DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamato et al (EP 2539316, English equivalent of TW201139351 as cited by applicant).
Yamato et al disclose an acid generator having the following structure:
Wherein R1 is C3 to C30 cycloalkyl, Y may include NR4-C(=O)O or NR4-C(=S)O (instant NR2-C(=X3)X1), X is CH2 (instant X2), and Rf1is H, with Rf2-Rf4 being F as required by the instant claim 1 (formula (1) and (2)), with a sulfonium or iodononium cation ([0006]).
With respect to the instant claim 2, the reference teaches that cycloalkenyl groups may be present and in examples includes an aryl group (example compound 14), therefore R1 may be a cycloalkenyl, wherein the cycloalkenyl (unsaturated) group is aryl/ phenyl. The reference also demonstrate in the example that the ring may be substituted, and include a methyl group. However, the reference teaches that the R1 rings may be substituted by Z (instant R1, when m1 is 1-5), wherein Z includes halogen and in further examples, alkyl groups may generally be substituted by halogen atoms ([0006]
The resist is a positive or negative ([0113], [0128]-[0130]; instant claims 5 and 7) chemically amplified resist (instant claim 5) comprising a base polymer (instant claim 3; [0114]), wherein the resin may be a crosslinkable resin free of acid labile groups ([0156]), or wherein acid labile groups are present and the resin changes solubility in developer [0130], [0131]; (instant claim 3, 5, 6).
The reference discloses acid labile groups such as t-butyl esters and other tertiary carbon-containing esters groups, acetal groups, and more ([0137]-[0142]), wherein polymer backbones include t-butyl (meth)acrylates having a structure of (a1) of claim 4, wherein RA is H or alkyl, Y1 is a single bond and instant R11 is t-butyl, and styrenes having acetal blocking acid labile groups, wherein the instant (a2) is met with RA being H or alkyl, Y2, R14, Y3 each single bonds, and R12 forming an acetal group with -O- ([0144]-[0148]; instant claim 4).
Additional additives ([0214], [0219]) may be included, such as basic compounds (quencher; [0221]-[0225]; instant claim 9), a solvent ([0237]; instant claim 8), and a surfactant ([0238]; instant claim 10).
The reference material is used in a patterning forming method including steps as instantly claimed with exposure radiation within the claimed range including DUV, EUV, and ebeam ([0287]; instant claims 11 and 12):
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Yamato et al., choosing as the PAG, that as discussed above wherein the compound includes - NR4-C(=O)O or NR4-C(=S)O, wherein the resultant compound, composition, and method also meet the limitations of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (WO2012/018097).
Maruyama et al disclose a resist composition comprising a polymer (base resin; instant claim 3) and an acid-generator (PAG) for DUV, EUV, and ebeam lithography (abstract, [0002]; instant claim 12).
The PAG compound has a structure similar to that as claimed, wherein
R2 is a monovalent organic group including alkyl, cycloalkyl, either may have a hetero atom ([0007],[0008], [0013]-[0020]), R1 is preferably C=O.
Wherein examples include the following structure, wherein the instant R is cycloalkyl, R2 is H, X3 is O, X1 is O, X2 is alkyl, Rf1 is H and Rf2 to Rf4 is F.
The cations are sulfonium or iodonium, and the structure meets the limitations of the instant (1) and (2) when m1 is 0 (instant claim 1).
The resist may be positive or negative ([0260]; instant claims 5 and 7) and have a polymer B1 or B2, respectively ([0075]), wherein B1 changes solubility in developer and comprises an acid-labile group-containing resin, and B2 comprises a crosslinking resin having a phenolic -OH group and is free of acid labile groups (instant claims 5-7). .
The polymer preferably includes a compound having an acid-labile group of the instant formula (a1), wherein the instant R11 is a tertiary alkyl group, wherein two may join to form a ring ([0010], claim 4; instant claim 4).
The resist further comprises a qunecher (basic compound; [0215]-[0221]; instant claim 9), a surfactant ([0244]-[0247; instant claim 10), and a solvent [0252]-[0256]; instant claim 8).
The method of patterning includes the steps as claimed, wherein the composition is applied to a substrate, dried/ pre-baked to form a film, exposed to radiation (DUV, EUV, ebeam), then developed ([0257]-[0261]; instant claims 11 and 12).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Maruyama, choosing as the PAG, that as discussed above wherein the compound includes – NR2-C(=O)O, wherein the resultant compound, composition, and method also meet the limitations of the instant claims.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722