Attorney Docket Number: TSMP20231956US02
Filling Date: 02/15/24
Priority Date: 12/04/23
Inventor: Huang et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 1-10, 21-30 in the reply filed on 05/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2015/0279840 A1) in view of Ko et al (US 2020/0058793 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Huang discloses a method (Figures 1-13) comprising: forming a dielectric isolation region 22 (Para. 16) in a semiconductor substrate 20; forming a semiconductor fin 30 (Para. 17) adjacent to and higher than a top surface of the dielectric isolation region 22 (Fig. 12); forming a gate stack 29 (Para. 13) on the semiconductor fin 30; forming a source/drain region 30 joined to the semiconductor fin 30, wherein the source/drain region 30 is on a side of the gate stack 29; forming a source/drain silicide region 44 (Para. 24) on the source/drain region 30; performing a deposition process to form a contact etch stop layer (Para. 19) on the source/drain region 30 and spaced apart from the dielectric isolation region 22; forming an inter-layer dielectric (Para. 19) on and contacting the contact etch stop layer (contact through other layer like 42), wherein the inter-layer dielectric is further in contact with the dielectric isolation region (Para. 19); and forming a source/drain contact plug 42 (Para. 29) over and contacting the source/drain silicide region 44.
Huang does not explicitly disclose performing a selective deposition process to form a contact etch stop layer on the source/drain region.
However, Ko discloses a selective deposition process to form a contact etch stop layer on the source/drain region (Claim 7). Ko teaches the above modification is used to avoid oxidation during processes (Para. 99). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Huang etch stop layer process with Ko etch stop layer process as suggested above to avoid oxidation during processes (Para. 99).
Regarding claim 29, Huang further discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the inter-layer dielectric is further in physical contact (Para. 19, consider sequence as described) with the source/drain region 30.
Regarding claim 30, Huang further discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the inter-layer dielectric (Para. 19) is in physical contact with a downward-facing surface of the source/drain region, and is spaced apart from an upward-facing surface of the source/drain region 30.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1-10 and 21-27 are allowed.
6. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
7. The applied prior arts neither anticipate nor render the claimed subject matter obvious because they fail to teach the claimed method comprising: the conductive feature is selected from the group consisting of the source/drain region, the source/drain contact plug, and the gate contact plug; selectively depositing a first etch stop layer on the conductive feature, wherein the first inhibitor film prevents the first etch stop layer from being deposited thereon; and removing the first inhibitor film in combination with all other limitations as recited in claim 1.
8. The applied prior arts neither anticipate nor render the claimed subject matter obvious because they fail to teach the claimed method comprising: depositing an inter-layer dielectric over the first contact etch stop layer, wherein the inter-layer dielectric is in physical contact with both of the first contact etch stop layer and the shallow trench isolation region in combination with all other limitations as recited in claim 21.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817