Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 11, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 4, 11, and 23 recites the limitation “the first sub-transistor" in line 6, lines 1-2, line 5, and line 6, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether “the first sub-transistor” relates back to “a first sub-transistor of the first transistor.”
For purpose of compact prosecution, “the first sub-transistor” will be treated as if it were “the first sub-transistor of the first transistor.”
Claims 3, 4, 11, and 23 recites the limitation “the second sub-transistor" in line 8, lines 3-4, lines 7-8, and line 6, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether “first sub-transistor” relates back to “a first sub-transistor of the first transistor.”
For purpose of compact prosecution, “first sub-transistor” will be treated as if it were “the first sub-transistor of the first transistor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18, 20, 22-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. 2023/0048014 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang).
Regarding Claim 1: Wang discloses a display device (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown below and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a pixel electrode (anode of a light-emitting device L) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above, ¶ [0075]- ¶ [0076], and ¶ [0117]); and
a pixel circuit (10, 20, and 30) electrically connected to the pixel electrode (anode of a light-emitting device L) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above, ¶ [0075]- ¶ [0076], and ¶ [0117])),
wherein the pixel circuit (10, 20, and 30) includes:
a first transistor (T61/T62) including a plurality of sub-transistors (T61/T62) electrically connected to each other through a first common node (N3) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above);
a second transistor (T21/T22) including a plurality of sub-transistors (T21/T22) electrically connected to each other through a second common node (N2) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above); and
a capacitor (C1) including a first electrode electrically connecting the first common node (N3) with the second common node (N2) and a second electrode disposed to overlap the first electrode and electrically connected to a direct current power source (Vinit) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above),
wherein the first electrode contacts the first common node (N3) and the second common node (N2) and extends between the first common node (N3) and the second common node (N2) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 2: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the first common node (N3), the second common node (N2), and the first electrode are integral with each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a first sub-transistor (T61) of the first transistor (T61/T62) and a second sub-transistor (T21) of the second transistor (T21/T22) are electrically connected to each other through source electrodes and drain electrodes of the first sub-transistor (T61) of the first transistor and the second sub-transistor (T21) of the second transistor (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above), and
the source electrode of the first sub-transistor (T61), the drain electrode of the first sub-transistor (T61), the first common node (N3), the first electrode, the second common node (N2), the source electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21), and the drain electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21) are electrically connected to one another and form a closed loop shape (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 3 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the source electrode of the first sub-transistor (T61), the drain electrode of the first sub-transistor (T61), the first common node (N3),
the first electrode, the second common node (N2), the source electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21), and the drain electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21) have a closed loop shape surrounding at least a portion of a gate electrode of the first sub transistor (T61) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the first common node (N3), the second common node (N2), and the first electrode are formed of a semiconductor material (doped region of source/drain region) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 6: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the second electrode overlaps the entirety of the first electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the first electrode and the second electrode have a same shape (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the first electrode includes: a first extension portion extended from the first common node (N3) in a second direction intersecting a first direction (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above);
a second extension portion extended from the second common node (N2) in the first direction (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above); and
a connection portion electrically connecting the first extension portion with the second extension portion (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 9 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the connection portion includes at least one curved portion (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 11: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 9 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a first sub-transistor of the first transistor (T61) and a second sub-transistor of the second transistor (T21) are electrically connected to each other through a source electrode and a drain electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above), and
the source electrode of the first sub-transistor (T61), the drain electrode of the first sub- transistor (T61), the first common node (N3), the first extension portion, the connection portion, the second extension portion, the second common node (N2), the source electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21), and the drain electrode of the second sub-transistor (T21) are electrically connected to one another and form a closed loop shape (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a direct current power line electrically connecting the direct current power source with the second electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 12 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a first driving voltage line, a first initialization voltage line, a second initialization voltage line, and a bias voltage line which are electrically connected to the pixel circuit (10, 20, and 30) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 14: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the direct current power line is one of the first driving voltage line, the first initialization voltage line, the second initialization voltage line, and the bias voltage line (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the direct current power line is the first driving voltage line (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above), and
the second electrode and the direct current power line (Vinit) are integral with each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the direct current power line is one of the first initialization voltage line, the second initialization voltage line, and the bias voltage line (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the second electrode and the first driving voltage line are separated from each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a connection electrode electrically connecting the direct current power line with the second electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 18 as above. Wang further teaches a data line disposed to be adjacent to the first electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above),
wherein the connection electrode is disposed between the data line and a first upper driving voltage line of the first driving voltage line (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 22: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the pixel circuit further includes:
a driving transistor electrically connected between the first driving voltage line and the pixel electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above); and
a first capacitor (C2) electrically connected between the first driving voltage line and a gate electrode of the driving transistor (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 23: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 22 as above. Wang further teaches wherein a first sub-transistor of the first transistor (T61) and a second sub-transistor of the second transistor (T21) are electrically connected to each other through source electrodes and drain electrodes of the first sub-transistor of the first transistor (T61) and the second sub-transistor of the second transistor (T21) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above), and
a contact point of the first sub-transistor and the second sub-transistor is electrically connected to the gate electrode of the driving transistor (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 24: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein gate electrodes of the plurality of sub-transistors included in the first transistor (T61/T62) are integral with each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above), and
gate electrodes of the plurality of sub-transistors included in the second transistor (T21/T22) are integral with each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 26: Wang discloses an electronic device (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a pixel electrode (anode of a light-emitting device L) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above, ¶ [0075]- ¶ [0076], and ¶ [0117]);
a plurality of composite gate transistors (T61/T62/T21/T22) electrically connected to the pixel electrode (anode of a light-emitting device L) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above, ¶ [0075]- ¶ [0076], and ¶ [0117]); and
a capacitor (C1) including a first electrode electrically connecting common nodes (N3 and N2) of at least two of the composite gate transistors (T61/T62/T21/T22) to each other and a second electrode disposed to overlap the first electrode and electrically connected to a direct current power source (Vinit) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above),
wherein the first electrode contacts the common nodes (N3/N2) of at least two of the composite gate transistors (T61/T62/T21/T22) and extends between those common nodes (N3/N2) (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 27: Wang discloses an electronic device as set forth in claim 26 as above. Wang further teaches wherein each of the composite gate transistors includes a plurality of sub-transistors electrically connected to a corresponding common node of a corresponding composite gate transistor (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 28: Wang discloses an electronic device as set forth in claim 26 as above. Wang further teaches wherein the common nodes of the plurality of composite gate transistors and the first electrode are integral with each other (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 29: Wang discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wang further teaches wherein one of the sub-transistors of the first transistor is connected to a node located between a driving transistor and the pixel electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2023/0048014 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang).
Regarding Claim 7: Wang discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein an area of the second electrode is wider than an area of the first electrode.
However, Wang teaches wherein an area of the second electrode and an area of the first electrode (see Wang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the an area of the second electrode than an area of the first electrode through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired resistance of electrode because the an area of the second electrode and an area of the first electrode is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2023/0048014 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Fu (U.S. Pat. No. 11,361,713 B1, hereinafter refer to Fu).
Regarding Claim 19: Wang discloses a display device as applied to claim 18 above. Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the connection electrode is disposed on a different layer from the direct current power line and the second electrode.
For support see Fu, which teaches wherein the connection electrode is disposed on a different layer from the direct current power line (Sn/S(i, 2)) and the second electrode (gate electrode of T2) (see Fu, Figs.9-10 as shown below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Fu to enable the connection electrode to be disposed on a different layer from the direct current power line and the second electrode as taught by Fu in order to electrically connect the direct current power line to the second electrode.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2023/0048014 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Wang (U.S. 2023/0180552, hereinafter refer to Wang’552).
Regarding Claim 21: Wang discloses a display device as applied to claim 20 above. Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the connection electrode, the data line, and the first upper driving voltage line are disposed on a same layer.
For support see Wang’552, which teaches wherein the connection electrode, the data line, and the first upper driving voltage line are disposed on a same layer (see Wang’552, ¶ [0002], ¶ [0020], ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0089]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Wang’552 to enable the connection electrode, data line, and first upper driving voltage line to be disposed on a same layer as taught by Wang’552 in order to realize an overall performance of the circuit in a limited space.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812