DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species II (claims 1-17, and 21-23) in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 thru 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizawa et al. US 2005/0233517 A1 in view of Zhu et al. US 2012/0168863 A1. Aizawa discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) a semiconductor structure 100 comprising: a bulk substrate 101; active structure 109, an antenna diode 104 merged in the bulk substrate 101; and an antenna metal structure 131/133/135/119 comprising a metal layer 131/133/135/119 disposed in a multi-layer interconnect (MLI) structure 131/133/135/119 over the bulk substrate 101, the antenna metal structure 131/133/135/119 being electrically connected to the antenna diode 104/107/109 and configured to dissipate charges generated in the MLI structure 131/133/135/119 to the bulk substrate through the antenna diode 104/107/109. In FIG. 2, Aizawa discloses the charges being discharged through the antennal metal structure 104/107/109 to the diffusion layer 107 in the bulk substrate 101. Aizawa does not disclose the active substrate isolated by an insulating layer and a heavily doped layer. However, Zhu discloses (see, for example, Fig. 2) an SOI layer 1011 being isolated by an insulating layer 1012, and a buried semiconductor layer 1013. In paragraph [0055], Zhu discloses the buried semiconductor layer 1013 may be doped as high as 1018 cm-3-1021 cm-3, which is well known as a heavily doped concentration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the active substrate isolated by an insulating layer and a heavily doped layer in order to protect the active substrate, and suppress short channel effects.
Regarding claim 22, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Aizawa discloses a topmost
metallization layer 119.
Regarding claim 23, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Aizawa discloses plurality of metal
layers 133, 119 that are interconnected by vias 131, 135.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 thru 17 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a semiconductor structure, comprising: a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate merged in the bulk substrate, the SOI substrate further comprising: a heavily doped layer comprising: a bottom portion extending horizontally; and a side portion extending circumferentially from a top end portion to a bottom end portion in a downward direction, wherein the top end portion is connected to the top surface of the bulk substrate, and the bottom end portion is connected to the bottom portion; an insulating layer disposed on and surrounded by the heavily doped layer; and an active substrate disposed on and surrounded by the insulating layer, where the active substrate is isolated by the insulating layer and the heavily doped layer and has a top surface coplanar with the top surface of the bulk substrate.
Regarding claims 11-17, the references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a semiconductor structure, comprising: a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate merged in the bulk substrate, the SOI substrate further comprising: a heavily doped layer comprising: a bottom portion extending horizontally; and a side portion extending circumferentially from a top end portion to a bottom end portion in a downward direction, wherein the top end portion is connected to the top surface of the bulk substrate, and the bottom end portion is connected to the bottom portion; an insulating layer disposed on and surrounded by the heavily doped layer; and an active substrate disposed on and surrounded by the insulating layer, where the active substrate is isolated by the insulating layer and the heavily doped layer and has a top surface coplanar with the top surface of the bulk substrate.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
April 22, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815