enable advanced structures and increase device density. Selecting an aspect ratio within known ranges used in semiconductor processing represents the routine application of known design parameters. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, the modified method of Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, including performing a wet pre-clean treatment on the substrate before contacting the substrate with a fluorine-containing precursor (Peter paragraphs [0052]–[0053]).
Modified Peter in view of Kao does not teach that the pre-clean treatment comprises introducing water or steam to the substrate and filling the feature extending through the alternating stack of materials, nor condensing steam at a lower portion of the feature such that the feature is filled from a bottom of the feature to a top of the feature, as recited in claims 4 and 6.
Xi teaches performing cleaning treatments on semiconductor substrates by introducing water vapor into features formed in the substrate, where the vapor condenses on feature surfaces during cleaning processes (paragraphs [0057]–[0058]). The condensation of water vapor results in liquid formation within the feature, which accumulates along feature surfaces and would inherently fill the feature from lower portions toward upper portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vapor-based cleaning process of Xi into the semiconductor processing method of Peter as modified by Kao because Xi teaches introducing water vapor into semiconductor features, condensing the water vapor on feature surfaces, and allowing the resulting liquid water to accumulate from the lower portions of the feature upward during a cleaning treatment. Incorporating Xi’s known pre-clean treatment into the modified semiconductor processing method would have predictably cleaned recessed features prior to the fluorine-containing native oxide removal process, thereby improving fluid penetration into high-aspect-ratio features and preparing the substrate for subsequent oxide removal. This represents the predictable use of known cleaning processes according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. in view of Kao et al. and Xi et al., as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 6,162,738).
The modified method of Peter in view of Kao and Xi teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 4, including introducing water vapor to the substrate and filling features during a pre-clean treatment.
Modified Peter does not teach agitating the substrate to remove an air bubble from the feature.
Chen teaches that agitation techniques such as megasonic or ultrasonic energy may be used during wet cleaning processes to enhance cleaning of semiconductor structures (col. 8, lines 42–48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the agitation techniques taught by Chen during the pre-clean treatment of the modified method of Peter in view of Kao and Xi because agitation improves penetration of cleaning liquids into recessed structures and assists in removing trapped air bubbles, thereby improving cleaning effectiveness. Applying known cleaning enhancement techniques represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. in view of Kao et al. and Xi et al., as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kunze-Concewitz (US 5,964,952).
The modified method of Peter in view of Kao and Xi teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 6, including filling the feature with water from a bottom portion toward a top portion (water vapor is introduced into groove 200, condenses into liquid water on the groove surfaces, accumulates, and flows to the bottom of the groove; paragraphs [0057]-[0058]).
Modified Peter does not explicitly teach filling the feature without formation of an air bubble.
Kunze-Concewitz teaches precision cleaning processes using water and steam in which vapor bubbles collapse or burst during treatment, improving fluid interaction with the substrate and reducing trapped bubbles (col. 6, lines 45–60). Kunze-Concewitz further teaches applicability to microfabrication cleaning processes (col. 2, lines 59–67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified cleaning process of Peter to reduce or eliminate bubble formation within the feature because Kunze-Concewitz teaches that bubble collapse improves fluid contact and contaminant removal. Applying known bubble-reduction techniques to known vapor-cleaning processes represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. in view of Kao et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2012/0211462 A1).
Peter teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, including contacting the substrate with a fluorine-containing precursor during native oxide removal (a CF4-containing breakthrough gas is formed into a plasma that removes the remaining native oxide layer; paragraph [0053]).
Modified Peter does not teach providing a surfactant to the processing region during the pre-clean treatment, with the fluorine-containing precursor, or both, as recited in claim 8, nor does Kao teach that the surfactant comprises a hydrophilic hydrocarbon as recited in claim 9.
Zhang teaches introducing alcohol additives into a substrate processing region during fluorine-based oxide etching processes, including alcohols such as methanol, ethanol, or isopropyl alcohol introduced together with water vapor (paragraphs [0025], [0045]). Zhang further teaches that such additives improve interaction of process fluids with patterned structures and reduce deformation forces (paragraph [0025]).
The instant specification identifies alcohol compounds such as ethanol, acetone, and isopropyl alcohol as examples of the claimed surfactant (paragraph [0048]), which are hydrophilic hydrocarbons.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the alcohol additives taught by Zhang into the native oxide removal process of Peter as modified by Kao because such additives improve wetting and interaction of process fluids with patterned structures, thereby improving contact between the etching chemistry and recessed features. Combining known additive chemistries with known oxide-removal processes represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (US 2015/0140827 A1) in view of Peter et al. (US 2021/0272814 A1), and further in view of Kunze-Concewitz (US 5,964,952).
Regarding claim 11, Kao teaches a semiconductor processing method comprising providing a substrate to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the substrate comprises an alternating stack of materials, wherein a feature extends through the alternating stack of materials, and wherein one material of the alternating stack comprises a silicon-containing material, such as silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbide (SiC), silicon carbon nitride (SiCN), or silicon oxide (SiO₂) (Kao paragraphs [0043]-[0046]). Kao further teaches contacting the substrate with a fluorine-containing precursor (hydrofluoric acid solution) (paragraph [0047]).
Kao does not expressly teach that a native oxide material is disposed on at least a portion of exposed surfaces of the silicon-containing material, nor does Kao expressly teach contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor such that the contacting removes native oxide from the silicon-containing material.
Peter teaches that exposure of a silicon-containing stack to air forms a native oxide layer on the exposed silicon-containing materials (paragraph [0023]). Peter further teaches performing a wet breakthrough using diluted hydrofluoric acid to remove at least a portion of the native oxide layer (paragraph [0052]) and removing the remaining native oxide using a fluorocarbon plasma comprising CF₄ (paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor processing modified method of Peter to remove native oxide from the exposed silicon-containing material using the native oxide removal process taught by Peter because Peter teaches that native oxide forms on exposed silicon-containing materials after air exposure and teaches removing that native oxide using fluorine-containing chemistries before subsequent semiconductor processing. Applying Peter’s known native oxide removal process to Kao’s semiconductor processing method would have predictably remove native oxide from the exposed silicon-containing material prior to subsequent semiconductor processing. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Peter in view of Kao does not teach contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor such that a bubble is not formed at a lower portion of the feature.
Kunze-Concewitz teaches cleaning processes using water and steam in which vapor bubbles collapse or are eliminated within a liquid film, thereby improving fluid contact with substrate surfaces and reducing trapped bubbles (col. 6, lines 45-60). Kunze-Concewitz further teaches applicability to microfabrication processes requiring highly clean surfaces (col. 2, lines 59-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the semiconductor processing method of Peter in view of Kao to reduce or eliminate bubble formation within recessed features in view of Kunze-Concewitz because reducing trapped bubbles improves fluid contact and enhances uniform processing within features. Applying known fluid behavior control techniques to known oxide-removal processes represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. in view of Peter et al. and Kunze-Concewitz, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al.
Regarding claim 12, modified Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 11 including a substrate having stacked layers (paragraphs [0043]–[0044]).
Kao does not teach that the alternating stack comprises a first nitrogen-containing material, a silicon-containing material overlying the first nitrogen-containing material, a second nitrogen-containing material overlying the silicon-containing material, and an oxygen-containing material overlying the second nitrogen-containing material.
Lee teaches semiconductor structures including alternating layers comprising nitrogen-containing materials such as silicon nitride and oxygen-containing materials such as silicon oxide arranged in sequence within a stack (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stacked layers of Kao to include the specific arrangement of nitrogen-containing and oxygen-containing materials as taught by Lee because such layer arrangements are commonly used in semiconductor device fabrication to provide etch selectivity, barrier properties, and dielectric isolation between device structures. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. in view of Peter et al. and Kunze-Concewitz, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al.
Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 11 including features such as vias, trenches, or openings extending through stacked semiconductor layers during device fabrication (paragraph [0046]).
Kao does not teach that the feature has a height greater than or about 2 μm.
Takahashi teaches forming recessed features in semiconductor substrates having depths of at least about 4000 nm (4 μm) during semiconductor etching processes (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature of Kao with the feature dimensions taught by Takahashi because semiconductor fabrication commonly utilizes deep recessed structures to achieve desired device architectures and device scaling. Selecting a feature height greater than about 2 μm represents the routine application of known feature dimensions within the ranges commonly used in semiconductor processing. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 14, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. in view of Peter et al. and Kunze-Concewitz, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Xi et al.
Regarding claim 14, Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 11.
Kao does not teach that a pressure in the processing region is less than or about 1,000 Torr.
Xi teaches semiconductor cleaning processes performed in controlled processing environments, wherein the pressure of the reaction environment ranges from 0 mTorr to 10000 mTorr (paragraph [0048]). This disclosed range includes pressures less than or about 1,000 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the cleaning process of Kao at a pressure within the disclosed range of Xi because Xi teaches that chamber pressure is a process parameter affecting vapor-based cleaning. Selecting a pressure within a disclosed range represents routine optimization of a result-effective variable. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 11.
Kao does not teach performing a pre-clean treatment on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor, nor does Kao teach filling the feature with water from a bottom of the feature with water to a top of the feature during such a pre-clean treatment.
Xi teaches performing cleaning treatments on semiconductor substrates prior to subsequent processing steps, including introducing water vapor into features formed in a substrate and condensing the vapor on feature surfaces (paragraphs [0057]–[0058]). The condensation of water vapor produces liquid water that accumulates along the surfaces of the features and would collect from lower portion of the feature toward upper portions, thereby filling the feature from the bottom to the top.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the pre-clean treatment of Xi prior to the native oxide removal process of Kao as modified by Peter because pre-clean treatments are commonly used in semiconductor fabrication to remove contaminants and improve the effectiveness of subsequent etching processes. Further, condensation of water vapor within recessed features would result in liquid accumulation from lower portions upward, thereby filling the feature from the bottom to the top. This represents the predictable use of known cleaning processes according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 18, Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 16.
Kao does not teach cooling the substrate prior to performing the pre-clean treatment or contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor.
Xi teaches performing an active cooling treatment during semiconductor cleaning in which water vapor introduced into features is cooled so that the vapor condenses into liquid on feature surfaces (paragraphs [0057]–[0059]). Xi further teaches that the condensed liquid accumulates along the feature surfaces and flows downward, carrying impurities, and provides specific temperature ranges for cooling treatment (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cool the substrate prior to performing the pre-clean treatment or contacting the substrate with the fluorine-containing precursor in the modified process of Peter in view of Kao and Xi because Xi teaches that active cooling of the substrate promotes condensation of water vapor within features. Thereby improving cleaning effectiveness and facilitating removal of contaminants. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that controlling substrate temperature to achieve desired condensation behavior represents the use of a known process parameter to improve cleaning performance, and selecting an appropriate cooling step would have been within the routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. in view of Peter et al. and Kunze-Concewitz, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhang et al.
The modified method of Peter in view of Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 11, including native oxide removal from silicon surfaces during semiconductor processing.
Kao does not teach providing a surfactant to the processing region with the fluorine-containing precursor wherein the surfactant comprises a hydrophilic hydrocarbon.
Zhang teaches introducing alcohol additives into a substrate processing region during fluorine-based oxide etching processes. Specifically, Zhang teaches that alcohols such as methanol, ethanol, and isopropyl alcohol may be introduced into the substrate processing region together with water vapor during fluorine-based oxide etching processes (paragraphs [0025], [0045]). Zhang further teaches that such alcohol additives reduce deformation forces and improve interaction of process fluids with patterned structures (paragraph [0025]).
The instant specification identifies alcohol compounds such as ethanol, acetone, and isopropyl alcohol as examples of the claimed surfactant (paragraph [0048]), which are hydrophilic hydrocarbons.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the alcohol additives taught by Zhang into the native oxide removal process of Kao because alcohol additives improve wetting and interaction of process fluids with patterned structures during semiconductor processing, thereby improving contact between the etching chemistry and surfaces within recessed features and improving process uniformity. Combining known additive chemistries with known oxide-etching processes represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. in view of Peter et al., Kunze-Concewitz, and Xi et al., as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Xu et al.
Kao teaches the semiconductor processing method of claim 16 including performing cleaning or surface preparation on semiconductor substrates during processing.
Kao does not teach maintaining a relative humidity in the processing region greater than or about 70%.
Xu teaches semiconductor oxide removal processes in which the relative humidity within the processing region is controlled and increased to greater than or about 50% during oxide removal to improve removal effectiveness (paragraphs [006], [0050], [0075], and [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the relative humidity within the processing region of Kao to a value greater than about 70% in view of Xu because Xu teaches that increasing relative humidity during oxide removal improves removal effeteness and enables additional oxide removal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting a relative humidity value at or above a known effective threshold (e.g., greater than about 50%) to further enhance oxide removal represents routine optimization of a result-effective variable. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Kao does not teach removing native oxide from the silicon-containing material and that Lee’s dry cleaning process does not cure the deficiency because Kao’s cited fluorine-containing process removes CFx polymer rather than native oxide. In view of Applicant’s argument, the rejection has been modified to rely on Peter, which teaches that a native oxide layer forms on exposed surfaces of an alternating silicon/silicon-germanium stack, that a wet pre-clean using dilute hydrofluoric acid partially removes the native oxide layer, and that a fluorocarbon gas comprising CF4 is formed into a plasma that removes the remaining native oxide layer (paragraphs [0052]–[0053]). Accordingly, Applicant’s argument concerning the prior Kao and Lee combination is moot in view of the modified rejection.
Applicant further argues that claim 3 is allowable because modified Peter in view of Kao teaches reducing height ratios and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Kao to include Xi’s high-aspect-ratio feature. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons set forth above. Kao’s discussion of reducing height ratios does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage use of high-aspect-ratio semiconductor features, and Xi teaches that high-aspect-ratio semiconductor structures greater than 10:1 were known.
Applicant further argues that claims 4 and 6 are allowable because Xi removes particulate impurities rather than native oxide. This argument is not persuasive because Xi is not relied upon to teach native oxide removal. Xi is relied upon to teach water-vapor introduction, condensation, and liquid accumulation within semiconductor features during cleaning, as set forth above.
Applicant presents no separate substantive arguments for the remaining dependent claims. The rejections are maintained or modified as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN L CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713