DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 17-33) in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Claims contain numerous references to “SE enhancement gas”. The term should be spelled out in full (secondary electron yield enhancement gas) at least once, to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al (US 2004/0038433) in view of Bret et al (US 2012/0273458).
With respect to Claim 1, Fischer et al discloses a method comprising: scanning an ion beam over a site of a chip (Figure 1, 24), the site of the chip comprising a member selected from the group consisting of an inspection of the chip and a repair site of the chip (paragraphs 5, 21 and 23); using a first gas nozzle (Figure 1, 62, one of the multiple nozzles in paragraphs 18-19) to provide a first SE enhancement gas (paragraphs 25-26, O2, water vapor) to the site of the chip and using a second nozzle (Figure 1, 62, another of the multiple nozzles) to provide a second SE-enhancement gas (paragraph 26, N2 ) to the site of the chip, wherein, the first SE- enhancement gas comprises a member selected from the group consisting of a first gas, a second gas, and a third gas; the second SE- enhancement gas comprises a member selected from the group consisting of the first gas, the second gas, and the third gas; the first gas comprises an oxidizing or reducing agent configured to change a work function of a material present at a surface of the site of the chip gas (paragraphs 25-26, O2, water vapor); the second gas comprises an inert gas (paragraph 26, N2) configured to neutralize a surface charge at the site of the chip; and the third gas (paragraphs 25 and 27 , XeF2) is configured to chemically remove sputtered material from the surface of the chip. See Figure 1 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 15-18 and 22-27.
Fischer et al differ from the Claims at hand in that Fischer et al disclose a semiconductor chip, and not a wafer as required by the Claims at hand.
Bret et al also pertains to inspections and repairing of semiconductor devices using focused ion beam, and discloses it is known in the art to use the process on individual chips as well as wafer-scale chips. See paragraph 108.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the process of Fischer et al on wafer scale chips, as disclosed by Bret et al, and arrive at the presently claimed limitations. The use of a known process for its known benefit, inspecting and repairing wafer scale chips, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 17. Moreover, Fischer et al disclose a first SE enhancement gas (paragraphs 25-26, O2, water vapor), a second SE-enhancement gas (paragraph 26, N2 ) and the third gas (paragraphs 25 and 27 , XeF2.
With respect to Claim 19, Fischer et al disclose wherein the site of a sample is arranged at a column axis of an ion beam column that provides the ion beam. See Figure 1 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 20, Fischer et al disclose “further comprising using a third gas nozzle to provide a third SE enhancement gas, wherein the third SE-enhancement gas comprises a member selected from the group consisting of the first gas, the second gas and the third gas”. See paragraphs 18-19 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 21, Fischer et al disclose the first gas is different from the second gas. See paragraphs 25-27 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 22, Fischer et al disclose the second gas is different from the third gas. See paragraphs 25-27 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 23, Fischer et al disclose wherein the first gas is different from the third gas. See paragraphs 25-27 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 24, Fischer et al disclose wherein the first gas is different from the second gas. See paragraphs 25-27 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 25, Fischer et al discloses the first gas is water or O2. See paragraphs 25-26 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 26, Fischer et al discloses the second gas is nitrogen. See paragraphs 25-26 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 27, Fischer et al discloses the third gas comprises XeF2. See paragraphs 26-27 of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 28, and the limitation “selecting the first and second SE-enhancement gases based on a material composition at the site of the wafer”, the selection of the specific gases would be a matter of optimization for a practitioner in the art.
With respect to Claim 29, the combined references make obvious the limitation “comprising determining the material composition of a layer at the site from CAD information of the wafer”. See paragraphs 17-18 of Fischer et al; and paragraph 98 of Bret et al.
With respect to Claim 30 and the limitation “adjusting the first and second SE-enhancement gases based on the material composition of the layer of the wafer”, the adjustment of the specific gases based on the material would be a matter of optimization for a practitioner in the art.
With respect to Claim 31, and the limitation, further comprising determining an end point of the milling operation, and stopping the scanning operation of the ion beam over the site of the wafer, stopping the milling when the repair is finished would be a matter of optimization for a practitioner in the art . See Figures 2A-2C of Fischer et al.
With respect to Claim 32, the combined references make obvious the limitation “ one or more machine readable hardware storage devices comprising instructions executable by one or more processing devices to perform the method of Claim 17”. See Figure 1 and corresponding text of Fischer et al; and Figure 1, paragraphs 96-99 of Brent et al.
With respect to Claim 33, the combined references make obvious the limitation the limitation “a system comprising one or more processing devices ; and one or more machine-readable hardware storage devices comprising instructions executable by one or more processing devices to perform the method of Claim 17”. See Figure 1 and corresponding text of Fischer et al; and Figure 1, paragraphs 96-99 of Brent et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
AGG
July 2, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812