DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 explicitly requires “anchors being directly attached to the crucible body.” Claim 9 explicitly requires “anchors are connected to a mat, the mat being attached to the inner surface of the crucible body.” Therefore, it is impossible to meet the limitations of claim 1 and claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (JP 2005-298288), an English computer translation (CT) is provided.
Kondo teaches a crucible 13 for holding a silicon melt 12, the crucible comprising: a crucible body having a floor and a sidewall extending up from the floor, the floor and sidewall defining a cavity for holding the silicon melt, the crucible body having an inner surface and an outer surface; and one or more anchors that extend into the cavity from the inner surface of the floor, the one or more anchors being directly attached to the crucible body (Fig 5-8; CT [0009]-[0010] teaches a quartz crucible with a pair of ring shaped protrusions 13b,13c formed on the inner bottom of the crucible wherein oxygen can also be dissolved into the silicon melt 12 through the pair of protrusions 13b and 13c, making it possible to obtain a silicon single crystal 24 having a uniform oxygen distribution in the axial direction).
Kondo does not explicitly teach five or more anchors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino et al by providing 5 or more anchors because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). It is noted that additional protrusions would increase the surface area to provide more oxygen.
Referring to claim 2, Kondo teaches each anchor has a lower end, upper end and a length that extends from the lower end to the upper end, each anchor 13b/13c changing in width along its length and having a largest width along its length, the largest width being spaced from the lower end of the anchor. Fig 7 is reproduced below to show the portion connected to the base of the crucible having a smaller diameter than the upper portion.
Referring to claim 3, Kondo teaches each anchor 13b/13c comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, at least part of the upper portion extends radially outward from the lower portion (See Fig 7-8).
Referring to claim 4, Kondo does not explicitly teach teaches the crucible has a longitudinal axis and each anchor has a longitudinal axis, the longitudinal axis of each anchor being angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the crucible. However, Kondo teaches curved bottom crucible and projections 13b/13c extending from the surface; therefore, the projections from the curved surface would be expected to be angles relative to the longitudinal axis. It is also noted that no angle range is recited; therefore, any angle would meet the claim, such as 0° or 0.0001°.
Referring to claim 5, Kondo does not explicitly teach the protrusion is made of quartz. Kondo implicitly teaches the protrusion is made of quartz because the protrusion is formed from the bottom of the quartz crucible. Furthermore, Kondo teaches a ring member made of quartz is inserted into a quartz crucible and dissolving oxygen from the ring member (CT [0005]). Kondo also teaches oxygen can be dissolved into a silicon melt through the pair of protrusions (CT [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kondo by making the protrusions from quartz because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Referring to claim 6, Kondo does not teach at least 10 anchors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino et al by providing 10 or more anchors because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.).
Referring to claim 7, Kondo teaches the floor comprises a rounded portion. (Figs 7-8 depicts a rounded corner portion of the floor). Furthermore, changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Referring to claim 8, Kondo does not explicitly teach the floor further comprises a flat portion. Changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04) and flat bottom crucibles are conventionally known in the art.
Referring to claim 10, Kondo teaches an ingot puller apparatus for producing a silicon ingot comprising: a growth chamber 11 for pulling a silicon ingot 24 along a pull axis; the crucible as set forth in claim 1, the crucible being disposed within growth chamber; and a side heater 18 disposed radially outward to the sidewall of the crucible body (Fig 1 and Fig 4).
Referring to claim 35, Kondo does not teach at least 15 anchors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hoshino et al by providing 15 or more anchors because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.).
Referring to claim 36, Kondo teaches protrusions 13b,13c formed on the inner bottom of the crucible, which clearly suggests anchors are bonded to the crucible body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 35-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johnson et al (US H520) teaches a crucible 30 used to contain a melt 31, and projecting upward a substantial distance into the melt from and integral with the bottom of the crucible 30 is a plurality of hollow, concentric cylinders 32, wherein cylinders 32 are made of the same material as the crucible 30 (i.e., silicon dioxide) to provide additional surface area which provides a source of oxygen for the melt 31 and the ingot 17 drawn therefrom by increasing the inside surface area-to-melt volume ratio (Fig 2-3; col 3, ln 1 to col 4, ln 40). Johnson et al also teaches although the exemplary embodiment shown in FIGS. 2 and 3 makes use of three concentric cylinders 32 the instant invention is not so limited (col 3, ln 1-67), which clearly suggests more cylinders, i.e. duplication of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
US 20160024684 teaches a flat bottom crucible 210 (Fig 1).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714