DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 3, “the first conducting layers has” should be changed to “the first conducting layer has”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagaila (9142431) in view of Hsu (6882057).
With regard to claim 1, Pagaila discloses a package (for example, Fig. 11b) with embedded traces (214, 216) comprising:
a main body (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 11b below) comprising: an insulating body (204); and a die (124) and multiple conductive traces (conductive layers 132 functioning as conductive traces) mounted in the insulating body (204), wherein the die (124) is electrically connected to the multiple conductive traces (132); and
multiple leads (222a, 222b, 222c) extending outward from the main body (A), and each of the multiple leads (222a, 222b, 222c) comprising:
a lead carrier (a lead 222b; or 222b, 222a; or 222a, 222b, 222c functioning as a lead carrier) integrally extending (as shown in fig. 11b) from the insulating body (A) and having two opposite surfaces (the bottom and top surfaces); and
first and second conducting layers (216, 226) formed on the two opposite surfaces (the bottom and top surfaces) of the lead carrier (222b) respectively and electrically connected to one of the multiple conductive traces (132) so that the first and second conducting layers (216, 226) of each lead are electrically connected to the die (124), wherein the first conducting layer (216) of each lead (a lead 222b; or 222b, 222a; or 222a, 222b, 222c) is embedded in the lead carrier (222b; or 222b, 222a; or 222a, 222b, 222c).
Pagaila does not clearly disclose each of the multiple leads, two gaps are respectively disposed at two sides of each lead carrier, and each gap is formed between one side edge of the lead carrier and one side edge of the first conducting layer.
However, Hsu discloses each of the multiple leads (referred to as “210A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below), two gaps (228) are respectively disposed at two sides (inner sides) of each lead carrier (210), and each gap (228) is formed between one side edge (sidewall edge 232) of the lead carrier (210) and one side edge of the first conducting layer (230). (for example, see fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Pagaila’s device to have each of the multiple leads, two gaps are respectively disposed at two sides of each lead carrier, and each gap is formed between one side edge of the lead carrier and one side edge of the first conducting layer as taught by Hsu in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Pagaila discloses the second conducting layers (226) has two side edges (referred to as “226A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 11b below) respectively aligning with the two side edges (222b1) of the lead carrier (222b).
With regard to claim 3, Hsu discloses each of the multiple leads (210A), the second conducting layer (referred to as “230B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) is also embedded in the lead carrier (210), and another two gaps (referred to as “228B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) are respectively disposed at the two sides (inner sides) of each lead carrier (210A), and each of the another two gaps (228B) is formed between the one side edge (inner side edge) of the lead carrier and one side edge of the second conducting layer (230B).
With regard to claim 4, Hsu discloses the first conducting layer (230) has a surface being
coplanar with and exposed from a bottom surface of the lead carrier (210), and has a trace width (referred to as “X1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) being smaller than a width (referred to as “X2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) of the lead carrier.
With regard to claim 5, Pagaila discloses the multiple leads (222a, 222b, 222c) extend outward from a same side (a bottom side) of the main body (A).
With regard to claims 6, 7, 10, Pagaila discloses the first and second conducting layers (216, 226) of each lead are electrically connected to each other through a conductive via (a conductive layer 314, forming a via or hole of the insulation body, functioning as a conductive via) formed in the main body (A).
With regard to claims 8, 9, Pagaila discloses the first and second conducting layers (216, 226) of each lead are electrically connected to each other through a conductive via (a conductive layer 314, or 314, 222b functioning as a conductive via) formed in the main body (A); or through a conductive via (a conductive layer 228a functioning as a conductive via) formed in (in vertical view) the main body (A).
Response to Amendment
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812