DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 04/08/2026.
4. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
5. Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, and 16-20 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
6. Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: “a power supply apparatus configured for supplying energy to the etchant gas sufficient to convert a portion of the etchant gas within the reactor to a plasma” [original claim 10].
Drawings
7. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “epitaxial deposition chamber” [claim 7]; “radiant heating assembly within the reactor chamber” [claims 8-9]; “first deposition chamber” [claim 16]; “first etch chamber” [claim 16]; “first coating chamber” [claim 16]; “first patterning chamber” [claim 16]; “first developing chamber” [claim 16]; “first epitaxial deposition chamber” [claims 17 and 19]; “first epitaxial deposition chamber further comprises a controller” [claim 19]; and “second epitaxial deposition chamber” [claim 20] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating apparatus” [claim 1, 4-6, 10, 12-13, and 15] – 114; radiant heating elements, resistive heating elements, or tubing through which a heated working fluid is forced [fig 1 & 0023].
“temperature measuring apparatus” [claim 14] – 116; temperature sensor [fig 1 & 0023].
“controller” [claim 19] - The specification fails to disclose sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited function (i.e. for establishing a ratio…) [see 112(a) and 112(b) rejection set forth below].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claims 7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 recites “epitaxial deposition chamber”. Absolutely nothing in the specification discloses an epitaxial deposition chamber.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 recites “first deposition chamber”, “first etch chamber”, “first coating chamber”, “first patterning chamber”, and “first developing chamber”. Absolutely nothing in the specification discloses the above limitations.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 recites “first epitaxial deposition chamber”. Absolutely nothing in the specification discloses a first epitaxial deposition chamber.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is rejected at least based on its dependency from claim 16.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 recites “first epitaxial deposition chamber comprises a controller”. Absolutely nothing in the specification discloses a first epitaxial deposition chamber, let alone, a first epitaxial deposition chamber comprising a controller.
Moreover, as set forth above, the specification fails to disclose sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited functions of the controller. As such, the claim fails to provide notice of the boundaries of the right to exclude by defining the limits of the invention. It is noted that a mere restatement of function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function fails to provide adequate written description [MPEP 2181(IV)].
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 recites “second epitaxial deposition chamber”. Absolutely nothing in the specification discloses a second epitaxial deposition chamber.
14. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 recites ““first epitaxial deposition chamber comprises a controller”. As set forth above, the specification fails to disclose sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited functions of said controller. As such, the claim is unclear because it fails to provide notice of the boundaries of the right to exclude by defining the limits of the invention [MPEP 2181(III)]. For purposes of prosecution on the merits, examiner is interpreting the “controller” to be a valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (US 5,735,993).
Regarding claim 1:
Yoshida teaches a system (plasma processing apparatus) comprising: a reactor chamber (vacuum reaction vessel, 10) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11]; and a heating apparatus (metallic resistor plate, 3) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11].
The limitations “for manufacturing an integrated circuit device”, “configured for etching a wafer, wherein the reactor chamber is configured to receive an etchant gas and maintain a predetermined processing pressure”, and “configured for heating the reactor chamber to a nominal reactor temperature Tn during a first portion of an etch period, wherein the nominal reactor temperature induces a first polymeric deposition rate DR1 on an upper surface of the wafer; and heating the reactor chamber to a polymerization temperature Tp during a second portion of the etch period, wherein the polymerization temperature induces a second polymeric deposition rate DR2 on the upper surface of the wafer and wherein DR2 is greater than DR1” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 2-6:
The limitations of claims 2-6 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 8-9:
Yoshida teaches the heating apparatus comprises a radiant heating assembly (3 transmits electromagnetic-waves – it is noted that radiant heat is transmitted through electromagnetic waves) within the reactor chamber (10) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11].
The limitation “the radiant heating assembly is configured for establishing the polymerization temperature Tp within the reactor chamber” is merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 5,735,993) as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Lam et al (US 2007/0181057).
The limitations of claims 1-6 and 8-9 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 7:
Yoshida does not specifically teach an epitaxial deposition chamber.
Lam teaches an epitaxial deposition chamber (epitaxial deposition reactor, 34) [fig 1 & 0016].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Yoshida to further comprise an epitaxial deposition chamber, as in Lam, to provide multiple chambers which perform various functions in order to perform a number of substrate processing operations [Lam – 0015-0016].
The limitations “configured for growing a first epitaxial semiconductor material on an exposed surface of the wafer; and growing a second epitaxial semiconductor on an exposed surface of the first epitaxial semiconductor material” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
20. Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 5,735,993) in view of Chang et al (US 2015/0278429).
Regarding claim 10:
Yoshida teaches a system (plasma processing apparatus) comprising: a plasma etch apparatus (vacuum reaction vessel, 10) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11]; and a heating apparatus (metallic resistor plate, 3) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11].
Yoshida does not specifically disclose a memory device configured for maintaining an IC design layout; a processor configured for retrieving the IC design layout from the memory device; analyzing the IC design layout for a region in which a poly etch spacing is less than a predetermined target spacing value; and in response to a poly etch spacing that is less than the predetermined target spacing value, modifying a wafer fabrication process to include an enhanced poly etch process.
Chang teaches a memory device (184) configured for maintaining an IC design layout (IC design layout, 122) [fig 2-3 & 0025-0026]; a processor (182) configured for retrieving the IC design layout (IC design layout, 122) from the memory device (84) [fig 2-3 & 0025-0026, 0028]; analyzing the IC design layout for a region in which a poly etch spacing is less than a predetermined target spacing value (analyzing the pattern wherein the pattern can be used to produce a number of structures including critical dimensions of the pattern, wherein the pattern may be modified to correct critical dimension errors in the wafer pattern) [fig 3 & 0029-0030]; and in response to a poly etch spacing that is less than the predetermined target spacing value, modifying a wafer fabrication process to include an enhanced poly etch process (operation 312 may be an etching process) [fig 3 & 0023, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the etch apparatus and process of Yoshida with a memory and processor configured for retrieving and analyzing IC design layout, as in Chang, to provide enhanced quality in wafer fabrication [Chang – 0048].
The limitations “for manufacturing an integrated circuit”, “configured for receiving and etching a series of semiconductor wafers in a reactor chamber, wherein the plasma etch apparatus is configured to receive an etchant gas and maintain a predetermined pressure”, and “configured for heating the reactor chamber to a nominal reactor temperature during a first portion of an etch process and induce a first polymeric deposition rate DR1 within the reactor chamber; heating the reactor chamber to a polymerization temperature during a second portion of the etch period and induce a second polymeric deposition rate DR2 on the upper surface of the wafer and wherein DR2 is greater than DR1” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 11-13 and 15:
The limitations of claims 11-13 and 15 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 14:
Yoshida teaches a temperature measuring apparatus (temperature measuring element, 6) configured for measuring a current temperature of a central region of the reactor chamber lid (2) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11].
21. Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al (US 2007/0181057) in view of Yoshida (US 5,735,993).
Regarding claim 16:
Lam teaches a system (system, 10) [fig 1 & 0016-0017] comprising: a first deposition chamber (36 can be configured to perform CVD) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; a first etch chamber (38 can be configured to perform etch) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; a first coating chamber (62 can be configured to perform CVD) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; a first patterning chamber (64 can be configured to perform a variety of substrate processing operations) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; a first developing chamber (66 can be configured to perform a variety of substrate processing operations) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; a first etching chamber (32 is a dry etch processor) [fig 1 & 0016-0017].
Lam does not specifically disclose a temperature controlled chamber lid on the first etching chamber.
Yoshida teaches a temperature controlled chamber lid (2) on a first etching chamber (10) [fig 1 & col 3-4, lines 52-11].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first etching chamber of Lam to include a temperature controlled chamber lid, as in Yoshida, to decrease the amount of deposits on the lid thereby increasing the stability of the etching condition [Yoshida – col 4, lines 40-57].
The limitations “for manufacturing an integrated circuit”, “configured for depositing sidewall material adjacent a polysilicon structure on an upper surface of a wafer”, “configured for etching the sidewall material to form a sidewall adjacent the poly silicon structure”, “configured for depositing a photosensitive material over the polysilicon structure and the sidewall”, “configured for exposing a predetermined portions of the photosensitive material”, “configured for removing a portion of the photosensitive material to form a poly etch pattern on the photosensitive material and thereby expose a portion of the polysilicon structure”, “configured for etching the exposed portion of the polysilicon structure, the duration of the etching being sufficient to remove a portion of the exposed polysilicon structure and form an epitaxial recess in the wafer”, and “for establishing and maintaining an elevated polymerization temperature within an etch chamber during a portion of the etching and thereby increase a polymer deposition rate” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claims 17-19:
Lam teaches a first epitaxial deposition chamber (34 is an epitaxial deposition reactor) [fig 1 & 0016-0017]; and the first epitaxial deposition chamber (34) further comprises a controller (apparatus is capable of turning on/off – therefore this controls the deposition) [fig 1 & 0016-0017].
The limitations “configured for growing a first epitaxial semiconductor structure from a surface of the epitaxial recess”, “configured for utilizing an etchant gas selected from the group consisting of CF4, Cl2, HBr, and mixtures thereof”, and “configured for establishing a ratio between a depth of the first epitaxial semiconductor structure and an epitaxial recess height, wherein the ratio is less than 6” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 20:
Lam teaches a second epitaxial deposition chamber (68 can be configured to perform epitaxial deposition) [fig 1 & 0016-0017].
The limitations “configured for establishing growing a second epitaxial semiconductor structure from a surface of the first epitaxial semiconductor structure” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Response to Arguments
22. Applicant has FAILED to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application.
23. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has FAILED to address the drawing objection directed to a “radiant heating assembly within the reactor chamber” [claims 8-9].
The remainder of the drawing objections have been withdrawn. However, the amendments have necessitated the new drawing objections set forth above.
24. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the objection of claim(s) 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim(s) 16 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim(s) 16.
25. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(f) interpretations for features having insufficient corresponding structure in the originally filed application have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(f) interpretations for features having insufficient corresponding structure in the originally filed application have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
However, the amendments set forth to overcome the 112(f) interpretations are clearly new matter. As set forth in the action mailed 01/05/2026, the features have insufficient corresponding structure in the originally filed application. Therefore, attempting to claim a corresponding structure is devoid of basic logic because the originally filed application does NOT set forth any corresponding structure. Thus, the amendments have necessitated the 112(a) rejections above.
Examiner also notes that the amendments have necessitated the new 35 USC 112(f) interpretations set forth above.
26. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 112(a) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments. However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection of claim(s) 7 and 16-20 under 35 USC 112(a).
27. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments. However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection of claim(s) 19 under 35 USC 112(b).
28. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 7 and 10-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yoshida is not configured to perform the claimed functions of claim 1.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is noted that Yoshida has a gas inlet (14) and a heating apparatus (3) [fig 1]. As such, Yoshida is capable of inletting a desired processing gas at a desired temperature and capable of using the heating apparatus to carry out a desired process on the wafer.
It is once again emphasized that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) [MPEP 2114].
Applicant argues that the motivation of Yoshida to “decrease the amount of deposits on the lid thereby increasing the stability of the etching condition” is opposite of the explicitly claimed features of increasing polymer deposition rate.
In response, it is noted that applicant has conflated polymer deposition rate on the wafer with decreasing an amount of deposits on the lid. These are two different things. Yoshida aims to decrease unwanted deposition on the lid.
The remainder of applicant’s arguments are directed to intended use limitations and are not persuasive for the same reasons as set forth above. Moreover, the assertion that the processing chambers of Lam are not structurally capable of performing the claimed functions are found unpersuasive in view of the breadth of the disclosure in Lam (i.e. can be configured to perform a variety of substrate processing operations) [0016-0017]. Applicant has claimed no specific structure (nor asserted any specific structure) necessary to carry out the claimed functions. It is noted that processing chambers are merely metal boxes. Such are capable of being fed any desired process material at any desired temperature to carry out a desired process. Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations. Where the claimed and prior art apparatus are identical or substantially identical in structure, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
29. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896