Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment of the claim, filed on 03/09/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-13 from the non-final office action (12/10/2025), by amending claims 1, 3 and 7-9, cancelling claim 2 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 8 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretations
The “an inlet portion configured to introduce electromagnetic waves into the plasma generation space” and “a choke configured to suppress emission of electromagnetic waves from the plasma generation space to the processing space via the plurality of through holes” of claim 1
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20190116762, from IDS, hereafter ‘762), in view of Taniike (JP 2021096934, from IDS, hereafter ‘934, US 20230005722 is cited as English translation), Cho et al. (US 20100006226, previously cited, hereafter ‘226), and Yang et al. (US 20020045362, hereafter ‘362).
‘762 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: PLASMA DRY CLEANING APPARATUS (title, includes the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”):
a chamber 10, a chuck 20 (Fig. 3, [0033], English translation, including the claimed “a chamber having a side wall and providing a processing space; a substrate support provided in the processing space”);
an upper RF electrode 51 and a lower RF electrode 52 ([0038], includes the claimed “a first electrode provided above the processing space; a second electrode provided above the processing space and below the first electrode”),
The upper RF electrode 51 is disposed above the plasma generation region, and the lower RF electrode 52 is disposed below the plasma generation region ([0039]), The ion suppression plate 80 may be disposed under the plasma generation region, for example, under the lower RF electrode 52 to allow the reactive active species to be supplied to the substrate 40 to pass therethrough and to suppress ions ([0052], includes the claimed “wherein the second electrode is configured to provide a plasma generation space between the first electrode and the second electrode and provides a plurality of through holes that guide active species generated in the plasma generation space into the processing space” and as shown in Fig. 3; the upper chamber portion surrounding the electrodes 51, 52 has to be a dielectric/insulator to avoid short circuit, a same material as Applicant’s inlet portion, therefore, reads into the claimed “an inlet portion configured to introduce electromagnetic waves into the plasma generation space”).
‘762 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) and a choke configured to suppress emission of electromagnetic waves from the plasma generation space to the processing space via the plurality of through holes,
wherein the choke comprises:
a dielectric member;
a peripheral edge portion of the second electrode;
(1B) a first conductor portion extending inside the chamber from the side wall of the chamber and being in contact with a bottom surface of the dielectric member,
(1C) the first conductor portion extending so that a position of an inner end of the first conductor portion is the same or substantially the same as a position of an inner end of the dielectric member; and
(1D) a second conductor portion provided outside the processing space and providing a cavity continuous to an outer end of the dielectric member, and
(1E) wherein the dielectric member is in contact with a bottom surface of a peripheral edge portion of the second electrode and protrudes inside the chamber with respect to the side wall.
Claim 3: wherein the second conductor portion is an exhaust duct providing the cavity connected to the processing space.
Claim 7: wherein the cavity extends below a top surface of the dielectric member.
Note Fig. 3 of ‘762 shows a step between the upper portion of the chamber 10 and the lower portion of the chamber 10 at the lower RF electrode 52.
‘934 is analogous art in the field of PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title). ’934 teaches that a dielectric ring 7 having an electromagnetic wave emission port (radio-frequency wave emission port) (Figs. 1-2, [0038], 2nd sentence, note the dielectric ring 7 is connected to the peripheral edge portion of the shower electrode 5), When the outside inner peripheral surface 6B and the inner peripheral surface 1A have a step therebetween rather than being flush with each other, there is a problem in that electric fields due to electromagnetic waves are concentrated to the stepped portion. Simply providing a groove creates an edge (a position where electric fields are concentrated). Electric field concentration may cause an unintended discharge or an increase of plasma intensity. When the outside inner peripheral surface and the inner peripheral surface are flush with each other, it is possible to suppress such a problem ([0052], 2nd sentence), When the outside inner peripheral surface 6B and the inner peripheral surface 1A have a step therebetween rather than being flush with each other, there is a problem in that electric fields due to electromagnetic waves are concentrated to the stepped portion. Simply providing a groove creates an edge (a position where electric fields are concentrated). Electric field concentration may cause an unintended discharge or an increase of plasma intensity. When the outside inner peripheral surface and the inner peripheral surface are flush with each other, it is possible to suppress such a problem ([0080, last two sentences, therefore, 7B3 of the dielectric is flush with the inner peripheral surface 1A of the processing container 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a dielectric ring 7 of ‘934 that flush with the chamber inner peripheral surface, to the peripheral edge of the second electrode/showerhead 52 of ‘762 (the limitations of 1A and 1C), for the purpose of suppressing unintended discharge, as taught by ‘934 ([0052], 2nd sentence).
‘226 is analogous art in the field of Apparatus For Generating Hollow Cathode Plasma And Apparatus For Treating Large Area Substrate Using Hollow Cathode Plasma (title), The hollow cathode 540 is disposed inside the process chamber 510. A plurality of lower grooves 541 in which plasma is generated is defined in a bottom surface of the hollow cathode 540 (Fig. 8, [0140], i.e., a showerhead). Fig. 8 of ’226 shows the process chamber 510 includes a top annular flange (the claimed “first conductor”) extending inside the chamber and flush with the dielectric above it (the shaded part above it has to be a dielectric lest it short the plasma circuit).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of lower portion of chamber 10 of ‘762 with an inner annular flange that in contact (and flush with the dielectric imported from ‘934) (the limitations of 1B and 1E), as taught by ‘226 while maintaining the advantage of ‘934 of suppressing unintended discharge. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966.
‘362 is analogous art in the field of a low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) chamber (Fig. 1, [0036]), abstract), including plasma ([0083]), FIG. 1 illustrates a system controller or processor coupled to a power supply and a gas manifold ([0057]). ’362 teaches that Residual process gas is pumped from chamber 90 through pumping plate 85 to a collection vessel at a side of chamber body 45 (vacuum pump-out 31) ([0042]), Pump 32 disposed exterior to apparatus 2 provides vacuum pressure within pumping channel 4140 (below channel 414 in FIGS. 1-3) to draw both the process and purge gases out of the chamber 90) through vacuum pump-out 31 ([0043]), Gas from first flow region 1000 enters second flow region 1010 through circumferentially located holes (gas holes 490) extending around first portion 464 of pumping plate 85 ([0065], 2nd last sentence, see Fig. 5), Pumping plate 85 comprises generally annular member 460. In one embodiment, member 460 is an integral piece comprising a process compatible metal, such as aluminum alloy or preferably C275 aluminum alloy ([0070]), for the purpose of facilitating uniform discharge of process gas through gas holes ([0077], 3rd sentence). Note all Figures show the inner edge of the aluminum pumping plate is at peripheral region of the face plate 25.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an exhaust channel/cavity 414, below the imported dielectric ring 7 of ‘934 to ‘762 (the limitations of 1D, 3 and 7), for the purpose of facilitating uniform discharge of process gas through gas holes, as taught by ‘362 ([0077], 3rd sentence).
‘762 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 11: portion of the chamber wall or an unlabeled ring between the electrode 51 and the electrode 52 as shown in Fig. 3, both have to be dielectric to avoid short circuit (includes the claimed “wherein the inlet portion is provided between the peripheral edge portion of the second electrode and a peripheral edge portion of the first electrode”).
Claim 12: Fig. 1 shows the claimed “wherein the first electrode provides a plurality of gas holes configured to introduce gas into the plasma generation space”.
Claim 13: second RF frequency is 10 MHz to 41 MHz (abstract, overlapping with VHF which is 30-300 MHz, includes the claimed “wherein the electromagnetic waves are VHF waves or UHF waves”).
The combination of ‘762, ‘934, ‘226, and ‘362 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 6: Susceptor 5 is raised into the upper processing position within process chamber 45 via conventional means, such as a hydraulic lift, so that wafer resides within central opening of plate 85 (‘362, [0082], 3rd sentence, Fig. 4 shows the susceptor 5 is raised above the bottom of the pumping plate 85, forming “an exhaust path”, see also Fig. 1 that holes 490 is very close to the bottom of the pumping plate 85, includes the claimed “wherein the substrate support and the exhaust duct provide therebetween an exhaust path connected to the cavity, wherein the exhaust duct provides a plurality of holes that connect the exhaust path and the cavity to each other, and wherein the first conductor portion extends above the exhaust path”).
Claim 9: pumping plate 85 includes (in this view) a vertical annular first stepped portion 464 that forms a circumferential edge of a longitudinal or vertical wall to face plate 25 (‘362, Fig. 6, [0065]), dielectric ring 7 of ‘934 is an annular ring to seal between the upper electrode 5 and the chamber (includes the claimed “wherein each of the dielectric member and the first conductor portion has a ring shape and extends around a center axis of the chamber”).
Claim 10: Fig. 6 of ‘362 shows the second flow region 1010, or pumping channel 414, has a ring shape (includes the claimed “wherein the cavity has a ring shape and extends around the center axis of the chamber”).
Alternatively, claims 1, 3, 7, and 9-13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, in view of ‘934, ‘226, ‘362, and Foster et al. (US 5628829, hereafter ‘829).
In case Applicants argue that the “an inlet portion” has to be a different component than the “a dielectric member” and/or “a chamber” of claim 1 and the unlabeled portion of Fig. 3 of ‘762 is a drawing artifact for claim 11.
Fig. 3 of ‘762 seems to have an unlabeled ring between electrodes 51 and 52.
‘829 is analogous art in the field of PECVD (abstract). ’829 teaches that Cylinder assembly 34 includes a cylinder 60 and an insulator ring 62 which electrically separates cylinder 60 and showerhead 36 whenever showerhead 36 is biased with RF energy. Cylinder 60 is preferably electrically grounded by ground line 61. The insulator ring 62 is preferably dimensioned in diameter and width as indicated by reference numeral 63 to ensure complete electrical separation between cylinder 60 and showerhead 36 along the entire attachment interface between the cylinder 60 and showerhead 36 (see FIG. 4) (col. 6, lines 6-15, see also Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an insulator ring 62 of ‘829, between the electrodes 51, 52 of ‘762 (also the limitation of claim 11), for the purpose of ensure electrical separation between electrodes, as taught by ‘829 (col. 6, lines 13-15) and for supporting the electrodes. Again, as the same structure as instant applications’ inlet portion, it is capable of “to introduce electromagnetic waves into the plasma generation space” of ‘762.
The rejection of claims 3, 7, 9-10, and 12-13 are discussed above.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘762, ‘934, ‘226, and ‘362 (optionally with ‘829), as being applied to claim 3 rejection above, further in view of Bercaw et al. (US 20070022959, hereafter ‘959).
The combination of ‘762, ‘934, ‘226, and ‘362 (optionally with ‘829) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 4: wherein the outer end of the dielectric member protrudes into the cavity in the exhaust duct.
‘959 is analogous art in the field of Deposition Apparatus For Semiconductor Processing (title), including CVD, ALD, PVD, and plasma ([0004]). ’959 teaches that A plurality of baffle holes or orifices 202 are formed in the upper portion 204 of baffle ring 200. Baffle holes 202 allow unreacted or byproduct gases to flow from the reaction zone 208 into exhaust plenum 216 (Figs. 1-4, [0032], 6th sentence), upper baffle ring 204 is composed of a ceramic. In some embodiments, top surface of upper baffle ring 204 mates with upper chamber shield 210 which is usually made of a similar material and serves to decrease the deposits of material on the lid 106 of deposition apparatus 100 ([0035], 3rd sentence), for the purpose of promoting uniform gas flow pattern and faster gas exchange ([0010], 5th sentence). Note Fig. 1, enlarged in illustration below, shows an inner portion of the ceramic/dielectric shield 210 is in contact with the peripheral edge of the gas distribution assembly 102 and penetrating into the exhaust plenum/ cavity 216.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a chamber shield 210, or to have extended the dielectric ring 7 of ‘934, into the cavity of 414 of ‘362, and then combined with ‘934 and ‘226, for the purpose of promoting uniform gas flow pattern and faster gas exchange, as taught by ‘959 ([0010], 5th sentence).
Claim 5 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 6 rejection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20030132319 is cited for the faceplate/showerhead 156 supported by isolator 146 which is over the lid plate 144 protrudes inside the chamber (Fig. 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716