DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/18/2026 has been entered. Applicant's amendment to the Claims
have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated on 03/20/2026. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" with the
"Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject" filed on 06/18/2026, have been fully considered.
The Applicant’s arguments related to claim 1, “how element 120 remains following the description related to Figures 4 and 5 of Frougier… …Adding the conductive etch barrier layer of Yim to either side of the element 410 of Frougier would not change the characteristics of element 410, i.e., a low-k dielectric layer. Therefore, element 410 of Frougier would still function as an electrical insulator regardless of the presence of the conductive etch barrier layer of Yim… …to the extent that the Office attempts to completely replace element 410 of Frougier with the conductive etch barrier layer of Yim, such a modification would remove the functionality of element 410, violating MPEP 2143.01, and create a new ground of rejection”. These arguments are not persuasive because Frougier (US20230178620A1) indicates that other architectures can be applied in the device ([0042]), then, it may be possible to change the material of the layer 120 (in figure 30 as an insulative material 410 in [0069]) for a conductive material disclosed by Yim (US20220375935A1) to allow the electrical connection of the upper and lower channels and to protect the lower channel from reactive during the fabrication of the upper channels. In addition, a person in the art, looking to form CFET stacked devices, will have the Frougier’s invention showing isolated lower and upper channels and the Yim’s invention showing lower and upper channels connected by a conductive layer 52 ([0043]), then, a device including electrical connected lower and upper channels and isolated lower and upper channels can be formed as part of the desired architecture of the device. Finally, to modify the Frougier’s invention with the Yim’s conductive material does not remove the functionality of the device because the CFET is still operable after the modification.
The Applicant’s arguments related to claim 9, “The actual intermediate structure present in the final device of Frougier is a dielectric isolation layer that electrically isolates all of the upper and lower FETs. …"a first vertical assembly of the first array of vertical assemblies is configured to electrically connect the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern." Frougier explicitly describes the opposite conductivity. As Frougier states, "Disclosed embodiments include upper FET devices isolated from lower FET devices by a dielectric layer."… …the structure of Frougier is incapable to "electrically connect the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern". These arguments are not persuasives because all elements in a device as a whole are electrically connected, in other words they are configured to be electrically connected in any way with the whole device.
The Applicant’s amendment related to claim 21, "the conductive material is positioned in a second direction relative to the isolation structure, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction”. These arguments are not persuasives because Frougier (US20230178620A1) indicates that other architectures can be applied in the device ([0042]), then, it may be possible to change the material of the layer 120 (in figure 30 as an insulative material 410 in [0069]) for a conductive material disclosed by Yim (US20220375935A1) to allow the electrical connection of the upper and lower channels and to protect the lower channel from reactive during the fabrication of the upper channels, it does not remove the functionality of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as
being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, it recites the limitation “…an intermediate structure in the substrate between the first channel structure and the second channel structure…”. It is not clear how many portions include the intermediate structure; It appears to be a portion or layer situated between the first channel structure and the second channel structure. Therefore, it is indefinite. For the examination purpose, the limitation “…an intermediate structure in the substrate between the first channel structure and the second channel structure…” is interpreted as “…an intermediate structure in the substrate between the first channel structures and the second channel structures…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Frougier et al.
(US 20230178620 A1, hereinafter Frougier, of the record).
Re: Independent Claim 9, Frougier discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
Frougier’s Figure 30-Annotated.
a first array of upper channel structures (130-Up-1-channel a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30);
a first conductive pattern (1910 contacts for the upper FETs in [0099], Figs. 19,30) over and electrically connected to at least one upper channel structure (130-Up-1-channel Figs. 2,30) of the first array of upper channel structures (130-Up-1-channel a plurality Figs. 2,30);
a first array of intermediate structures (120-inter-1 a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30) below the first array of upper channel structures (130-Up-1-channel a plurality Figs. 2,30) in a first direction (horizontal direction);
a first array of lower channel structures (130-low-1-channel a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30) below the first array of first intermediate structures (120-inter-1 a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30);
a second conductive pattern (2920 gate contacts in [0099], Figs. 29,30) under and electrically connected to at least one lower channel structure (130-low-1-channel, Figs. 2,30) of the first array of lower channel structures (130-low-1-channel a plurality, Figs. 2,30);
wherein the first array of upper channel structures (130-Up-1-channel a plurality Figs. 2,30), the first array of intermediate structures (120-inter-1 a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30), and the first array of lower channel structures (130-low-1-channel a plurality in [0063], Figs. 2,30) are arranged to form a first array of vertical assemblies (first vertical, a plurality of vertical assemblies in [0003], Fig. 30-Annotated) and
a first vertical assembly (first vertical, [0003], Fig. 30-Annotated) of the first array of vertical assemblies (first vertical, a plurality of vertical assemblies, Fig. 30-Annotated) is configured to electrically connect (all elements in the device are electrically connected, Fig. 30-Annotated) the first conductive pattern (1910) and the second conductive pattern (2920); and
a via structure (via-1910 one of 1910 contacts connected to the upper FETs in [0099], Figs. 19,30-Annotated, Frougier), wherein the first array of vertical assemblies (first vertical, a plurality of vertical assemblies, Fig. 30-Annotated) is on (Fig. 30-Annotated) a first side of the via structure (via-1910) in a second direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 21 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frougier in view of Yim et al. (US 20220375935 A1, hereinafter Yim, of the record).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Frougier discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 30) comprising:
Frougier’s Figure 30-Annotated.
a substrate (substrate stacks of alternating nanosheet layers of differing semiconductor materials are epitaxially grown upon an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated) having a top surface (top surface of an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated) and a bottom surface (bottom surface of an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated);
a frontside conductive pattern (1910 contacts for the upper FETs in [0099], Figs. 19,30) on the top surface (top surface, Fig. 30-Annotated);
a backside conductive pattern (2920 gate contacts in [0099], Figs. 29,30) on the bottom surface (bottom surface, Fig. 30-Annotated);
a first upper channel structure (130-Up-1-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated);
a first intermediate structure (120-inter-1 made of material 410 in [0063, 0069], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated) below the first upper channel structure (130-Up-1-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30), and
a first lower channel structure (130-low-1-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated) below the first intermediate structure (120-inter-1),
wherein the first upper channel structure (130-Up-1-channel, Figs. 2,30), the first intermediate structure (120-inter-1, Figs. 2,30), and the first lower channel structure (130-low-1-channel, Figs. 2,30) comprise a first vertical assembly (first vertical, [0003], Fig. 30-Annotated) and establish an electrical connection (Fig. 30-Annotated) between the frontside conductive pattern (1910) and the backside conductive pattern (2920).
Frougier does not expressly disclose wherein the first intermediate structure comprises a conductive material.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Yim discloses wherein the first intermediate structure (52 etch barrier layer provided between the lower transistor and the upper transistor in [0043], Fig.3) comprises a conductive material (etch barrier layer 52 may be an electrical conductor in [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Yim’s feature wherein the first intermediate structure comprises a conductive material to Frougier’s device to protect the lower transistors from etchants that are used while the upper transistors are formed ([0043], Yim).
Re: Claim 2, Frougier modified by Yim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein: the first upper channel structure (130-Up-1-channel, Figs. 2,30, Frougier) comprises an N-type material (nFET in [0003], Frougier); and the first lower channel structure (130-Up-1-channel, Figs. 2,30, Frougier) comprises a low resistance material (130 made of silicon in [0056], Frougier).
Re: Claim 3, Frougier modified by Yim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2, further comprising: a second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30-Annotated, Frougier) in the substrate (Figs. 30-Annotated, Frougier); a second intermediate structure (120-inter-2 in [0063], Figs. 2,30-Annotated, Frougier) in the substrate (Figs. 30-Annotated, Frougier) below the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier); a second lower channel structure (130-low-2-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30-Annotated, Frougier) in the substrate (Figs. 30-Annotated, Frougier) below the second intermediate structure (120-inter-2, Frougier) ; a signal source (signal-1910 one of 1910 contacts connected to the upper FETs in [0099], Figs. 19,30-Annotated, Frougier) connected to the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier); wherein the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier) comprises a first transistor (in [0053], Fig. 30-Annotated, Frougier) and the second lower channel structure (130-low-2-channel, Frougier) comprises a second transistor (in [0053], Fig. 30-Annotated, Frougier) and the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier), the second intermediate structure (120-inter-2, Frougier), and the second lower channel structure (130-low-2-channel, Frougier) comprises a second vertical assembly (second vertical, [0003], Fig. 30-Annotated, Frougier); and a gate electrode (1610-gate in [0085], Figs. 15,30-Annotated, Frougier) between the first vertical assembly (first vertical, Frougier) and the second vertical assembly (second vertical, Frougier).
Re: Claim 4, Frougier modified by Yim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein: the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier) comprises an N-type material (130-Up-2-channel made of N type material in [0003], Frougier); the second intermediate structure (120-inter-2, Frougier) comprises an insulating material (in [0053], Frougier); and the second lower channel structure (130-low-2-channel, Frougier) comprises a P-type material (in [0003], Frougier).
Re: Claim 5, Frougier modified by Yim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein: the second lower channel structure (130-low-2-channel, Frougier) comprises a low resistance material (made of silicon in [0056], Frougier).
Frougier modified by Yim does not expressly disclose wherein: the second upper channel structure (130-Up-2-channel, Frougier) comprises an N-type material; the second intermediate structure comprises conductive material.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art looking to form a complementary FET, would have been able to obvious to try to choose one of two possible options, the first one is forming a FET transistor comprising P-type material, or the second one is forming a FET transistor comprising N-type material, this last option may be selected according to the electrical properties required by the device (see MPEP 2143.1 (e)).
Frougier modified by Yim does not expressly disclose wherein: the second intermediate structure comprises conductive material.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Yim discloses wherein the first intermediate structure (52 etch barrier layer provided between the lower transistor and the upper transistor in [0043], Fig.3) comprises a conductive material (etch barrier layer 52 may be an electrical conductor in [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Yim’s feature wherein the second intermediate structure comprises conductive material to Frougier’s device to protect the lower transistors from etchants that are used while the upper transistors are formed ([0043], Yim).
Re: Independent Claim 21, Frougier discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 30) comprising:
a substrate (substrate stacks of alternating nanosheet layers of differing semiconductor materials are epitaxially grown upon an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated) having a first surface (top surface of an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated) and a second surface (bottom surface of an underlying substrate, Fig. 30-Annotated) opposite the first surface (top surface, Fig. 30-Annotated);
Frougier’s Figure 30-Annotated.
a first conductive pattern (1910 contacts for the upper FETs in [0099], Figs. 19,30) on the first surface (top surface, Fig. 30-Annotated);
a second conductive pattern (2920 gate contacts in [0099], Figs. 29,30) on the second surface (bottom surface, Fig. 30-Annotated), wherein the second surface (bottom surface, Fig. 30-Annotated) is between the first surface (top surface, Fig. 30-Annotated) and the second conductive pattern (2920) in a first direction (vertical direction);
a first channel structure (130-Up-1-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated), wherein the first channel structure (130-Up-1-channel) is electrically connected (Fig. 30-Annotated) to the first conductive pattern (1910);
a second channel structure (130-low-1-channel in [0063], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated), wherein the second channel structure (130-low-1-channel) is electrically connected (Fig. 30-Annotated) to the second conductive pattern (2920);
an intermediate structure (intermediate comprising dielectric layers 410 and portions 1220 as showed as 1120 in Fig. 12, between upper and lower channels in [0021,0053,0063,0082], Figs. 2,30) in the substrate (Fig. 30-Annotated) between the first channel structures (130-Up-1-channel) and the second channel structures (130-low-1-channel), wherein the intermediate structure (intermediate) comprises an isolation structure (1220 in [0021,0053,0063,0082], Figs. 12,30); and
a first gate structure (1610-gate-1 in [0085], Figs. 15,30-Annotated, Frougier) over the first channel structure (130-Up-1-channel); a second gate structure (1610-gate-2 in [0085], Figs. 15,30-Annotated, Frougier) over the second channel structure (130-low-1-channel), wherein the isolation structure (1220 in [0021,0053,0063,0082], Figs. 12,30) is between the first gate structure (1610-gate-1) and the second gate structure (1610-gate-2) in the first direction (vertical direction).
Frougier does not expressly disclose wherein the intermediate structure comprises a conductive material and the conductive material is positioned in a second direction relative to the isolation structure, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Yim discloses wherein the intermediate structure (52 etch barrier layer provided between the lower transistor and the upper transistor in [0043], Fig.3) comprises a conductive material (etch barrier layer 52 may be an electrical conductor in [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Yim’s feature wherein the intermediate structure comprises a conductive material to Frougier’s device to protect the lower transistors from etchants that are used while the upper transistors are formed ([0043], Yim).
The combination of Frougier and Yim results wherein the intermediate structure (intermediate, Frougier) comprises a conductive material (Yim’s 52 applied to Frougier’s 410 to change the dielectric material of 410 to a conductive material 52) and an isolation structure (Frougier’s 1220), the conductive material (Yim’s 52 applied to Frougier’s 410) is positioned in a second direction (horizontal direction) relative to the isolation structure (Frougier’s 1220), and the second direction (horizontal direction) is perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment (claims 9 and 21) necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898