DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindfors et al (US 2003/0075925).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Lindfors et al teaches deposition source (source chemical container assembly 25), comprising: a first crucible 30; a second crucible 80 disposed inside the first crucible; a block (81, 82) disposed inside the first crucible, the block being disposed on at least a portion of the second crucible; and a cover 34 covering a top surface of the first crucible, the cover being disposed on the block. See Fig. 4 of Lindfors et al below.
Regarding claim 3. The deposition source of claim 1, wherein the second crucible includes a non-metal material. See Lindfors et al recites in [0027] that the inner/second crucible 80 is made of glass.
Regarding claim 10. The deposition source of claim 1, wherein the first crucible includes a metal material. See Lindfors et al recites in [0021] that the outer/first crucible 30 is made of metal.
Regarding claim 13. The deposition source of claim 1, further comprising: a sealing gasket disposed between the cover and the first crucible. See Fig. 4 of See Lindfors et al where a gasket 50 is illustrated in several locations along the apparatus and discussed in [0023].
Regarding claim 14. The deposition source of claim 13, wherein the sealing gasket is disposed between the cover and the block. See Fig. 4 of See Lindfors et al where a gasket 50 is illustrated in several locations along the apparatus and discussed in [0023].
Regarding claim 15. The deposition source of claim 1, wherein the second crucible stores a deposition material inside the second crucible. See Fig. 4 of Lindfors et al and [0027] of Lindfors et al where it is recited that a source chemical is contained in an inner container 80.
Fig. 4 of Lindfors et al
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al (JP 03064454 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
Regarding claim 17. The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al teaches a deposition source, comprising: a nozzle 1a that sprays a deposition material; and a crucible (inner/second crucible 1e and outer/first crucible 1d) connected to the nozzle, wherein the crucible includes a non-metal material, and the crucible stores the deposition material in an inside of the crucible. In the Machine Generated English Translation of the CONSTITUTION the inner crucible 1e is made of glassy carbon which is a nonmetal. See also in the last paragraph before the heading “Problem to be solved by the invention”, the prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al also recites the crucible is amde of BN/TiB2 composite material, graphite. See Fig 2 of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al illustrates that the deposition material is inside of the crucible.
Regarding claim 18. The deposition source of claim 17, wherein the inside of the crucible makes direct contact with the deposition material. See Figs. 2 and 5 illustrate that the deposition material is inside of the inner (second crucible 1e).
Regarding claim 19. The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al teaches a connection structure (wall 1c and cover 1b) connected to the first crucible and the nozzle,
Regarding claim 20. The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al teaches a cover (1b) covering a top surface of the crucible. See Fig. 2 of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al.
Fig. 2 of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsfors et al (US 2003/0075925) in view of Zou (US 2016/0230272).
The teachings of the prior art of Lindfors et al were discussed above.
Regarding claim 2. The prior art of Lindfors et al fails to teach the second crucible includes a protruding part, the first crucible includes a seating part, and the protruding part is seated on the seating part.
The prior art of Lindsfors et al fails to teach a tray such that it fails to teach:
Regarding claim 4. The deposition source of claim 1, further comprising: a tray disposed between the first crucible and the second crucible.
Regarding claim 5. The deposition source of claim 4, wherein the tray is disposed inside the first crucible, and the tray is disposed under the second crucible.
Regarding claim 8. The deposition source of claim 4, wherein the tray is coupled to the first crucible.
Recall the prior art of Zou teaches trays which are part of base 20.
Recall the teachings of Zou above. Note trays 21a-21d. According to [0039] of Zhou the number of recesses or trays 21a-21d and the number of blocks (metal barrels 40) is adjustable as a matter of design choice in order to achieve the best result of heating the crucible 90 contained in the evaporation source heating device 10. See Fig. 2A of Zou below where the blocks (metal barrels are spaced apart from each other and face each other. According to [0040] of Zou the heating element 60 transmits heat to the barrels and in vacuum condition the heat takes the form of thermal radiation that heats the barrels 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to provide blocks, trays, seating parts, and protruding parts in order to improve the heating of the inner/second crucible which holds the deposition material.
The prior art of Lindsfors et al fails to teach a tray:
Regarding claim 6. The deposition source of claim 4, wherein the tray includes a non-metal material.
Regarding claim 7. The deposition source of claim 4, wherein the tray and the second crucible include a same material.
See [0042] of Zou where the base 20 may be made of metal or thermal insulation ceramics or other materials. The material of construction of the tray and crucible are matters of design choice wherein the materials of construction of all the components of the apparatus including the tray and crucibles will be determined in order to ensure the components can withstand the physical and chemical stresses of the deposition environment. Lindfors et al. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to choose the material of construction of the tray and crucible as suggested by the teachings of Zou.
The prior art of Lindsfors et al fails to teach a tray such that it fails to teach:
Regarding claim 9. The deposition source of claim 8, wherein the tray is coupled to the first crucible with a bolt.
Note that the prior art of Lindfors et al teaches bolts 14 in [0006], [0019] and tensioning bolt 58 see [0024], [0025], [0028] but Lindfors et al fails to teach the bolt is located as claimed.
The prior art of Lindsfors et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 11. The deposition source of claim 1, wherein the block includes: a first block; and a second block spaced apart from the first block.
Regarding claim 12. The deposition source of claim 11, wherein the first block and the second block face each other.
Recall the teachings of Zou above. Note trays 21a-21d. According to [0039] of Zhou the number of recesses or trays 21a-21d and the number of blocks (metal barrels 40) is adjustable as a matter of design choice in order to achieve the best result of heating the crucible 90 contained in the evaporation source heating device 10. See Fig. 2A of Zou below where the blocks (metal barrels are spaced apart from each other and face each other. According to [0040] of Zou the heating element 60 transmits heat to the barrels and in vacuum condition the heat takes the form of thermal radiation that heats the barrels 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to provide blocks, trays, seating parts, and protruding parts in order to improve the heating of the inner/second crucible which holds the deposition material.
Fig. 2 of Zou
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsfors et al (US 2003/0075925) in view of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al (JP 03064454 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
The teachings of Lindsfors et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Lindsfors et al fails to teach a connection structure.
The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al teaches a crucible (inner/second crucible 1e and outer/first crucible 1d) for vapor source with a nozzle 1a that sprays the deposition material; and a connection structure (wall 1c and cover 1b) connected to the first crucible and the nozzle, wherein the connection structure transfers the deposition material to the nozzle. See Fig. 2 of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Lindfors et al with the teachings of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al to provide a connection structure in order to increase the surface area and path by which the deposition material is transferred to the nozzle.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al (JP 03064454 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Lindsfors et al (US 2003/0075925).
The teachings of the prior art Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 21. The deposition source of claim 20, further comprising: a sealing gasket disposed between the cover and the crucible.
Recall the prior art of Lindfors et al as taught above.
See Fig. 4 of See Lindfors et al where a gasket 50 is illustrated in several locations along the apparatus and discussed in [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al with the teachings of Lindfors et al to provide sealing gaskets between the cover and crucible to maintain the seal between the cover and crucible to control the chemicals entering and leaving the crucible which ensures product quality.
Regarding claim 22. See above in Fig. 2 of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al where a substrate holder 21 supports a wafer/substrate 18 and the crucible (deposition source) faces the substrate holder. The prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al fails to teach a deposition source with blocks.
The prior art of Lindfors et al teaches deposition source (source chemical container assembly 25), comprising: a first crucible 30; a second crucible 80 disposed inside the first crucible; a block (81, 82) disposed inside the first crucible, the block being disposed on at least a portion of the second crucible; and a cover 34 covering a top surface of the first crucible, the cover being disposed on the block. See Fig. 4 of Lindfors et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al by introducing it as the deposition source within the overall deposition apparatus of Lindsfor et al as both are inner/outer crucible type deposition sources where the structure are alternate designs to ensure the deposition material can be effectively distributed to the wafer.
Claims 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al (JP 03064454 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) in view of Lindsfors et al (US 2003/0075925) as applied to claims 21 and 22 above, and in further view of Zou (US 2016/0230272).
Recall the combined teachings of the prior art of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al as modified by Lindsfors et al especially as applied to claim 22.
The apparatus resulting from the modification of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al and Lindsfors et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 23. The deposition apparatus of claim 22, wherein the second crucible includes a protruding part, the first crucible includes a seating part, and the protruding part is seated on the seating part.
The prior art of Zou teaches an evaporation source heating device see Fig. 2A where a second/inner crucible 90 is provided in a first crucible (housing 80). See Fig 2A where the first crucible has a seated part (base 20) and the walls of the recesses are interpreted as protruding parts. See metal barrels 40 (40a-40c) are also interpreted as blocks. According to [0040] of Zou the heating element 60 transmits heat to the barrels and in vacuum condition the heat takes the form of thermal radiation that heats the barrels 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the apparatus of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al as modified by Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to provide blocks, trays, seating parts, and protruding parts in order to improve the heating of the inner/second crucible which holds the deposition material.
Regarding claim 25. The apparatus resulting from the modification of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al and Lindsfors et al further fails to teach: wherein each of the second crucible and the tray includes a non-metal material. See [0042] of Zou where the base 20 may be made of metal or thermal insulation ceramics or other materials. The material of construction of the tray and crucible are matters of design choice wherein the materials of construction of all the components of the apparatus including the tray and crucibles will be determined in order to ensure the components can withstand the physical and chemical stresses of the deposition environment. Lindfors et al. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al as modified by the apparatus of Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to choose the material of construction of the tray and crucible.
Furthermore, the apparatus resulting from the modification of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al and Lindsfors et al further fails to teach:
Regarding claim 24. The deposition apparatus of claim 22, wherein the deposition source further includes a tray disposed between the first crucible and the second crucible.
Regarding claim 26. The deposition apparatus of claim 22, wherein the block includes: a first block; and a second block spaced apart from the first block.
Regarding claim 27. The deposition apparatus of claim 26, wherein the first block and the second block face each other.
Recall the teachings of Zou above. Note trays 21a-21d see Fig. 2 According to [0039] of Zhou the number of recesses or trays 21a-21d and the number of blocks (metal barrels 40) is adjustable as a matter of design choice in order to achieve the best result of heating the crucible 90 contained in the evaporation source heating device 10. See Fig. 2A of Zou below where the tray is disposed between the first crucible and the second crucible and where the blocks (metal barrels are spaced apart from each other and face each other) to transmit heat to the barrels and in vacuum condition the heat takes the form of thermal radiation that heats the barrels 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the apparatus of Yamanishi, Kenichiro et al as modified by Lindfors et al with the teachings of Zou to provide blocks, trays, seating parts, and protruding parts in order to improve the heating of the inner/second crucible which holds the deposition material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seo et al (US 2011/0146579) see Figs. 1 and 2A where nozzles 335 are provided on the lid of the crucible 300 (evaporation source) which features inner (second) crucible 320 and outer (first) crucible 310 which distributes to substrate S which is held on substrate holder 500.
PJ Clough et al (US 2,665,223) teaches a crucible with an inner crucible 22 and an outer crucible 40.
Choe et al (US 2004/0042770) teaches a heating crucible 50 with a cover 40.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716