DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein, in the third operation, at least one of the second power to generate the second plasma, a supply amount of the second nitrogen- containing gas, and an exposure time to the second plasma are all increased or decreased in a stepwise manner according to an increase in a number of cycles. This is indefinite because it is unclear as to if at least one of, or all the conditions in the third operation increased or decreased in a stepwise manner according to an increase in a number of cycles. Also, the limitation step-wise manner is indefinite because it is unclear as to if the increase or decrease in values for the third operation are set before the third operation begins and the parameter values remain the same for the time duration of the entire third operation based on the number of cycles or if the third operation begins and the operation parameter values increase or decrease in discrete steps during the time of the third operation based on the number of cycles.
For purposes of examination on the merits, Claim 12 is interpreted to recite the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein, in the third operation, at least one of the following:
second power to generate the second plasma,
a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, or
an exposure time to the second plasma
increased or decreased based on an increase in the number of cycles
Claim 18 recites that the substrate processing method of Claim 6, wherein, in the third operation, at least one of the second power to generate the second plasma, a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, and an exposure time to the second plasma are all increased or decreased in a stepwise manner according to an increase in a number of cycles. This is indefinite because it is unclear if at least one of, or all the conditions in the third operation increased or decreased in a stepwise manner according to an increase in a number of cycles. Also, the term step-wise manner is indefinite because it is unclear as to if the increase or decrease in values for the third operation are set before the third operation begins and the parameters remain at the same values for the duration of time for the entire third operation based on the number of cycles or if the third operation begins and the operation parameter values increase or decrease in discrete steps as time passes based on the number of cycles.
For purposes of examination on the merits, Claim 18 is interpreted to recite The substrate processing method of Claim 6, wherein, in the third operation, at least one of the following:
second power to generate the second plasma,
a supply amount of the second nitrogen- containing gas, or
an exposure time to the second plasma
increased or decreased based on the number of cycles
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubota et al (US20220108881A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Kubota discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Fig. 11, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0039], (¶ [0010]), (¶ [0040]), (¶ [0043], ¶ [0055], ¶ [0036], ¶ [0046], ¶ [0045], ¶ [0050] that a substrate (402; Fig 6; ¶ [0037]) processing method of embedding a silicon nitride film (602; Fig 6; ¶ [0039]) in a recess formed (404 and 406; Fig 4; ¶ [0037]) in a surface of a substrate, the substrate processing method comprising: repeating a cycle (¶ [0010]), the cycle comprising:
a first operation (204; Fig 2; ¶ [0036]) of supplying a silicon precursor (¶ [0040]) to form an adsorption layer of the silicon precursor on the substrate (¶ [0030])
a second operation (206; Fig 2; ¶ [0036]) of supplying a first nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0040]) and supplying a first power (¶ [0043]) to an upper electrode (4; Fig 11; ¶ [0055]) to generate a first plasma (¶ [0043]), and exposing the substrate to the first plasma to nitride the adsorption layer and form the silicon nitride film (¶ [0043]); and
a third operation (208; Fig 2; ¶ [0036]) of supplying a second nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0045]) and supplying a second power (¶ [0046]) to a lower electrode (2; Fig 11; ¶ [0055]) to generate a second plasma different from the first plasma (¶ [0045]), and exposing the substrate to the second plasma to modify an upper portion of the recess (¶ [0046]) and form an adsorption-inhibiting area (702, 704, 706, 708, and 710; Fig. 7; ¶ [0046])
With respect to Claim 2, Kubota discloses in Fig.3 Table 1 that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein in the second operation (310, Fig. 3, ¶ [0050]) the first power supplied to the upper electrode has a frequency of 100 MHz or higher (310 and 314; Table 1 Plasma Frequency for periods 310 and/or 314; ¶ [0055]).
With respect to Claim 3, Kubota discloses in Fig. 3 and ¶ [0046] that the substrate processing method of Claim 2, wherein in the third operation (312; Fig.3, ¶ [0050]) the second power supplied to the lower electrode has a frequency ranging from 300 kHz to 30 MHz (¶ [0046]).
With respect to Claim 4, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0025], ¶ [0042] and ¶ [0045] that the substrate processing method of Claim 3, wherein an inert gas is continuously supplied in the first operation (¶ [0025]), the second operation (¶ [0042]), and the third operation (¶ [0045]).
With respect to Claim 5, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0045] that the substrate processing method of Claim 4, wherein the inert gas is selected from at least one of an Ar gas (¶ [0045]) or a He gas (¶ [0045]).
With respect to Claim 7, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0042] that the substrate processing method of Claim 6, wherein the first nitrogen-containing gas is selected from at least one of a N2 gas (¶ [0042]), a NH3 gas (¶ [0042]), and a mixed gas of the N2 gas and the H2 gas.
With respect to Claim 9, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0042] that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the first nitrogen-containing gas is selected from at least one of a N2 gas (¶ [0042]), a NH3 gas (¶ [0042]), and a mixed gas of the N2 gas and the H2 gas.
With respect to Claim 10, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0030] that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, further comprising: purging a gas inside a processing container between the first operation (¶ [0030]), the second operation (¶ [0030]), and the third operation (¶ [0030]).
With respect to Claim 11, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0049] that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the first operation and the second operation are defined as a first cycle (¶ [0049]), and the third operation is performed after repeating the first cycle a predetermined number of times (¶ [0049]).
With respect to Claim 15, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0041] the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the silicon precursor is selected from at least one of halogenated silane (¶ [0041]), aminosilane (¶ [0041]), and silylamine (¶ [0041]).
With respect to Claim 16, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0030] the substrate processing method of Claim 6, further comprising: purging a gas inside a processing container between the first operation (¶ [0030]), the second operation (¶ [0030]), and the third operation (¶ [0030]).
With respect to Claim 17, Kubota discloses in ¶ [0049] the substrate processing method of Claim 6, wherein the first operation and the second operation are defined as a first cycle (302; Fig. 3; ¶ [0049]), and the third operation is performed after repeating the first cycle a predetermined number of times (¶ [0049]).
With respect to Claim 20, Kubota discloses in Fig. 11 a substrate processing apparatus (1100; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]) comprising:
a stage (2; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]) provided inside a processing container (3; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]) and including a lower electrode (2; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]);
an upper electrode arranged to face the stage (4; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]);
a gas supplier configured to supply a gas to the processing container (21-27; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]);
a first power supplier configured to supply a first power to the upper electrode to generate a first plasma (30; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]);
a second power supplier configured to supply a second power to the lower electrode to generate a second plasma (30; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]); and
a controller (28; Fig. 11; ¶ [0055]),
wherein the controller repeatedly executes a cycle including (¶ [0057]):
a first operation of supplying a silicon precursor (¶ [0040]) to form an adsorption layer of the silicon precursor on the substrate;
a second operation of supplying a first nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0040]) and supplying a first power (¶ [0043]) to an upper electrode (4; Fig 11; ¶ [0055]) to generate a first plasma (¶ [0043]), and exposing the substrate to the first plasma to nitride the adsorption layer and form the silicon nitride film; and
a third operation of supplying a second nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0045]) and supplying a second power (¶ [0046]) to a lower electrode (2; Fig 11; ¶ [0055]) to generate a second plasma different from the first plasma, and exposing the substrate to the second plasma to modify an upper portion of the recess and form an adsorption-inhibiting area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al (US20220108881A1).
Claim 6, Kubota discloses a flow rate of the inert gases (Table 1).
Kubota does not disclose wherein a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the first operation is smaller than a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the second operation and the third operation.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the inert gas flow rate for each operation to be a result effective variable affecting molecular adsorption and surface coverage of the reactive (source) material on the substrate surface to produce a closely packed thin film adhesion layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to have a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the first operation be smaller than a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the second operation and the third operation within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Claim 8, 13, 14 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al (US20220108881A1) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Balseanu et al (US20060269693A1).
With respect to Claim 8, Kubota discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 7,
Kubota does not teach the first nitrogen-containing gas is the mixed gas of the N2 gas and the H2 gas and the second nitrogen-containing gas is the N2 gas.
Balseanu teaches the first nitrogen-containing gas is the mixed gas of the N2 gas (¶ [0082]) and the H2 gas (Fig 5A; ¶[0091-0092]) and the second nitrogen-containing gas is the N2 gas (¶ [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus to modify the surface of a substrate with trenches with silicon-nitride and the invention from the prior art of Balseanu, a method to fabricate a silicon-nitride thin film on the surface of the substrate of the substrate with trenches using the mixed gases of N2 and H2 as in the first nitrogen-containing gas and the N2 gas as the second nitrogen containing gas. The combination in inventions would result in a method to fabricate a layer of silicon-nitride on a substrate with the first nitrogen-containing gas be a mixture of N2 and H2 to enhance the compressive stress of the SiN film in the first plasma (Balseanu ¶ [0083]) and use N2 gas as the second nitrogen-containing gas for the second plasma to create a hard and stable low defect surface.
With respect to Claim 13, Kubota teaches in Fig. 2 that the substrate processing method of Claim 1, a fourth operation (210; Fig.2, ¶ [0047]) of supplying third plasma (¶ [0048]) different from both the first plasma and the second plasma, and exposing the substrate to the third plasma to modify the silicon nitride film.
Kubota does not teach a fourth operation of supplying the second nitrogen-containing gas and an inert gas and supplying a third power to the upper electrode
Balseanu teaches (¶ [0012]) supplying a nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0192]) and an inert gas (¶ [0192]) supplying a power to the upper electrode (¶ [0225]) to generate a plasma (¶ [0192]) to modify the silicon nitride film (¶ [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus to modify the surface of a substrate with trenches with a silicon nitride film and the invention from the prior art of Balseanu, a method of performing a plasma treatment on the surface of a silicon nitride film to create a surface material with high tensile stress. It would have been obvious to combine these two inventions by using the same nitrogen-containing gas as the third operation and supply a third power to the upper electrode to make a third plasma different from the first and second plasma to enhance the tensile film stress of the adsorption-inhibiting layer. If the same nitrogen-containing gas was used in the fourth operation as in the third operation, the adsorption-inhibiting layer can continue to form and be enhanced on the silicon nitride film during the fourth operation. Also, by supplying the upper electrode with the power to produce the plasma, the plasma will come into contact with the substrate from the upper side. The distribution of the plasma concentration gradient across the surface of the substrate will be different from the distribution in the third operation that created the adsorption-inhibiting layer, so the power supplied to the upper electrode needs to be different than in the third operation to continue to form and enhance the adsorption-inhibiting layer along the surface of the substrate including in-between the trench surface features.
With respect to Claim 14, Kubota and Balseanu teach the substrate processing method of claim 13.
Kubota does not teach the second nitrogen-containing gas is a N2 gas, and the inert gas is an Ar gas.
Balseanu teaches the second nitrogen-containing gas is a N2 gas (¶ [0194]), and the inert gas is an Ar gas (¶ [0194]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus to modify the surface of a substrate with trenches with a silicon nitride and the invention from the prior art of Balseanu, a method to modify a silicon nitride film with a plasma from a nitrogen containing gas being made of N2 as the nitrogen containing gas and Ar as the inert gas. The combination in inventions would produce a method to fabricate a silicon nitride film and using N2/Ar gas to further modify the adsorption-inhibiting area surface in the fourth operation to produce a smooth/homogeneous film morphology compared to alternative gas combinations such as N2/NH3 (¶ [0201]).
With respect to Claim 19, Kubota teaches in Fig. 2 the substrate processing method of Claim 6, a fourth operation (210; Fig.2, ¶ [0047]) of supplying third plasma (¶ [0048]) different from both the first plasma and the second plasma, and exposing the substrate to the third plasma to modify the silicon nitride film.
Kubota does not teach a fourth operation of supplying the second nitrogen-containing gas and an inert gas and supplying a third power to the upper electrode
Balseanu teaches (¶ [0012]) supplying a nitrogen-containing gas (¶ [0192]) and an inert gas (¶ [0192]) supplying a power to the upper electrode (¶ [0225]) to generate a plasma (¶ [0192]) to modify the silicon nitride film (¶ [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus to modify the surface of a substrate with trenches with a silicon nitride film and the invention from the prior art of Balseanu, a method of performing a plasma treatment on the surface of a silicon nitride film to create a surface material with high tensile stress. It would have been obvious to combine these two inventions by using the same nitrogen-containing gas as the third operation and supply a third power to the upper electrode to make a third plasma different from the first and second plasma to enhance the tensile film stress of the adsorption-inhibiting layer. If the same nitrogen-containing gas was used in the fourth operation as in the third operation, the adsorption-inhibiting layer can continue to form and be enhanced on the silicon nitride film during the fourth operation. Also, by supplying the upper electrode with the power to produce the plasma, the plasma will come into contact with the substrate from the upper side. The distribution of the plasma concentration gradient with respect to the position of the substrate will be different from the third operation that created the adsorption-inhibiting layer, so the power supplied to the upper electrode needs to be different than in the third operation to continue to form and enhance the adsorption-inhibiting layer along the entire surface of the substrate including in-between the trench surface features.
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al (US20220108881A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Henri et al (US9875891B2).
With respect to Claim 12, Kubota teaches the limitations of Claim 1
Kubota does not teach
in the third operation, at least one of the following:
second power to generate the second plasma,
a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, or
an exposure time to the second plasma
increased or decreased based on the number of cycles
Henri teaches that the plasma power used may depend on the feature depth and pattern (e.g., trenches, wide features, narrow features, etc.). (Column 9; Line 35).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus depositing a silicon nitride thin film on the surface of a substrate with trenches and the invention from the prior art of Henri, a method where the plasma power used may depend on the feature depth and pattern. The combination in inventions would be a method to fabricate a substrate with trenches and control second power to generate the second plasma, a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, and an exposure time to the second plasma to produce the adsorption-inhibiting surface area reducing unnecessary power usage that could potentially damage the surface of the silicon nitride.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the conditions for generating the second plasma increasing or decreasing to be a result effective variable affecting the surface coverage of the adsorption inhibiting layer because as the SiN layer gets thicker after every cycle, the trenches become shallower, reducing the available surface sights for adsorption of the reactant material. Thus, it would have been obvious to increase or decrease the second power to generate the second plasma; a supply amount of the second nitrogen- containing gas, or an exposure time to the second plasma within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
With respect to Claim 18, Kubota teaches the limitations of Claim 6
Kubota does not teach
The substrate processing method of Claim 6, wherein, in the third operation, at least one of the following:
second power to generate the second plasma,
a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, or
an exposure time to the second plasma
increased or decreased based on the number of cycles
Henri teaches that the second power to generate the second plasma; increased or decreased based on the previous number of cycles (Column 9; Line 35).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention from the prior art of Kubota, a method and apparatus depositing a silicon nitride thin film on the surface of a substrate with trenches and the invention from the prior art of Henri, a method where the plasma power used may depend on the feature depth and pattern. The combination in inventions would be a method to fabricate a substrate with trenches and control second power to generate the second plasma, a supply amount of the second nitrogen-containing gas, and an exposure time to the second plasma to produce the adsorption-inhibiting surface area reducing unnecessary power usage that could potentially damage the surface of the silicon nitride.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the conditions for generating the second plasma increasing or decreasing to be a result effective variable affecting the surface coverage of the adsorption inhibiting layer because as the SiN layer gets thicker after every cycle, the trenches become shallower, reducing the available surface sights for adsorption of the reactant material. Thus, it would have been obvious to increase or decrease the second power to generate the second plasma; a supply amount of the second nitrogen- containing gas, or an exposure time to the second plasma within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:Fields et al (US20210384029 A1); This reference teaches a method to use silicon containing precursors to modify the surface of a silicon wafers.
Kumar et al (US20180005814 A1); This reference teaches depositing thin films on the surface of trenches.
/B.Q.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817