DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazunao et al. (JP 2004-228218 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kazunao et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 3-13, a dividing method [0020] of a wafer (10) by which the wafer having device regions marked out by a plurality of planned dividing lines that intersect in a front surface is divided along the planned dividing lines, the dividing method comprising:
a back surface grinding step of grinding a back surface of the wafer ([0022], grinding back surface 10b of semiconductor wafer 10, Fig. 8);
a dividing step of dividing the wafer from the front surface along the planned dividing lines to form a plurality of chips ([0022], Fig. 9, semiconductor wafer (10) is separated into individual semiconductor chips 100); and
a first energy supply step of supplying energy to at least any part of edges, back surfaces, and side surfaces of the chips from the back surface of the wafer and melting the at least any part to repair at least part of processing strain ([0023]-[0024], irradiating the peripheral edge of the back surface of each semiconductor chip 100 with a laser beam/ [0027], the peripheral edge of the semiconductor chip 100 is melted). An energy supply step of repairing at least a part of the processing strain (the bonding strength of the semiconductor chip is weakened due to the influence of fine microcracks and strains / [0028], the internal stress (sigma, σ) generated inside the semiconductor chip is called the bonding strength / [0031], the semiconductor chip chamfered by irradiating the peripheral edge of the back surface of the semiconductor chip with a laser beam has a bonding strength four times that of a semiconductor chip of the same size divided by a conventional method / for these descriptions the bonding strength is improved by irradiation with a laser beam, that is, the internal stress, and the distortion is improved.
Regarding claim 2, Kazunao et al. discloses, as shown in Figures, a dividing method [0020] of a wafer (10) by which the wafer having device regions marked out by a plurality of planned dividing lines that intersect in a front surface is divided along the planned dividing lines, the dividing method comprising:
a processing groove forming step of forming processing grooves deeper than a finished thickness in the wafer from the front surface ([0020], Fig. 5, forming a dividing groove 111 along a street 101);
a back surface grinding step of grinding the wafer (10) to the finished thickness from a back surface of the wafer to divide the wafer and form a plurality of chips after execution of the processing groove forming step ([0022], Fig. 8, grinding the back surface 10b of the semiconductor wafer 10 having a protective member 8 attached to the front surface, exposing the dividing groove 111 on the back surface 10b, and dividing the wafer into individual semiconductor chips (dividing groove exposing step)); and
a first energy supply step of supplying energy to at least any part of edges, back surfaces, and side surfaces of the chips from the back surface of the wafer and melting ([0023], irradiating a peripheral edge of the back surface of each semiconductor chip 100 with a laser beam / [0027], the peripheral edge of the semiconductor chip 100 is melted), the at least any part to repair at least part of processing strain ([0003], the bending strength of the semiconductor chip is weakened due to the influence of fine microcracks and strains / [0028], the internal stress (sigma, σ) generated inside the semiconductor chip is called bending strength / [0031], a semiconductor chip chamfered by irradiating a peripheral edge of a back surface of the semiconductor chip with a laser beam has a bending strength four times that of a semiconductor chip of the same size divided by a conventional method).
Regarding claim 4, Kazunao et al. discloses the first energy providing step is a step of irradiating laser light ([0026]-[0031], the first energy providing step is a step of irradiating laser light).
Regarding claim 5, Kazunao et al. discloses a wavelength of the laser beam is a wavelength having absorbability with respect to the wafer ([0026]-0027, the wafer is melted and chambered 110).
Regarding claim 7, Kazunao et al. discloses the method further comprising: a second energy supply step of supplying energy to at least any part of the edges, the back surfaces, and the side surfaces of the chips from the front surface of the wafer and melting the at least any part ([0016]-[0017], a pulse laser beam having a predetermined repetition frequency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazunao et al. (JP 2004-228218 A).
Kazunao et al. discloses the claimed invention including the diving method as explained in the above rejection. Kazunao et al. further discloses at [0016]-[0017] and [0026] that the wavelength is set to a predetermined value (the YAG laser or YVO4 laser wavelength = 355 nm). Kazunao et al. does not the wavelength of the laser beam is a wavelength in a range of 500 to 1000 nm. However, the selection of these parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, speed, molar fraction, depth, thickness, range, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, range, etc., or in combination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Alter 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant' s claim 3 is allowable over the references of record because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed first energy supply step includes a side surface exposure step of pushing up chips of a supply target of the energy relatively compared with other chips and exposing side surfaces of the chips of the supply target of the energy, and the energy is supplied to the side surfaces exposed in the side surface exposure step, as recited in claim 3.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897