DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 02/11/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 for further examination. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “height adjusting member” in claims 1-2, 4-5 & 8-9.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 13, line 2 recites the limitation “the same”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the same” as “a same”. To correct this problem, amend line 2 to recite “a same”.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-6 & 8-15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (US 20060158821 A1) hereinafter Miyashita (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Miyashita are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), comprising:
a first plate (1) having a first surface (see fig 1, top surface) and a second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) facing each other and a first hole (1f) extending from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) in the direction of the second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) ([0051]-[0053]; fig 1);
a second plate (3) on the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) of the first plate (1) and having a groove (4a) corresponding to the first hole (1f) ([0051]-[0053]; fig 1);
a coupling bolt (9) inserted into the first hole (1f) and the groove (4a) ([0051]-[0053]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1); and
a height adjusting member (10+2) spaced apart from the coupling bolt (9) in a plan view (see fig 1) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 2, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) has a second hole (1g) extending from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) in the direction of the second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) and spaced apart from the groove (4a) in the plan view (see fig 1), and wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) comprises a height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) inserted into the second hole (1g) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 3, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein a length of the height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) exposed through the first plate (1) is shorter than (see fig 1) a length of the coupling bolt (9) exposed through the first plate (1) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 4, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) further comprises a washer (2) on the height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) ([0051]; [0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0059]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 5, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) is a spacer (see fig 1) between the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 6, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises an inorganic insulating material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]).
As regards to claim 8, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) contacts (see fig 1) the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 9, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the second plate (3) is spaced apart (see fig 1) from the first plate (1) by the height adjusting member (10+2) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 10, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) are coupled to each other (see fig 1) by the coupling bolt (9) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 11, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) has a protrusion (1d) protruding from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) toward the second plate (3) ([0052]-[0054]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 12, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) comprise at least one selected from a metal material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]; [0051]-[0054]; [0062]).
As regards to claim 13, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) comprise a same metal material as each other ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]; [0051]-[0054]; [0062]).
As regards to claim 14, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), further comprising a base frame (17) electrically supporting the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0057]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 15, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the base frame (17) has an opening (16), and wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) are in contact with the opening (16) ([0053]-[0057]; fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita as applied to claim 6 above.
As regards to claim 7, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises an inorganic insulating material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]), however Miyashita does not disclose wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises a same material as the first plate and the second plate. However, Miyashita discloses made of an electrically insulating material so that the annular electrode member and the chuck main body can be kept in the electrically insulating state. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to comprises a same material as the first plate and the second plate so that the annular electrode member and the chuck main body can be kept in the electrically insulating state with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717