DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Species 1 is Elected.
Amendment filed February 05, 2026 is acknowledged. New claim 21 has been added. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10, 12-13 and 15-16 have been amended. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are pending.
Action on merits of Species 1, claims 1-3 and 5-21 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites: “the pixel sensor of claim 1, further comprising: a first buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the n-type region; and a second buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the drain extension region”.
However, as shown in FIG. 3A, the transfer gate 314 is between the “first and second buffer oxide region”.
There is no support for the first and second buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the n-type region.
Similarly, claim 10 recites: “the pixel sensor of claim 8, further comprising: a first buffer oxide region above the p-type region and between the transfer gate and the n-type region; and a second buffer oxide region above the p-type region and between the transfer gate and the drain extension region”.
There is no support for the limitation.
Therefore, claims 3 and 10 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU (US. Pub. No. 2006/0084195) of record, in view of AMARI (US. Patent No. 8,937,349).
With respect to claim 1, LYU teaches a pixel sensor substantially as claimed, including:
a substrate (100);
a photodiode (PD) included in the substrate, the photodiode including:
an n-type region (156), and
a p-type region (155) over the n-type region (156); and
a transfer fin field effect transistor (finFET) (TG), configured to transfer a photocurrent from the photodiode (PD) to a drain region (160) of the pixel sensor, comprising:
at least a portion of the n-type region (156),
a drain extension region (160a) coupled to the drain region (160),
a channel fin (104) coupling the n-type region (156) and the drain extension region (160a), and
a transfer gate (120) at least partially surrounding the channel fin. (See FIGs. 4A-B).
Thus, Lyu is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the p-type region is spaced away from a top surface of the substrate; and channel fin being a plurality of channel fins.
However, AMARI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a substrate (101);
a fin field effect transistor (finFET), configured to transfer a current from a source region (112s) to a drain region (112Hd), comprising:
a drain extension region (112Ld) coupled to the drain region (112HD),
a plurality of channel fin (101c) coupling the source region (112s) and the drain extension region (112Ld), and
a transfer gate (111g) at least partially surrounding the channel fins (101c),
wherein the source region (112s) is spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate (101). (See FIGs. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the transfer finFET of LYU comprising the plurality of channel fins as taught by AMARI to increase effective channel width.
Regarding the limitation “p-type region being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate”, the source region (112s) being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate (101) (FIGs. 2-4), thus, in view of AMARI, the p-type region (155) of LYU would have been spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate as well.
Therefore, the limitation “wherein the p-type region being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate” is met.
With respect to claim 3, As best understood by the Examiner, in view of AMARI, the semiconductor device further comprises:
a first buffer oxide region (SZ, left) between the transfer gate (111g) and the source region (112s); and
a second buffer oxide region (SZ, right) between the transfer gate (111g) and the drain extension region (112Ld).
With respect to claim 5, in view of AMARI, the drain extension region (112Ld) is spaced away from a top surface of a silicon substrate.
With respect to claim 21, in view of KAWAGUCHI, the transistor further comprises: a metallization layer (114) above the substrate; and an interconnect (150) that electrically connects the drain region with the metallization layer. (See FIG. 14B).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU and AMARI ‘349 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KAWAGUCHI (US. Pub. No. 2010/0327345).
With respect to claim 2, LYU, in view of AMARI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 1 above including: a transfer gate (111g) at least partially surrounding the channel fins.
Thus, LYU and AMARI are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing another p-type region, below the transfer gate.
However, KAWAGUCHI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a transfer gate (122) at least partially surrounding a plurality of channel fins (108); and
another p-type region (130), below the transfer gate (122), configured to provide electrical isolation for the transfer gate. (See FIG. 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU further comprising another p-type region, below the transfer gate as taught by KAWAGUCHI to improve subthreshold characteristic of the transistor.
With respect to claim 7, in view of KAWAGUCHI, the channel fins further comprises:
an extension implant (132) over the plurality of channel fins (108); and
an oxide layer (162) over the extension implant (132).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU and AMARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RHODES et al. (US. Pub. No. 2005/0167708) of record.
LYU, in view of AMARI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 1 above including: the photodiode comprising the n-type region.
Thus, LYU and AMARI are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a plurality of deep n-type region below the n-type region.
However, RHODES teaches a pixel sensor including:
a photodiode (PD) comprising an n-type region (900); and
a plurality of deep n-type regions (901, 902) below the n-type region. (See FIG. 3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU, in view of AMARI, further including the plurality of deep n-type regions below the n-type region as taught by RHODES to minimize leakage.
Claims 8, 10, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU (US. Pub. No. 2006/0084195) of record, in view of AMARI ‘349 and KAWAGUCHI ‘345.
With respect to claim 8, LYU teaches a pixel sensor substantially as claimed including:
a substrate (100);
a channel fin (104) in the substrate;
an n-type region (156) coupled to the channel fin (104) at a first side of the channel fin;
a first p-type region (155) over the n-type region (156),
a drain extension region (160a) coupled to the channel fin (104) at a second side of the channel fin opposing the first side;
a drain region (160b) coupled to the drain extension region (160a); and
a transfer gate (120) above and surrounding at least three sides of the channel fins (104). (See FIG. 4A).
Thus, Lyu is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the channel fin being a plurality channel fins, wherein the first p-type region being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate; and a second p-type region below the plurality of channel fins.
However, AMARI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a substrate (101);
a plurality of channel fins (101c) in the substrate (101);
a source region (112s) coupled to the plurality of channel fins at a first side of the plurality of channel fins (101c); and
a transfer gate (111g) above and surrounding at least three sides of the plurality of channel fins (101c),
wherein the source region (112s) is spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate (101). (See FIGs. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the channel fin of LYU being a plurality of channel fins as taught by AMARI to increase effective channel width.
Regarding the limitation “the first p-type region being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate”, the source region (112s) being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate (101) (FIGs. 2-4), thus, in view of AMARI, the p-type region (155) of LYU would have been spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate as well.
Therefore, the limitation “wherein the p-type region being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate” is met.
Further, KAWAGUCHI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a substrate (102);
a plurality of channel fins (108) in the substrate (102);
a second p-type region (130) below the plurality of channel fins (108); and
a transfer gate (122) above the second p-type region (130) and surrounding at least three sides of the plurality of channel fins (108). (See FIG. 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU comprising the transfer gate above the second p-type region as taught by KAWAGUCHI to improve subthreshold characteristic of the transistor.
With respect to claim 10, As best understood by the Examiner, in view of KAWAGUCHI, the semiconductor device further comprises: a first buffer oxide region (140, left) above the second p-type region (130) and between the transfer gate (122) and the source region, thus, n-type region; and a second buffer oxide region (140, right) above the second p-type region (130) and between the transfer gate (122) and the drain region (113), hence extension region.
With respect to claim 13, in view of AMARI, the drain extension region (112Ld) is spaced away from the top surface of the substrate.
With respect to claim 14, the transfer gate (120) of LYU of KAWAGUCHI, is coupled to a gate electrode stack (TG).
With respect to claim 15, LYU teaches a pixel sensor substantially as claimed including:
a substrate (100)
an n-type region (156);
a first p-type region (155) over the n-type region (156);
a drain extension region (160a);
a channel fin (104) coupling the n-type region (156) and the drain extension region (160a); and
a transfer gate (120) at least partially surrounding the channel fin (104). (See FIG. 4A).
Thus, LYU is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the first p-type region being spaced away from the top surface of the substrate; channel fin being a plurality of channel fins; and a second p-type region below the transfer gate.
However, AMARI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a substrate (101);
a source region (112s), wherein the source region is spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate;
a drain extension region (112Ld);
a plurality of channel fin (101c) coupling the source region (112s) and the drain extension region (112Ld); and
a transfer gate (111g) at least partially surrounding the channel fin (101c). (See FIGs. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the channel fin of LYU being a plurality of channel fins as taught by AMARI to increase effective channel width.
Regarding the limitation “the first p-type region is spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate”, the source region (112s) of AMARI being spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate (101) (FIGs. 2-4), thus, in view of AMARI, the p-type region (155) of LYU would have been spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate as well.
Therefore, the limitation “wherein the p-type region is spaced away downward from a top surface of the substrate” is met.
Further, KAWAGUCHI teaches a semiconductor device including:
a substrate (102);
a plurality of channel fins (108) in the substrate (102);
a transfer gate (122) at least partially surrounding the plurality of channel fins (108); and
a second p-type region (130) below the transfer gate (122). (See FIG. 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU comprising the second p-type region below the transfer gate as taught by KAWAGUCHI to improve subthreshold characteristic of the transistor.
With respect to claim 20, in view of AMARI or KAWAGUCHI, the transistor further comprises: a plurality of isolation regions in between the plurality of channel fins.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of LEE et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0176581) of record.
LYU, in view of AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 8 above including transfer gate surrounding at least three sides of the plurality of channel fins.
Thus, LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the transfer gate being layers structure.
However, LEE teaches a semiconductor device including a finFET, wherein the transfer gate including:
a first titanium nitride layer (83);
a tantalum nitride layer over the first titanium nitride layer;
a second titanium nitride layer over the tantalum nitride layer;
a titanium aluminum layer over the second titanium nitride layer; and
a tungsten layer (88) over the titanium aluminum layer. (See FIG. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the transfer gate of LYU utilizing the layers structure as taught by LEE to form a gate electrode.
Note that layer 86 of LEE is a multilayer of two or more of the materials: TaN, TiN, TiAl.
Moreover, given a finite number of materials and their compounds, it is obvious to try without undue experimentation.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416., 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of GOTO (US. Pub. No. 2010/0176460) of record.
LYU, in view of AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 8 above including a transfer gate electrode (120c) coupled to the transfer gate (120b,c).
Thus, LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing an n-doped upper transfer gate electrode region over the transfer gate electrode.
However, GOTO teaches a semiconductor device including:
a transfer gate electrode (12a); and
an n-doped upper transfer gate electrode region (12b) over the transfer gate electrode (12a). (See FIG. 4E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the transfer gate of LYU including the n-doped upper transfer gate electrode over the transfer gate electrode as taught by GOTO for the same intended purpose of forming the transfer gate.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416., 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of RHODES ‘708 .
LYU, in view of AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 8 above including: the photodiode comprising the n-type region; and the first p-type region.
Thus, LYU, in view of AMARI and KWAGUCHI, is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a plurality of deep n-type region below the n-type region.
However, RHODES teaches a pixel sensor including:
a photodiode (PD) comprising an n-type region (900); and
a first deep n-type region (902);
a second deep n-type region (901) over the first deep n-type region (902). (See FIG. 3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU, in view of AMARI, further including the plurality of deep n-type regions below the n-type region as taught by RHODES to minimize leakage.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of NOZAKI et al. (US. Pub. No. 2013/0248937) of record.
With respect to claim 16, LYU, in view of AMARI and KAWAGUCHI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 15 above, including the drain extension region, the transfer gate and the second p-type region.
Thus, LYU, AMARI and KAWAGUCHI are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a cell p-well region (CPW) over a deep P-well region (PDW).
However, NOZAKI teaches a pixel sensor including:
a deep p-well region (DPW) (375); and
a cell p-well region (CPW) (370) over the DPW (375),
wherein the CPW (370) and the DPW (375) surround at least the drain region (320), the transfer gate (360) , and the second p-type region (385) . (See FIG. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the pixel sensor of LYU, in view of RISAKI, further including the cell p-well (CPW) over the deep p-well (DPW) as taught by NOZAKI to isolate one pixel from another.
With respect to claim 17, the CPW (370) of NOZAKI further comprises: an isolation structure (STI) that comprises one or more trenches.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYU, AMARI, KAWAGUCHI and NOZAKI, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of ENDO (US. Pub. No. 2011/0089513) of record.
With respect to claim 18, LYU, in view of AMARI, KAWAGUCHI and NOZAKI, teaches the pixel sensor as described in claim 17 above including the isolation structure (STI).
Thus, LYU, AMARI, KAWAGUCHI and NOZAKI, are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a field implant layer.
However, ENDO teaches a pixel sensor including:
an isolation structure (104) that comprises one or more trenches, wherein the isolation structure (104) further comprises a field implant layer (FIL) (116) on sidewalls and a bottom surface of the isolation structure (104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the isolation structure of LYU, in view of NOZAKI, further including the field implant layer (FIL) on sidewalls and a bottom surface of the isolation structure as taught by ENDO to keep the dark current arising from the vicinity of the isolation structure to a minimum.
With respect to claim 19, in view of ENDO, the isolation structure further comprises an oxide layer (104) over the FIR (116).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 05, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites: “The pixel sensor of claim 1, further comprising: a first buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the n-type region; and a second buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the drain extension region.”
Applicant argues:
[T]he Office Action alleges that there is no support for "a first buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the n-type region" and "a second buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the drain extension region," as recited in claim 3.
However, Applicant respectfully submits that paragraph 54 of the specification recites
"The buffer oxide region 358a may be included above and/or over a plurality of isolation regions 360, and between the transfer gate 314 and the n-type region 306a" (emphasis added). Therefore, at least paragraph 54 of the specification provides support for "a first buffer oxide region between the transfer gate and the n-type region," as recited in claim 3.
Further, paragraph 55 of the specification recites "The buffer oxide region 358b may be included above and/or over the plurality of isolation regions 360, and between the transfer gate 314 and the drain extension region 310" (emphasis added). Therefore, at least paragraph 55
However, as shown in FIGs. 3A, 5H, the “buffer oxide regions” 358a and 358b are formed on the n-type region 306a and the extension region 310, and on left and right sides of the transfer gate 314.
Therefore, the buffer oxide region is not between the transfer gate (314) and the n-type region (306a); and a second buffer oxide region is not between the transfer gate (314) and the drain extension region (310)”.
Therefore, claim 3 contravenes the disclosure.
Claim 10 recite similar limitations.
Therefore, claim 3 contravenes the disclosure.
The rejection of claims 3 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is, therefore, maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893