DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 3 is not a black and white line drawing. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 (4th line from the end) recites “the line,” which lacks proper antecedent basis. There are two lines set forth before this recitation. To which line does this have reference?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,544,017 (hereinafter “Hall”).
Regarding claim 1 Hall discloses a winch, comprising:
a motor (302);
a driveshaft (S, see annotated fig. below) coupled to the motor (302), wherein the motor (302) rotates the driveshaft (S);
end plates (305) at opposite ends of the driveshaft (S) configured to support (at least indirectly) the driveshaft (S) between the end plates (305), and to allow rotation of the driveshaft (S);
a spool (301) fixed to the driveshaft (S) such that the motor (302) rotates the spool (301) by rotating the driveshaft (S);
a line (L, see above) attached to the spool (301), wherein rotation of the driveshaft (S) in a first direction causes the spool (301) to wind the line (L) onto the spool (301) and wherein rotation of the driveshaft (S) in a second opposite direction causes the spool (301) unwind the line (L) from the spool (301);
a rail (R) extending between the end plates (305), the rail (R) being linked via gears (G, see annotated fig. below) to the driveshaft (S) such that rotation of the driveshaft (S) to unwind the line (L) from the spool (301), rotates the rail (R) in a direction opposite the driveshaft (S);
a tensioning wheel (W; i.e. assumed to be similar to the other embodiments) configured to contact the line (L), the tensioning wheel (W) rotated by the rail (R) to thereby aid unwinding the line (L) from the spool (301); and
at least one support member (M) coupled between the end plates (305), generally parallel with and spaced apart from the rail (R), the support member (M) fixed to the end plates (305) such that the support member (M) keeps the end plates (305) and drive shaft (S) in alignment.
Regarding claim 2 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses wherein the support member (M) is a first rod.
Regarding claim 3 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses a second rod (M2; i.e. flat rod at bottom of assembly) coupled between the end plates (305), spaced apart from and parallel to the first rod (M).
Regarding claim 4 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses wherein the tensioning wheel (W) is held by a component (C) that includes a hole configured to receive the rod passing through the hole.
Regarding claim 5 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses wherein the spool (301) is configured to be positioned axially along the driveshaft (S).
Regarding claim 6 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses wherein the support member (M) is a first crossbar.
Regarding claim 7 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses second and third crossbars (308) wherein the crossbars are positioned radially around the driveshaft (S) and apart from the driveshaft (S) and each other.
Regarding claim 15 Hall discloses a winch, comprising:
a motor (302);
a driveshaft (S) coupled to the motor (302) and being driven by the motor (302) to rotate a spool (301) in a first direction and a second opposite direction, wherein the driveshaft (S) winds a line (L) onto the spool (301) as it is rotated in the first direction and off of the spool (301) as it is rotated in the second opposite direction;
end plates (305) at either end of the driveshaft (S) configured to allow the driveshaft (S) to rotate; and
at least two support members (M, M2) fixedly coupled to the end plates (305) and being generally parallel with the driveshaft (S), the support members (M, M2) being configured to withstand twisting forces caused by the motor (302) and the line (L).
Regarding claim 16 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses a tensioning wheel (W) configured to contact the line (L), to thereby aid in unwinding the line (L) from the driveshaft (S).
Regarding claim 17 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses wherein the at least two support members (M, M2) are crossbars, positioned apart from the driveshaft (S).
Regarding claim 18 Hall discloses the above winch, and further discloses a third crossbar (308) positioned radially around the driveshaft (S), and apart from the first and second crossbars (M, M2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of US 9,340,396 B2 (hereinafter “Hoffend”).
Regarding claim 8 Hall discloses a winch, comprising:
a motor (302);
a driveshaft (S, see annotated fig. below) coupled to the motor (302), wherein the motor (302) rotates the driveshaft (S);
end plates (305) at opposite ends of the driveshaft (S) configured to support (at least indirectly) the driveshaft (S) between the end plates (305), and to allow rotation of the driveshaft (S);
a spool (301) fixed to the driveshaft (S) such that the motor (302) rotates the spool (301) by rotating the driveshaft (S);
a line (L, see above) attached to the spool (301), wherein rotation of the driveshaft (S) in a first direction causes the spool (301) to wind the line (L) onto the spool (301) and wherein rotation of the driveshaft (S) in a second opposite direction causes the spool (301) unwind the line (L) from the spool (301);
a rail (R) extending between the end plates (305), the rail (R) being linked via gears (G, see annotated fig. below) to the driveshaft (S) such that rotation of the driveshaft (S) to unwind the line (L) from the spool (301), rotates the rail (R) in a direction opposite the driveshaft (S);
a tensioning wheel (W; i.e. assumed to be similar to the other embodiments) configured to contact the line (L), the tensioning wheel (W) rotated by the rail (R) to thereby aid unwinding the line (L) from the spool (301); and
at least one support member (M) coupled between the end plates (305), generally parallel with and spaced apart from the rail (R), the support member (M) fixed to the end plates (305) such that the support member (M) keeps the end plates (305) and drive shaft (S) in alignment.
Hall only teaches a single drum setup, and fails to teach a second spool, second line, second tensioning wheel, etc.
Hoffend teaches a similar winch with a drum (60A), a motor (54), and a drive shaft (58) which turns the motor. Hoffend further teaches:
a second spool (60B) mounted to the driveshaft (58) carrying a second line (40B) that winds onto the second spool (60B) as the driveshaft (58) rotates in a first direction and off of the second spool (60B) as the driveshaft (58) rotates in a second direction;
a second tensioning wheel (80B) configured to [guide] the [second] line (40B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the spools, lines, tensioning wheels, etc. of Hall, as taught by Hoffend with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to be able to lift a more diverse range of objects, some which require multiple lines to lift.
Regarding claim 9 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches wherein the support member (Hall M) is a first rod.
Regarding claim 10 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches a second rod (M2, i.e. flat rod at bottom of assembly) positioned radially offset from and parallel with the driveshaft (S).
Regarding claim 11 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches a second rail (Hall R, as duplicate above), the second rail (Hall R, as duplicate above) rotates the second tensioning wheel (Hall W, as duplicate above) to thereby aid in unwinding the second line (Hall L, as duplicate above) off of the second spool (Hall 301, as duplicate above).
Regarding claim 12 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches wherein the support member (Hall M) is a first crossbar.
Regarding claim 13 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches a second crossbar (Hall 308) positioned radially offset from and parallel with the driveshaft (Hall S).
Regarding claim 14 modified Hall teaches the above winch, and further teaches a third crossbar (Hall 308; i.e. Hall teaches two elements 308), wherein the three crossbars (Hall M, 308) are positioned apart from one another.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654