DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response Election/Restriction filed on 05/18/26.
Summary of claims
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 21-26 are rejected.
Claims 6-9 are objected.
Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 21-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hills et al. (US Pub. 2020/0082032).
As to claims 1 the prior art teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, a corresponding layout diagram being stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the layout diagram including a subset of transistor-to-well-edge-influenced (TWEI) cells, each TWEI cell including one or more transistors in one or more corresponding wells, the method comprising:
generating a netlist which represents the subset, the generating a netlist including: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for a given transistor in a given well in a given cell, expanding the netlist to include one or more proximity-effect- inducer (PEI) parameters, each PEI parameter being related to an intra-cell physical proximity of the given transistor to an edge of the given well (given well-edge) (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0122-0132 and 0202-0204).
As to claim 2 the prior art teaches wherein:
for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters include: a local PEI parameter; and a global PEI parameter (see fig 2-5 and 27-30 paragraph 0132-0138);
the local PEI parameter represents a distance between the given transistor and the given well-edge (see fig 2-5 and 27-30 paragraph 0130-0134);
the local PEI parameter is based on the global PEI parameter (see fig 2-5 and 27-30 paragraph 0148-0151);
and the global PEI is a variable common to the given cell and one or more additional cells represented in the netlist (see fig 2-5 and 27-30 paragraph 0202-0210).
As to claim 3 the prior art teaches wherein: the given transistor includes one or more fins; and the distance between the given transistor and the given well-edge is a distance between a nearest fin and the given well-edge, the nearest fin being one amongst the one or more fins that is nearest to the given well-edge (see fig 2-5 and 27-30 paragraph 0140-0145).
As to claim 4, the prior art teaches wherein: the local PEI parameter is based at least in part on an integral of an expected value of a first order distribution for scattered well dopants (see fig 2-7 and 26-30 paragraph 0144-0150).
As to claims 5 the prior art teaches wherein: the local PEI parameter is also based at least in part on an integral of an expected value of a second order distribution for scattered well dopants (see fig 2-7 and 25-30 paragraph 0148-0153).
As to claim 10 the prior art teaches further comprising:
performing a simulation of the semiconductor device, the simulation being based on the netlist (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0202-0208);
and revising the layout diagram based on results of the simulation resulting in a revised layout diagram (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0217-0220).
As to claim 11 the prior art teaches further comprising: based on the revised layout diagram, at least one of: (A) making one or more photolithographic exposure; (B) fabricating one or more semiconductor masks; or (C) fabricating at least one component in a layer of a semiconductor integrated circuit (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0170-0178).
As to claim 12, the prior art teaches wherein: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters include: a global PEI parameter, the global PEI being a variable common to the given cell and one or more additional cells represented in the netlist (see fig 2-4 and 24-30 paragraph 0216-0221).
As to claims 13 the prior art teaches wherein:
for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters include: a local PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 24-30 paragraph 0218-0224);
the local PEI parameter represents a proximity relationship between the given transistor and the given well-edge; and the local PEI parameter is a function of the global PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0221-0228).
As to claim 14 the prior art teaches wherein:
relative to a first direction, a first neighbor-specific PEI (NSPE) parameter represents a first distance from a first side of a subject cell to a first structure in a first neighbor cell that has a proximity effect upon the subject cell (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 216-0223);
and relative to the first direction, a second NSPE parameter represents a second distance from a second side of the subject cell to a second structure in a second neighbor cell that has a proximity effect upon the subject cell (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0222-0228).
As to claim 21 the prior art teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, a corresponding layout diagram being stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the layout diagram including a subset of transistor-to-well-edge-influenced (TWEI) cells, each TWEI cell including one or more transistors in one or more corresponding wells, the method comprising:
generating a netlist which represents the subset, the generating a netlist including: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for a given transistor in a given well in a given cell, expanding the netlist to include one or more proximity-effect- inducer (PEI) parameters, each PEI parameter being related to an intra-cell physical proximity of the given transistor to an edge of the given well (given well-edge) (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0122-0132 and 0202-0204);
and wherein the one or more PEI parameters include first and second neighbor-specific PEIs (NSPEs) (see fig 2-4 and 27-30 paragraph 0148-0153);
wherein, relative to a first direction, the first NSPE parameter represents a first distance from a first side of a subject cell to a first structure in a first neighbor cell that has a proximity effect upon the subject cell (see fig 2-4 and 26-30 paragraph 0151-0163);
and wherein, relative to the first direction, the second NSPE parameter represents a second distance from a second side of the subject cell to a second structure in a second neighbor cell that has a proximity effect upon the subject cell (see fig 2-4 and 26-30 paragraph 0207-0213).
As to claim 22, the prior art teaches wherein: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters further include: a global PEI parameter, the global PEI being a variable common to the given cell and one or more additional cells represented in the netlist (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0232-0238).
As to claims 23 the prior art teaches wherein: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters further include: a local PEI parameter; the local PEI parameter represents a proximity relationship between the given transistor and the given well-edge; and the local PEI parameter is a function of the global PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0236-0243).
As to claim 24 the prior art teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, a corresponding layout diagram being stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the layout diagram including a subset of transistor-to-well-edge-influenced (TWEI) cells, each TWEI cell including one or more transistors in one or more corresponding wells, the method comprising:
generating a netlist which represents the subset, the generating a netlist including: for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for a given transistor in a given well in a given cell, expanding the netlist to include one or more proximity-effect- inducer (PEI) parameters, each PEI parameter being related to an intra-cell physical proximity of the given transistor to an edge of the given well (given well-edge) (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0122-0132 and 0202-0204);
and for each TWEI cell represented in the netlist, and for the given transistor in given well in the given cell, the one or more PEI parameters include: a local PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 27-30 paragraph 0148-0155);
and a global PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0153-0158);
the local PEI parameter represents a distance between the given transistor and the given well-edge; the local PEI parameter is based on the global PEI parameter (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0209-0218);
and the global PEI is a variable common to the given cell and one or more additional cells represented in the netlist (see fig 2-4 and 22-30 paragraph 0217-0226).
As to claim 25 the prior art teaches wherein: the given transistor includes one or more fins; and the distance between the given transistor and the given well-edge is a distance between a nearest fin and the given well-edge, the nearest fin being one amongst the one or more fins that is nearest to the given well-edge (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0162-0168).
As to claim 26, the prior art teaches wherein: the local PEI parameter is based at least in part on an integral of an expected value of a first order distribution for scattered well dopants (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0182-0192).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851