DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Temperature controller (cooling element or heating element, para. [0057]) in at least claims 7, 13, 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180330951 to Kulshreshtha in view of US 20140057447 to Yang.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10, 15-17: Kulshreshtha discloses (claims 1, 10, 15) a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a plasma processing chamber (100 [chamber], Fig. 1); a substrate holder (128 [substrate support]) disposed in the plasma processing chamber (100), the substrate holder (128) being a lower electrode (128) of the plasma processing chamber (100);
a radio frequency (RF) electrode (142 [showerhead assembly]) disposed above the substrate holder (128) within the plasma processing chamber (100), the RF electrode (142) being an upper electrode (142) of the plasma processing chamber (100, para. [0027]);
an RF power source (165 [RF power source], Fig. 1) electrically coupled to the RF electrode (142) through an impedance matching circuit (173 [impedance matching circuit]), and a direct current (DC) power source (176 [DC power supply]) separate from the RF power source (165) and electrically coupled to the RF electrode (165) through an RF choke (177 [low pass filter], Fig. 1); (claim 2) wherein the DC power source (176) is electrically coupled to the RF electrode (142) through the RF choke (177); (claim 5, 17) wherein: the RF electrode (142) is an upper electrode (142) disposed over the substrate holder (128); the DC power source (176) is electrically coupled to the substrate holder (128) through the RF choke (177, para. [0023]).
However Kulshreshtha does not disclose the RF power source being configured to supply continuous wave RF power to the RF electrode, the continuous wave RF power comprising a frequency greater than 60 MHz or very high frequency (VHF); (claims 10, 16) the DC power source being configured to supply continuous wave DC power to the RF electrode, the continuous wave DC power being supplied concurrently with the continuous wave RF power; (claim 2) and further configured to supply the continuous wave DC power to the plasma processing chamber by supplying the continuous wave DC power to the RF electrode; (claim 5) and further configured to supply the continuous wave DC power to the plasma processing chamber by supplying the continuous wave DC power to the substrate holder; and the DC power applies a negative DC voltage to the substrate holder.
Yang discloses a RF power source (355 [RF power supply], Fig. 3) being configured to supply continuous wave RF power to the RF electrode (315/335, para. [0051]), the continuous wave RF power comprising a frequency greater than 60 MHz or very high frequency (VHF) (para. [0048]); the DC power source (360 [DC power supply], Fig. 3) being configured to supply continuous wave DC power to the RF electrode (315/335), the continuous wave DC power being supplied concurrently with the continuous wave RF power (para. [0049-0050]); (claim 2) and further configured to supply the continuous wave DC power to the plasma processing chamber by supplying the continuous wave DC power to the RF electrode (para. [0049-0050]), (claim 5) and further configured to supply the continuous wave DC power to the plasma processing chamber by supplying the continuous wave DC power to the substrate holder; and the DC power applies a negative DC voltage to the substrate holder (para. [0049-0050]), for the purpose of modulating the etch characteristics of the plasma (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Yang with motivation to modulate modulating the etch characteristics of the plasma.
Claims 3, 11: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang discloses the RF electrode (142, Fig. 1, Kulshreshtha) is an upper electrode (142) disposed over the substrate holder (128); and the DC power applies a positive DC voltage to the upper electrode (para. [0059], [0070], Yang).
Claims 8, 14, 20: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang discloses wherein: the RF electrode (142, Fig. 1, Kulshreshtha) is an upper electrode disposed over the substrate holder (128); and the RF electrode (142) is a direct carbon source (para. [0019], “direct carbon source” is interpreted as a gas that contains carbon as disclosed in the instant specification, para. [0045]).
Additionally, the courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Claim 12: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang discloses wherein the positive voltage is between 0 V and about 200 V (para. [0049-0050]).
Claim(s) 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulshreshtha view of Yang as applied to claims 1-2, 3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 20 above, and further in view of US 20170141002 to Karim.
Claims 4, 9: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang discloses (claim 9) an upper electrode (142, Fig. 1, Kulshreshtha) disposed over the substrate holder (128), the upper electrode (142) being a direct carbon source (para. [0019]).
The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang does not disclose (claim 4) wherein: the RF electrode is the substrate holder; and the DC power applies a negative DC voltage to the substrate holder; (claim 9) further comprising: wherein the RF electrode is the substrate holder.
Karim discloses disclose (claim 4) wherein: the RF electrode (140A [pedestal], Fig. 1A-1B) is the substrate holder (140A); and the DC power applies a negative DC voltage to the substrate holder (Fig. 7, para. [0084]); (claim 9) further comprising: wherein the RF electrode (140A) is the substrate holder (140A, para. [0042]), for the purpose of receiving RF signals from the RF power supply during wafer processing (para. [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Karim with motivation to receive RF signals from the RF power supply during wafer processing.
Claim(s) 6, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulshreshtha view of Yang as applied to claims 1-2, 3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 20 above, and further in view of US 20020005348 to Xu.
Claims 6, 18: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang does not disclose wherein the DC power source is further configured to supply the continuous wave DC power to the plasma processing chamber through a wall of the plasma processing chamber using a DC power vacuum feedthrough.
Xu discloses a DC power source (DC power source], para. [0027]) is further configured through a wall of the plasma processing chamber (108 [wall] of 102 [chamber]) using a DC power vacuum feedthrough (feedthrough [not shown but disclosed in para. [0027]) for the purpose of achieving substrate processing (para. [0027], abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feedthrough as taught by Xu with motivation to achieve substrate processing.
Claim(s) 7, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulshreshtha view of Yang as applied to claims 1-2, 3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 20 above, and further in view of US 20200049547 to Spyropoulos.
Claims 7, 13, 19: The apparatus of in Kulshreshtha view of Yang does not disclose further comprising a temperature controller thermally coupled to the substrate holder and configured to cool a substrate supported by the substrate holder during plasma processing.
Spyropoulos discloses a temperature controller (163/164/136 [temperature controller], Fig. 1) thermally coupled to the substrate holder (126 [substrate support]) and configured to cool a substrate supported by the substrate holder (126) during plasma processing (para. [0060]) for the purpose of selectively flowing coolant through the channels to cool the substrate support (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Spyropoulos with motivation to selectively flow coolant through the channels to cool the substrate support.
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718