DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claims 1 and 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed features because Kozakura’s tables are copied to backup storage during a system update, and in the event of a system failure during the system update, the backup copies of the tables can be used to restore the system to a previous state (col. 3, ll. 28-55); applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, the examiner is not relying on the combination of the references, not on Kozakura along, for the teaching/suggesting of the claimed features. By combining Kozakura’s accessing page table that was previously stored as backup data in response to system/transaction failure (col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55) with Macpherson, Danilak, and Chen’s accessing page state directory in response to page fault being detected, the resulting combination of the reference would further teach/suggest accessing page table that was previously stored as backup data in response to page fault/transaction failure.
In response to applicant's argument that Kozakura is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Kozakura is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned as Kozakura discloses use of a backup/master page table in response to a fault/failure.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the dependent claim 32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed features because Kozakura does not teach/suggest the claimed features; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, the examiner is not relying on the combination of the references, not on Kozakura along, for the teaching/suggesting of the claimed features.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the dependent claim 33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed features because Kozakura does not teach/suggest two different processors; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, the examiner is not relying on the combination of the references, not on Kozakura along, for the teaching/suggesting of the claimed features. Wherein Macpherson teaches/suggests two different processors (Fig. 1, ref. 130, 135) executing different instructions ([0018]) and Danilak teaches/suggests page faults being detected by two different processor (Fig. 1; and col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67)
i. REJECTIONS BASED ON DOUBLE PATENTING
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,741,015. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the computer system described in claim 1 of the instant application are taught/suggested in claims 1-3 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,741,015. (Please note that as both the instant and patented applications claimed similar subject matters, the examiner is selecting one of the independent claims from the instant and patented applications for the instant double patenting rejection)
II. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-2, and 4-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Macpherson (US Pub.: 2014/0082253) in view of Danilak (US Patent 7,623,134) Chen et al. (US Pub.: 2010/0118041), Kozakura (US Patent 5,724,581) and Herrell et al. (US Patent 5,301,287).
As per claim 1, Macpherson teaches/suggests a computer system, comprising: a first processor (Fig. 1, ref. 130); being coupled to the first processor (Fig. 1, ref. 130) and includes a first page table (Fig. 1, ref. 140), wherein the first page table includes one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings for a first set of memory pages included in a plurality of memory pages that are accessible by the first processor via a virtual memory address space (Fig. 1-2; and [0015]-[0023]); a second processor (Fig. 1, ref. 135); and being coupled to the second processor (Fig. 1, ref. 135) and includes a second page table (Fig. 1, ref. 150), wherein the second page table includes one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings for a second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access, operating with the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings included in the first page table and the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings included in the second page table, wherein at least one of the system memory or the local memory includes instructions that, when executed by at least one of the first processor or the second processor, cause the at least one of the first processor or the second processor to detect one or more page faults associated with the virtual memory address space, and to read one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings included in the page state directory in response to the one or more page faults being detected (Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; and [0034]).
Macpherson does not expressly teach the computer system comprising:
a system memory that is coupled accordingly; and
a local memory that is coupled accordingly, mapping included in the plurality of memory pages,
wherein the system memory also includes a page state directory that is a master page table for the virtual memory address space and includes virtual address-to-physical address mappings corresponding to,
to detect one or more page faults, and being included in the page state directory in response to the one or more page faults being detected.
Danilak teaches/suggests a computer system, comprising: a system memory (Fig. 1, ref. 120) that is coupled accordingly (Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67); and a local memory (Fig. 1, ref. 140) that is coupled accordingly (Fig. 1; and col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67), wherein the system memory includes page table (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 122-123) for the virtual memory address space and includes virtual address-to-physical address mappings, to detect one or more page faults, and operating in response to the one or more page faults being detected (Fig. 1; and col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67).
Chen teaches/suggests a computer system, comprising: mapping included in the plurality of memory pages (e.g. associated with shared space accessed by CPU and GPU via corresponding page tables: [0015]-[0017]; [0040]), including a page state directory ([0043]), being included in the page state directory ([0043]) (Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; and [0043]).
Kozakura teaches/suggests a computer system, comprising: page state data that is a master page table corresponding to (e.g. associated with backup page table being corresponding to current page table) (col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; and col. 3, ll. 28-55).
Herrell teaches/suggests a computer system, comprising: wherein the system memory also includes page state data (e.g. associated with shadow page table(s) being located in main memory) (col. 7, ll. 20-23).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Danilak’s storage architecture, Chen’s shared memory model, Kozakura’s backup page table, and Herrell’s shadow page table configuration into Macpherson’s computer system for the benefit of improving system performance (Danilak, col. 2, ll. 25-32), seamlessly sharing data structure between CPU and GPU (Chen, [0015]-[0017]), performing a failure recovery quickly (Kozakura, col. 3, ll. 53-55), and accessing data rapidly while maintaining security (Herrell, col. 2, ll. 59-61) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein an application, when executed by the first processor, can access any memory page included in the plurality of memory pages via a pointer that points to different virtual addresses across the virtual memory address space (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 4, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first page fault is issued when the first processor attempts to access a first memory page that is included in the plurality of memory pages but is not included in the first set of memory pages to which the first processor has access (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 5, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is migrated from the local memory to the system memory as part of a page fault sequence to provide the first processor with access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 6, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 5 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry is generated for the first page table as part of the page fault sequence, wherein the first entry indicates that the first processor has access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 7, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 5 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry that is included in the page state directory and corresponds to the first memory page is updated as part of the page fault sequence to reflect that the first memory page is accessible to both the first processor and the second processor (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 8, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 5 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry that is included in the page state directory and corresponds to the first memory page is updated as part of the page fault sequence to reflect that the first memory page is accessible to only the first processor (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first page fault is issued when the second processor attempts to access a first memory page that is included in the plurality of memory pages but is not included in the second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 10, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry is generated for the second page table as part of a page fault sequence to provide the second processor with access to the first memory page, wherein the first entry indicates that the second processor has access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 11, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 10 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry that is included in the page state directory and corresponds to the first memory page is updated as part of the page fault sequence to reflect that the first memory page is accessible to both the first processor and the second processor (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 12, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the system memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 13, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 10 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein a first entry that is included in the page state directory and corresponds to the first memory page is updated as part of the page fault sequence to reflect that the first memory page is accessible to only the second processor (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 14, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is migrated from the system memory to the local memory as part of the page fault sequence (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 15, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the page state directory includes a separate entry for each memory page included in the plurality of memory pages, and each separate entry includes a virtual memory-to-physical memory mapping for a corresponding memory page included in the plurality of memory pages (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23).
As per claim 16, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the page state directory includes a first entry that corresponds to a first memory page included in the first set of memory pages to which the first processor has access, and an ownership state for the first memory page comprises a CPU-owned ownership state indicating that only the first processor has access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 17, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 16 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the system memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 18, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the page state directory includes a first entry that corresponds to a first memory page included in the first set of memory pages to which the first processor has access, and an ownership state for the first memory page comprises a CPU-shared ownership state indicating that both the first processor and the second processor have access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 19, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is also included in the second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 20, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the system memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 21, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the page state directory includes a first entry that corresponds to a first memory page included in the second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access, and an ownership state for the first memory page comprises a PPU-owned ownership state indicating that only the second processor has access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 22, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 21 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the local memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 23, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the page state directory includes a first entry that corresponds to a first memory page included in the second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access, and an ownership state for the for the first memory page comprises a PPU-shared ownership state indicating that both the first processor and the second processor have access to the first memory page (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 24, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 23 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: where the first memory page is stored in the local memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 25, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the first processor comprises a central processing unit, and the second processor comprises a parallel processing unit (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 26, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 25 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein the parallel processing unit comprises a graphics processing unit (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 27, Macpherson teaches/suggests a computer-implemented method for accessing memory pages, the method comprising: receiving a memory access request for a first memory page, wherein the memory access request includes a first virtual memory address (e.g. associated with first/second processor executing instruction stored at corresponding physical memory location via corresponding request including virtual memory address: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]), the first memory page is stored in a memory coupled to a first processor based on the first virtual memory address and a first page table associated with the first processor (e.g. associated with data/instruction stored at physical memory address of memory being accessed by first processor via corresponding page table that translates virtual memory address to physical memory address: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]), the first page table including one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings for a first set of memory pages to which the first processor has access via a virtual memory address space (e.g. associated with first processor using corresponding page table for translating virtual memory address to physical memory address for accessing data/instruction: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]), or the first memory page is stored in a memory coupled to a second processor based on the first virtual memory address and a second page table associated with the second processor (e.g. associated with second processor using corresponding page table for translating virtual memory address to physical memory address for accessing data/instruction: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]), the second page table including one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings for a second set of memory pages to which the second processor has access (e.g. associated with second processor using corresponding page table for translating virtual memory address to physical memory address for accessing data/instruction: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]); and to provide at least one of the first processor or the second processor access to the first memory page (e.g. associated with first/second processor using corresponding page table for translating virtual memory address to physical memory address for accessing data/instruction: Fig. 1; [0018]-[0019]), operating with the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings included in the first page table and the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings included in the second page table (Fig. 1-2; and [0015]-[0023]).
Macpherson does not teach the computer-implemented method comprising:
determining either that memory page is not stored in a system memory, or that the memory page is not stored in a local memory;
in response to determining that the first memory page is either not stored in the system memory or not stored in the local memory, detecting a page fault; and
in response to the page fault being detected, executing a page fault sequence by reading one or more virtual address-to-physical address mapping included in a page state directory that is stored in the system memory to provide access to memory page, wherein the page state director is a master page table for the virtual memory address space and include a plurality of virtual address-to-physical address mappings corresponding to.
Danilak teaches/suggests a computer-implemented method comprising: determining either that memory page is not stored in a system memory, or that the memory page is not stored in a local memory (e.g. associated with page not in system memory or not in frame buffer memory: col. 1, ll. 44-57); in response to determining that the first memory page is either not stored in the system memory or not stored in the local memory, detecting a page fault (col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 3, ll. 33-43; col. 4, ll. 12-60); and in response to the page fault being detected, executing a page fault sequence by reading one or more virtual address-to-physical address mapping to provide access to memory page (col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 3, ll. 33-43; col. 4, ll. 12-60), includes information (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 122-123) for the virtual memory address space and include a plurality of virtual address-to-physical address mappings (e.g. associated with virtual-to-physical translation in the page table) (Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 44-57; and col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67).
Chen teaches/suggests a computer-implemented method comprising: being included a page state directory, wherein the page state director operated accordingly ([0043]) (Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; and [0043]).
Kozakura teaches/suggests a computer-implemented method comprising: page state data that is a master page table corresponding to (e.g. associated with backup page table being corresponding to current page table) (col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; and col. 3, ll. 28-55).
Herrell teaches/suggests a computer-implemented method comprising: a page state data that is stored in the system memory (e.g. associated with shadow page table(s) being located in main memory) (col. 7, ll. 20-23).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Danilak’s storage architecture, Chen’s shared memory model, Kozakura’s backup page table, and Herrell’s shadow page table configuration into Macpherson’s computer system for the benefit of improving system performance (Danilak, col. 2, ll. 25-32), seamlessly sharing data structure between CPU and GPU (Chen, [0015]-[0017]), performing a failure recovery quickly (Kozakura, col. 3, ll. 53-55), and accessing data rapidly while maintaining security (Herrell, col. 2, ll. 59-61) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 27.
As per claim 28, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 27 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer-implemented method comprising: wherein an application executing on the first processor can access any memory page included in the first set of memory pages and the second set of memory pages via a pointer that points to different virtual addresses across the virtual memory address space (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 29, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 27 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer-implemented method comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the system memory, and executing the page fault sequence comprises providing the second processor with access to the first memory page while the first memory page remains in the system memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 30, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 27 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer-implemented method comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the system memory, and executing the page fault sequence comprises moving the first memory page from the system memory to the local memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 31, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 27 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer-implemented method comprising: wherein the first memory page is stored in the local memory, and executing the page fault sequence comprises moving the first memory page from the local memory to the system memory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 44-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 32, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein detecting the one or more page faults comprises detecting a first page fault by determining, by a first application executing on the first processor, that a first virtual address-to-physical address mapping is not included in the first page table, and wherein reading the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings comprises reading, by a second application executing on the first processor, at least one virtual address-to-physical address mapping from the page state directory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 13-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 33, Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 32 above, where Macpherson, Danilak, Chen, Kozakura, and Herrell further teach/suggest the computer system comprising: wherein detecting the one or more page faults further comprises detecting a second page fault by determining, by a third application executing on the second processor, that a second virtual address-to-physical address mapping is not included in the second page table, and wherein reading the one or more virtual address-to-physical address mappings further comprises reading, by a fourth application executing on the first processor or the second processor, at least one other virtual address-to-physical address mapping from the page state directory (Macpherson, Fig. 1-2; [0015]-[0023]; [0034]; Danilak, Fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 13-57; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 67; Chen, Fig. 1; [0015]-[0025]; [0040]; [0043]; Kozakura, col. 1, ll. 23-24; col. 2, ll. 12-17; col. 3, ll. 28-55; and Herrell, col. 7, ll. 20-23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
III. PERTINENT RELATED PRIOR ART
Wingard (US Pub.: 2012/0117301): discloses master translation look aside buffer (TLB) stores virtualization and sharing information in the entries of the master TLB, a set of two or more translation look aside buffers (TLBs) locally store virtualization and sharing information replicated from the master TLB, and logic in the MMU or other software updates the virtualization and sharing information replicated from the master TLB in the entries of one or more of the set of local TLBs
IV. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 June 17, 2026