DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election (which is considered as without traverse since Applicants did not traverse) of claims 14-25 in the reply filed on 04/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/17/23 was/were received by the Examiner before the issuance/mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered (except for anything in foreign language non-accompanied by an English translation) by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2017/0301559).
a. Re claim 14, Wang et al. disclose a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate 310 (see fig. 3D and related text; see remaining of disclosure for more details); a first conductive post 321 (or 321&541) formed over the substrate; a second conductive post 323 (or 323&543) formed over the substrate; a flux material (461, 463; [0042]) disposed over a top surface of the first conductive post and second conductive post; a first electrical component 651 ([0042]) disposed over the flux material on the first conductive post; and a second electrical component 652 disposed over the flux material on the second conductive post, wherein the flux material maintains position of the first electrical component and second electrical component to avoid contact between the first electrical component and second electrical component (see [0043]).
b. Re claim 15, the flux material includes a flux print material ([0046]).
c. Re claim 17, the first conductive post (when it is 321&541) includes a first portion 321 of a first conductive layer 321-324 formed over the substrate and a first portion 541 of a second conductive layer 541-544 formed over the first portion of the first conductive layer; and the second conductive post (when it is 323&543) includes a second portion 323 of the first conductive layer formed over the substrate and a second portion 543 of the second conductive layer formed over the second portion of the first conductive layer.
d. Re claim 18, a thickness of the second conductive layer (thickness at the middle, which is the thickest, for each layer 541, 542, 543, 544) is greater than a thickness of the first conductive layer (this explicit on figs. 3C-D).
e. Re claim 19, the semiconductor device of claim 14, further includes an encapsulant (molded compound disclosed in [0044]) deposited over the first electrical component and second electrical component.
f. Re claim 20, Wang et al. disclose a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate 310 (see fig. 3D and related text; see remaining of disclosure for more details); a first conductive post 321 (or 321&541) formed over the substrate; a second conductive post 323 (or 323&543) formed over the substrate; a flux material (461, 463; [0042]) disposed over a top surface of the first conductive post and second conductive post; a first electrical component 651 disposed over the flux material on the first conductive post; and a second electrical component 652 disposed over the flux material on the second conductive post, wherein the flux material maintains separation between the first electrical component and second electrical component (see [0043]).
g. Re claims 21, 23, 24 and 25, see respectively claims 15, 17, 18 and 19 rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 22 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2017/0301559) in view of Morti et al. (US 2007/0145575, cited on IDS).
a. Re claim 16, Wang et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 14 as stated above except explicitly for the semiconductor device of claim 20, further including a pre-solder material disposed on a contact pad of the first electrical component and on a contact pad of the second electrical component, wherein the pre-solder material contacts the flux material with the first electrical component and second electrical component disposed over the flux material.
However, Morti et al. disclose providing a pre-solder layer 43 on a contact pad 41 of an electrical component 4 to be bonded to electrodes 31 bearing a flux 73 on their top surfaces (see fig. 9B, [0155]-[0158]).
As such, and noting that the pair of unlabeled rectangles on opposite sides of each components 651 and 652 are conventionally known in the art to represent contact pads (or electrodes) of surface mount components (SMT) such as components 651&652, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a layer of pre-solder on the contact pads of components 651 and 652, and this as a non-inventive step of applying a known boding technique in order to bond an electronic component to an electrode or interconnect structure or something obvious to try with a reasonable expection of success for enhanced bonding (see MPEP 2143. D&E).
b. Re claim 22, see claim 16 rejection above wherein the same rationale applies, noting that Wang et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 20 as stated above.
Conclusion
/PENIEL M GUMEDZOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899