DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 10, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zang et al. (US 9,847,391; hereinafter “Zang”).
Re claim 1: Zang teaches (e.g. fig. 8) a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first semiconductor layer (semiconductor layer 12, 10; e.g. column 7, lines 7-9) having an upper portion (12) over a lower portion (10), wherein the lower portion (p-type region 10; e.g. column 7, line 7) is more heavily doped with first dopants (p-type) than the upper portion (n-type region 12; e.g. column 7, lines 8-9), the first dopants (p-type) being of a first conductivity-type (p-type); a source/drain feature (N+ region 40; e.g. column 5, lines 5-6) over (40 is above the level of 12) the upper portion (12) of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10), wherein the source/drain feature (40) includes second dopants (n-type) of a second conductivity-type (n-type) opposite to the first conductivity-type (p-type); a second semiconductor layer (16) spaced apart from the upper portion (12) of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10) and abutting the source/drain feature (40); a metal gate structure (42) wrapping around the second semiconductor layer (16); and a first contact structure (N well 21; e.g. column 7, line 10) under the lower portion (10) of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10) and electrically connected to the lower portion (10) of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10).
Re claim 4: Zang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: a second contact structure (silicidation, MOL, and BEOL form contacts and wiring for local interconnects; e.g. column 5, lines 46-53) over the source/drain feature (40) and electrically connected to the source/drain feature (40).
Re claim 9: Zang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the upper portion (12 is a doped n-type) of the first semiconductor layer (12) is substantially free (there is a net n-type conductivity, therefore is substantially free of p-type dopants) of the first dopants (p-type dopants).
Re claim 10: Zang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the lower portion (10) of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10) includes the first dopants (p-type) at a dopant concentration in a range of 1E19 atoms/cm3 to 1E20 atoms/cm3 (p-type dopants for proper PN junctions 13 are approximately 1x1019 atoms/cm3).
Re claim 21: Zang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor layer (lowest 16) extends lengthwise in a horizontal direction above the upper portion of the first semiconductor layer (12, 10).
Re claim 22: Zang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: a third semiconductor layer (highest 16) stacked above the second semiconductor layer (lowest 16), wherein the metal gate structure (42) wraps around the third semiconductor layer (highest 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The prior art of record fails to teach the claimed limitation of “metal gate structure wrapping around each of the semiconductor layers; an epitaxial feature abutting the semiconductor layers; a doped layer under the well, wherein the doped layer and the epitaxial feature include net dopants of opposite conductivity-types; a first contact structure under the doped layer and electrically connected to the doped layer; and a second contact structure over the epitaxial feature and electrically connected to the epitaxial feature.”
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898