DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s arguments/remarks of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on June 22nd, 2026, are acknowledged. Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-10 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2019/0172884, hereinafter as Shim ‘884).
Regarding Claim 1, Shim ‘884 teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a semiconductor layer (Fig. 3, (121b); [0068]) disposed on a substrate (110; [0068]) and including: a channel area (121b’, [0076]); a source area and a drain area (121b”; [0076]) that are disposed at both sides of the channel area (121b’); and a first opening portion (OP, Annotated; [0114]) disposed adjacent to the source area (see Fig. 3; [0088]); and a first electrode (123b; [0088]) overlapping and electrically connected to the source area and including an edge adjacent to the first opening portion.
Thus, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the edge of the first electrode is concave in a direction from the first opening portion toward the source area”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the edge of the first electrode is concave in a direction from the first opening portion toward the source area on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See Fig. 3 of Hwang (US 2014/0191238) as an evidence. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the edge of the first electrode is concave in a direction from the first opening portion toward the source area in order to improve the performance of the display device.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (OP)]
Fig. 3 (Shim ‘884_Annotated)
Regarding Claim 2, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the edge of the first electrode has an arc shape”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the edge of the first electrode has an arc shape on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. (see Figs. 4A and 4B of Kimura (US 2007/0139571) as evidence). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the edge of the first electrode has an arc shape in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 3, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a first sub-edge of the first electrode; and a second sub-edge of the first electrode, the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode intersect each other”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a first sub-edge of the first electrode; and a second sub-edge of the first electrode, the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode intersect each other on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see Fig. 17A of Kimura (US 2007/0139571) as evidence). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a first sub-edge of the first electrode; and a second sub-edge of the first electrode, the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first electrode and the second sub-edge of the first electrode intersect each other in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 4, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “an edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode is protrusive in a direction toward the source area or the drain area”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select an edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode is protrusive in a direction toward the source area or the drain area on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select an edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode is protrusive in a direction toward the source area or the drain area in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 5, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode has an arc shape”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode has an arc shape on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the edge of the first opening portion that is adjacent to the first electrode has an arc shape in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 6, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a first sub-edge of the first opening portion; and a second sub-edge of the first opening portion, the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion intersect each other”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a first sub-edge of the first opening portion; and a second sub-edge of the first opening portion, the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion intersect each other on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see Fig. 17A of Kimura (US 2007/0139571) as evidence). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a first sub-edge of the first opening portion; and a second sub-edge of the first opening portion, the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion extend in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the first sub-edge of the first opening portion and the second sub-edge of the first opening portion intersect each other in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim ‘884 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwack (US 2021/0020721, hereinafter as Kwac ‘721).
Regarding Claim 7, Shim ‘884 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a portion of the semiconductor layer is disposed between the edge of the first electrode and the first opening portion”
Kwac ‘721 teaches a portion of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 18, (310); [0137]) is disposed between the edge of the first electrode (321; [0140]) and the first opening portion (see Fig. 18).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shim ‘884 by having a portion of the semiconductor layer is disposed between the edge of the first electrode and the first opening portion for the purpose of improving reliability of light emitting diode device (see para. [0141]) as suggested by Kwac ‘721.
Regarding Claim 8, Kwac ‘721 teaches an insulating pattern layer (Fig. 18, (315); [0138]) disposed between the semiconductor layer (310) and the first electrode (321).
Regarding Claim 9, Kwac ‘721 teaches the insulating pattern layer (315) partially surrounds the first electrode (321), and the first electrode partially overlaps the source area or the drain area of the semiconductor layer (130), and a portion of the semiconductor layer is exposed, due to the insulating pattern layer (see Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 10, Kwac ‘721 teaches a second electrode (322; [0140]) overlapping and electrically connected to the source area or the drain area (see Fig. 18), wherein the semiconductor layer (310) further includes a second opening portion disposed adjacent to the source area or the drain area.
Thus, Shim ‘884 and Kwac ‘721 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “an edge of the second electrode is concave in a direction from the second opening portion toward the source area or the drain area”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select an edge of the second electrode is concave in a direction from the second opening portion toward the source area or the drain area on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select an edge of the second electrode is concave in a direction from the second opening portion toward the source area or the drain area in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 22nd, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-8 of the Applicant’s Response, applicants argue that “to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious requires that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and that one skilled in the art could have combined those elements. See KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1739 (2007); see also MPEP § 2143. MPSPE 2144.04 (IV) (B) Changes in shape: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Fig. 3 of Hwang (US 2014/0191238) as an evidence, shown the edge of the first electrode (173; [0049]) is concave in a direction from the first opening portion toward the source area. Thus, the concave shape for the electrode was obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art.
[AltContent: textbox (opening)][AltContent: arrow]
In response to applicant's argument that “in the rejections of claims 2-6 and 7-10, based on obviousness of design choice or insignificance of the configuration under In re Dailey is inappropriate and should be withdraw”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, as stated above, Fig. 3 of Hwang (US 2014/0191238) as an evidence, shown the edge of the first electrode (173; [0049]) is concave in a direction from the first opening portion toward the source area. Thus, the concave shape for the electrode was obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art. Because independent claim 1 is rejected, all dependent claims 2-6 and 7-10 are also rejected.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, Examiner maintains rejections.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893